Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin' is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy's, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn't surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant - along with several other unlikely candidates - to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way she'll shock the hell out of Clover City - and maybe herself most of all.

©2015 Julie Murphy (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    312
  • 4 Stars
    185
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    320
  • 4 Stars
    143
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    172
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I could read it again and again

Dumplin was such a wonderful story about self love and self acceptance. From the first sentence willow dean Dixon had me captivated by her wonderful personality. Being a bigger woman myself, this novel touched my heart and soul. The storyline was perfect, the narration was impeccable and this book had me laughing and crying and jumping for joy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyable heartwarming story

Weight is not a number on a scale but what you hold inside you. Until you learn how to accept it no one else can either. This book is a coming of age story of a young women who thought she was strong until she faced a true test.

Dumplin is a heartwarming story about beautiful strong characters and what they are made up on the inside. It breaks stereo types and shows you never know someone until you walk in their shoes.

This book is not just about the main character its also about all the people around her how much a positive influence can help someone else. Its a story about a young women who is willing to give up some of her social currency to help another.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Feel good book

Wish I had books like these when I was a teenager, this was such a sweet coming of age story. I loved it and the narrator did it justice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Southern comfort

This pageant story set in Texas is not what you might expect, even if you knew it featured a self-described fat girl. Willow Dean is a complex character, and so are her friends and beaus. The narration sweeps you away with a little bit of the south in it, but not so much as to be overwhelming.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sabra
  • SPRINGTOWN, TX, United States
  • 04-06-17

Great Story

This is a story that will touch the heart of every girl and woman who have ever struggled with self hate and yearn for self acceptance. I wish that the language was tempered back a bit as there are many places where the "f" word could have been left out and still maintained the effectiveness of the intended tone. It did not, in this case, add to the development of characters nor did it add to the conflict and overall message. Contrary to popular belief, not all young adults use this type of brash vocabulary to cover up their true selves. Still, the storyline was one that many will find comforting as they look in the mirror and see only imperfection.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Lovely!

Just lovely! The narrator was perfect for this story. Made me smile, chuckle, and tear up. Wish I knew what happened to Willow Dean afterwards.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

LOVED IT!

Dumplin' is the kind of audiobook that makes you linger in your car long after your home because you don't want to stop listening to it. I LOVE the characters and the story, it had me both laughing and crying. Amazing author, excited to hear her other book.

Narrator was awesome! Will be looking for more books read by her.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

You will feel better after listening!

I recommend Dumplin' to anyone looking for a heart felt, feel good book. The book was funny and moving. I greatly enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Story

Great book for teen girls.

Boys should also read it to see the struggle of young girls in this society.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wow

Willow-dean's thoughts and are so true and honest that they it it needs to be heard. Every insecurity I ever felt as a plus-sized girl was laid out in this great book and I loved knowing that I'm not just being over sensitive, and I loved it. Amazing characters that I do not want to part with.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful