Your audiobook is waiting…

The Empty Nest

Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 8 hrs and 50 mins
4 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

"Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with...."

Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground. 

But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone - to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house - which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy - is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy. 

But one day Amy doesn’t call. Kat’s husband and friends think she is being paranoid - surely Amy is just out, having fun with her friends. But Kat knows right away that something is very wrong. Her daughter would never forget to call. She would never just disappear.... After all, Amy has nothing to run from. Or does she? 

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will be gripped by this story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.

©2019 Sue Watson (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you're a mom of a young woman...

You will feel this book. I felt myself tearing up several times as I identified so much with the mother. It's a very well written, well narrated book. I can see that those without a daughter may find it tedious but I was riveted.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Empty Nest

A true thriller through and through!! Loved it! So fast paced, read it straight through in less than a day!! Bravo to Jasmine Blackborow!! I will read her again!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻💞

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Wow! I had my suspicions very early on but shrugged them off but as it turns out, I was spot on. I was both happy and sad that I was right. It's such a shame how people are never who they portray themselves to be. The truth always surfaces...for some, too late.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

This was a great book from start to end I was engaged the entire time, I have returned the last few books I’ve purchased on here but I was sad when the sad was over I Highly recommend

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen.

Thus one kept my interest and maxed me want to keep on listening. It was tough to figure out. Little clues pointed every which way.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Omg make it stop!

The first four hours of this book was non-stop yammering -paranoid boring -yammering. I had a hard time keeping from day dreaming when it was on. Every now and then there was a little nugget that hinted that there might be a story coming , but I couldn’t hold out it literally is hard to listen to- had to exchange it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The end as good, but the rest....

I’m glad I stuck it out and finished the book, because after the first half of the book saying the exact same thing I was going to quit. I understood the mother/daughter relationship clearly and could have used about 3 chapters less to describe it. You can only say obsessed so many times. We got it.

Also, the plot twists were well written. I was excited about once things actually started happening.

Yay for awesome narration! Saved this book for sure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

This book was really good but I wish I’d counted how many times she said “Amy” ! She could have said “she” or “her” and I promise we would have known who she was talking about

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too much fretting, not enough action.

There was a lot of fretting and hand-wringing throughout the book which became quite repetitious over the several hours that I listened to it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Waiting for Gadot

She has a close bond with her daughter. Her daughter is missing. These are the themes of the first umpteen chapters over and over and...you get the drift. I skipped whole chapters after a while, only because I couldn't return it. Even the narration is overwrought, which is to be expected. She was probably frustrated with having to repeat the same words a gazillion times! Beware. If you've seen Waiting for Gadot, this is the literary equivalent. You'll wait forever to get to any semblance of a plot, or not, if you're clever enough not to purchase it in the first place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Rachel A. Paskin
  • Mrs. Rachel A. Paskin
  • 11-24-19

great listen,

enjoyed this and love Sue Watson's books, but my fav is our little lies, empty nest had less twists and turns but still good worth a listen

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-12-19

Repetitive

So frustrating when the mother's concern just dragged on and on, I was eventually
giving up hope that she would ever phone the police ! I lost all interest as a result.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mitali
  • Mitali
  • 11-16-19

Predictable

I did not enjoy this book at all. It was tedious and boring and I guessed the outcome early on The narrative was repetitive and the characters most unlikable. Don’t bother