Regular price: $26.23

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times best-selling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out - before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden's experiments. With the pause-resisting suspense that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut", Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning.

Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn't belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once.

But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program - a program that the warden claims will not cure him but perfect him - Ricky realizes that he may not be able to wait for his mom a second longer. With the help of a sympathetic nurse and a fellow patient, Ricky needs to escape now.

Set long before Dan, Abby, and Jordan ever walked the hallways of the Brookline asylum - back when it was still a functioning psych ward and not a dorm - Escape from Asylum is a mind-bending and scary installment in the Asylum series that can stand on its own for new listeners or provide missing puzzle pieces for series fans.

©2016 Madeleine Roux (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Almost really good.

Exciting page turner but the end was beyond unsatisfying. Below is spoiler venting.





Spoiler:

Why would he not care about the new subject? How did K escape? This horrible butcher of a warden and he feels no need to make sure the asylum gets closed down? Satisfied with just listening to records for the rest of his days? Now I don't feel bad at all that he was tortured.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A lovely book! Wow Really kept me on my toes!!!

Wow This book was well written. It really kept me on my toes!!! I would love to hear more about their great adventures.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I own this series in hardcover I love it!

This series is addicting and spooky! I found the first book and saw on audible there was more to the series and sure enough yes! I love the pictures provided in the book which is why I had to have them.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

amazing

the book is amazing very well written. the narration was great really easy to understand and follow. overall fantastic and 100% recommend!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

great

i enjoyed this book as well as the whole series. dark and thrilling story line

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

hmmm

I really don't like how this story ended! It was kinda alot of the same all through the book. Then a let down at the end.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

definitely interesting, keep me curious

interesting, definitely keep me awake, ancius for more till the end..something to think about old medical practice. ..