We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Escape from Asylum Audiobook

Escape from Asylum

Regular Price:$26.23
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this terrifying prequel novel to the New York Times best-selling Asylum series, a teen is wrongfully committed to the Brookline psychiatric hospital and must find a way out - before he becomes the next victim of the evil warden's experiments. With the pause-resisting suspense that led Publishers Weekly to call Asylum "a strong YA debut", Escape from Asylum is perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

The nightmare is just beginning.

Ricky Desmond has been through this all before. If he could just get through to his mother, he could convince her that he doesn't belong at Brookline. From the man who thinks he can fly to the woman who killed her husband, the other patients are nothing like him; all he did was lose his temper just a little bit, just the once.

But when Ricky is selected by the sinister Warden Crawford for a very special program - a program that the warden claims will not cure him but perfect him - Ricky realizes that he may not be able to wait for his mom a second longer. With the help of a sympathetic nurse and a fellow patient, Ricky needs to escape now.

Set long before Dan, Abby, and Jordan ever walked the hallways of the Brookline asylum - back when it was still a functioning psych ward and not a dorm - Escape from Asylum is a mind-bending and scary installment in the Asylum series that can stand on its own for new listeners or provide missing puzzle pieces for series fans.

©2016 Madeleine Roux (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (96 )
5 star
 (56)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.4 (88 )
5 star
 (51)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.5 (88 )
5 star
 (59)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    09-16-17
    09-16-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Almost really good. "

    Exciting page turner but the end was beyond unsatisfying. Below is spoiler venting.





    Spoiler:

    Why would he not care about the new subject? How did K escape? This horrible butcher of a warden and he feels no need to make sure the asylum gets closed down? Satisfied with just listening to records for the rest of his days? Now I don't feel bad at all that he was tortured.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-18-17 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A lovely book! Wow Really kept me on my toes!!!"

    Wow This book was well written. It really kept me on my toes!!! I would love to hear more about their great adventures.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    RainToday Idaho, USA 07-27-17
    RainToday Idaho, USA 07-27-17 Member Since 2014

    Matt

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I own this series in hardcover I love it!"

    This series is addicting and spooky! I found the first book and saw on audible there was more to the series and sure enough yes! I love the pictures provided in the book which is why I had to have them.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alice 06-09-17
    Alice 06-09-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    the book is amazing very well written. the narration was great really easy to understand and follow. overall fantastic and 100% recommend!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 12-06-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great"

    i enjoyed this book as well as the whole series. dark and thrilling story line

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    stephi nicks 10-25-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hmmm"

    I really don't like how this story ended! It was kinda alot of the same all through the book. Then a let down at the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Luis Guzman 10-18-16
    Luis Guzman 10-18-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "definitely interesting, keep me curious"

    interesting, definitely keep me awake, ancius for more till the end..something to think about old medical practice. ..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.