Regular price: $26.23

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. 

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends. 

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

This production includes a bonus excerpt from The Last of August, the second audiobook in Brittany Cavallaro’s Charlotte Holmes Series.

©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    134
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    127
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent concept

Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.

What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.

Any additional comments?

The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5 ☆s

I have recently come to realize how much I love Sherlock Holmes retellings. This didn't disappoint me.

First, I love the idea that the main characters are descendants of Sherlock Holmes and Watson. Also Holmes is a female and she's rather bad was. She is one strong female character that is highly intellectual. As for James, reading from his perspective allows you to really relate to the characters and love them. Without james fondness for Holmes I am not sure she was a character I would have liked or not.

This book has some triggers; drug usage and rape. So if you don't want to read about those things, this may not be for you.

I gave this book 3.5 stars, it was going to be 3 stars until I reached the epilogue. I LOVED that epilogue and I want more from Charlotte perspective. The reason that I didn't give more stars though is because the big reveal in the end didn't blow me away and also because I sometimes felt like I missed something. The story felt like it jumped around for me on some occasions.

I believe there is a second book and I will for sure be picking it up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

I love Sherlock Holmes. This is not Sherlock Holmes. The story is okay but it just seems to resolve quick and there's some semi forced relationship between charlotte and Jaime. I was also a little concerned with pretty casual drinking and drug use amongst high school kids in a dorm without really any consequences. It was okay though

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very, very good. interesting plot.

Eh, James is a bit sappy, romanticizing everything, especially Charlotte, but the story is 10/10. Very interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sherlock Holmes what's not to like

being hard-core Sherlock Holmes fan, this is a fresh narrative and the dry humor and a explicite performance makes this a nice write (hearing)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

This is a fabulous story and I can't even wait to read all the books. I especially can't imagine not listening to the stories on audio-book, the narrators are perfect.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fantastic YA Mystery

Like many of the other reviewers, I chose to read “A Study in Charlotte” because, as a fan of anything Sherlockian, the idea of a YA novel featuring two of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson fascinated me. I was not let down.

The characters, Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes, were perfectly accurate to their famous forebearers; however, Brittany Cavallaro has chosen to add them to a modern setting which is more likely to appeal to YA readers. Personally, I adored Jamie and Charlotte; watching their relationship and interactions develop over the course of the narrative.

As for the plot, I was hooked; I didn't want to put the novel down. Perhaps one of my favourite aspects of the plot was that the mystery itself was a tribute to Arthur Conan Doyle's books; taking bits and pieces from the Sherlock Holmes' mysteries.

Overall, I truly loved "A Study in Charlotte," and I can't wait to see what the series has in store for Jamie and Charlotte.

I would certainly recommend this book, especially if you are looking for an engaging mystery that isn't overly gruesome.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Maybe read the actual book...

Couldnt finish it. Listened to the first hour, the story wasnt engaging and the narrators accents were terrible. Definitley a no!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting

An interesting take on the Sherlock/Holmes relationship.
I'll definitely continue the series and recommend them as fun listening/reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not just for young adults

If you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, you will enjoy this. Great plot and outstanding narration