Philip Reeve

Philip Reeve

Philip Reeve was born and raised in Brighton, where he worked in a bookshop for a number of years while also co-writing, producing and directing a number of no-budget theatre projects. Philip then began illustrating, and has since provided illustrations, cartoons and comic strips for around forty children's books, including the best-selling Horrible Histories, Murderous Maths and Dead Famous series. It was while working on these that he wrote his first novel, Mortal Engines. Mortal Engines is a gripping adventure story set in a future world where moving cities trawl the globe. A magical and unique read, it immediately caught the attention of reviewers and book buyers. It was shortlisted for several awards and was the Gold Award winner at the Nestle Smarties Book Prize 2002 and the winner of the Blue Peter Book of the Year at the 2003 Awards.A movie, produced by Peter Jackson and directed by Christian Rivers, was released in 2018. Predator's Gold is the second book in the Mortal Engines quartet, Infernal Devices the third and A Darkling Plain concludes the series to date. A Darkling Plain was published in 2006 and won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. In 2007, Philip took a new direction with publication of Here Lies Arthur, a story which this time looks back into history. Set in the Dark Ages, the book is a gripping adventure story and at the same time explores how a myth can be created simply through spin-doctoring and story-telling. Here Lies Arthur has received a fantastic reaction from the media and his reader fans. It was shortlisted for the Booktrust Teenage Award, the Nestle Children's Book Prize and won the CILIP Carnegie Medal in 2008. Fever Crumb, published in 2009 and set many generations before the events of Mortal Engines, was short-listed for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010. It was followed by A Web of Air (2010) and Scrivener's Moon (2011). The short story collection Night Flights, illustrated by Ian McQue, is also set in the world of Mortal Engines, and The Illustrated World of Mortal Engines (co-written with Jeremy Levett) is a sumptuously illustrated encyclopaedia of the Traction Era. Philip is also the author of a trilogy of steam-powered Victorian space adventures Larklight, Starcross and Mothstorm, and Goblins ,Goblins Vs Dwarves, and Goblin Quest, comic fantasies about the bloodthirsty goblins of Clovenstone. In recent years Philip has begun collaborating with the illustrator and comics creator Sarah McIntyre. Their first book together is Oliver and the Seawigs, a highly illustrated adventure featuring explorers, mermaids, and moving islands, published by Oxford University Press. They have gone on to create Cakes in Space, Pugs of the Frozen North, Jinks and O'Hare: Funfair Repair and an activity book, Pug-A-Doodle-Do. They are currently in the middle of a four-book series about a roly-poly flying pony named Kevin; the first two titles are The Legend of Kevin and Kevin's Great Escape, and the third book will be published in August 2020. Philip's most recent work for older readers is the Railhead trilogy. Railhead, Black Light Express and Station Zero are set in a future where human beings live in a galactic empire linked by a hyperspace railway. They tell the story of a young thief named Zen, who is recruited to commit an elaborate robbery... Philip lives on Dartmoor with his wife and son, and his interests are walking, drawing, writing, reading, and film.

Read more Read less

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.