A Study in Charlotte

Charlotte Holmes, Book 1
Series: Charlotte Holmes, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (436 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $26.23

Buy for $26.23

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. 

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends. 

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

This production includes a bonus excerpt from The Last of August, the second audiobook in Brittany Cavallaro’s Charlotte Holmes Series.

©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Study in Charlotte

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    204
  • 4 Stars
    144
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    196
  • 4 Stars
    137
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5 ☆s

I have recently come to realize how much I love Sherlock Holmes retellings. This didn't disappoint me. First, I love the idea that the main characters are descendants of Sherlock Holmes and Watson. Also Holmes is a female and she's rather bad was. She is one strong female character that is highly intellectual. As for James, reading from his perspective allows you to really relate to the characters and love them. Without james fondness for Holmes I am not sure she was a character I would have liked or not. This book has some triggers; drug usage and rape. So if you don't want to read about those things, this may not be for you. I gave this book 3.5 stars, it was going to be 3 stars until I reached the epilogue. I LOVED that epilogue and I want more from Charlotte perspective. The reason that I didn't give more stars though is because the big reveal in the end didn't blow me away and also because I sometimes felt like I missed something. The story felt like it jumped around for me on some occasions. I believe there is a second book and I will for sure be picking it up.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent concept

Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.

What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.

Any additional comments?

The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Okay

I love Sherlock Holmes. This is not Sherlock Holmes. The story is okay but it just seems to resolve quick and there's some semi forced relationship between charlotte and Jaime. I was also a little concerned with pretty casual drinking and drug use amongst high school kids in a dorm without really any consequences. It was okay though

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fantastic YA Mystery

Like many of the other reviewers, I chose to read “A Study in Charlotte” because, as a fan of anything Sherlockian, the idea of a YA novel featuring two of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson fascinated me. I was not let down. The characters, Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes, were perfectly accurate to their famous forebearers; however, Brittany Cavallaro has chosen to add them to a modern setting which is more likely to appeal to YA readers. Personally, I adored Jamie and Charlotte; watching their relationship and interactions develop over the course of the narrative. As for the plot, I was hooked; I didn't want to put the novel down. Perhaps one of my favourite aspects of the plot was that the mystery itself was a tribute to Arthur Conan Doyle's books; taking bits and pieces from the Sherlock Holmes' mysteries. Overall, I truly loved "A Study in Charlotte," and I can't wait to see what the series has in store for Jamie and Charlotte. I would certainly recommend this book, especially if you are looking for an engaging mystery that isn't overly gruesome.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I may need to increase my rating.

I loved this story! Jamie and Charlotte were great for one another and the mystery they were involved in was top-notch! I was a little disappointed that the only time we heard from Charlotte was in the Epilogue, but Graham Halstead's performance for Jamie and all the characters was great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Loved It!

So, so much fun! A Study in Charlotte adds a new dimension to Holmes and Watson while maintaining the signature personality traits of the originals. This is an introduction to the new mystery-busting duo, so there's some necessary backstory. But author Cavallaro doesn't allow it to slow down the story. She keeps things moving with plenty of twists and turns. The case is compelling. And just when you think it's over, it's not. For Sherlock fans, there are sufficient references to the classic Sherlock Holmes cases. It's very satisfying all the way around. There's a nice little surprise at the end, too -- at least, I found it to be, enough that it stretched a satisfied smile into a huge grin. The narrators are great. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

Fans of Julia Whelan- she doesn’t show up until the last hour, she’s the only reason I wasted a credit. The male narrator made the story so bland and I found myself not listening.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

horrible audio quality

oh gosh the audio quality is horrible :/ the voices sound so muffled;,, and the story's boring af,,,very disappointed :/

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fantastic YA Mystery

Like many of the other reviewers, I chose to read “A Study in Charlotte” because, as a fan of anything Sherlockian, the idea of a YA novel featuring two of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson fascinated me. I was not let down. The characters, Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes, were perfectly accurate to their famous forebearers; however, Brittany Cavallaro has chosen to add them to a modern setting which is more likely to appeal to YA readers. Personally, I adored Jamie and Charlotte; watching their relationship and interactions develop over the course of the narrative. As for the plot, I was hooked; I didn't want to put the novel down. Perhaps one of my favourite aspects of the plot was that the mystery itself was a tribute to Arthur Conan Doyle's books; taking bits and pieces from the Sherlock Holmes' mysteries. Overall, I truly loved "A Study in Charlotte," and I can't wait to see what the series has in store for Jamie and Charlotte. I would certainly recommend this book, especially if you are looking for an engaging mystery that isn't overly gruesome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Looking Forward to Book Two

Would you listen to A Study in Charlotte again? Why?

Yes, because now that I know "who done it" I would like to go back to see all of the clues that led up to the conclusion. I enjoyed hearing it the first time and know a second listen would be enjoyable as well.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

The obvious answer here would be any of the Sherlock Holmes books. The author did a good job of staying faithful to the mystery and quirkiness of Sherlock himself.

Which character – as performed by Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan – was your favorite?

I liked both main characters, but I guess I would have to choose Jamie as my favorite. I like how he struggled to keep up with Charlotte, on a variety of levels, and never gave up. He learned a lot about himself along the way.

Any additional comments?

Being a Sherlock Holmes fan, I nearly didn't get this book. I didn't want to find a copy cat author that fell short. I'm so glad I listened to some of the other reviewers. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to listening to book two when it comes outs.