Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Samin Nosrat reads "The Four Elements of Good Cooking", part one of her New York Times best seller Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary yet simple philosophy. Master the use of just four elements - salt, which enhances flavor; fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; acid, which balances flavor; and heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food - and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone.

©2017 Samin Nosrat. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

"Samin Nosrat's narration of her innovative cooking guide is informative and conversational. Nosrat is a helpful friend by your side in the kitchen, cheerfully imparting culinary wisdom through a combination of accessible scientific explanations and tales of past cooking disasters - and triumphs - of her own." (AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    138
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT, BUT...

Would you listen to Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat again? Why?

No. The author reads the book and does a poor job. It is very hard to keep the unnatural, cadence and intonation from being a major distraction to the excellent content. I consoled myself by remembering that I have purchased the book and can re-read it later.

What didn’t you like about Samin Nosrat’s performance?

Her intonation. She does't talk to us. She "reads with expression," as a third grader does before finding her natural voice.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

This books explains the theory of cooking in a way that affirms the way I cook and which will make me a better cook because of explaining the how and why of these essential elements of a dish.

Any additional comments?

I highly recommend buying the book. I suggest that Audible have it produced with a different reader.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I no longer have an excuse

Numerous lessons about flavor and how to successfully use the simple ingredients we use daily while cooking. I'd certainly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys cooking or eating food....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

Loved this
Going to require some of my staff to read it
So much wisdom

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book for cooks

Any additional comments?

I started this book after reading Michael Pollan's Cooked, which made me interested in being a better chef. This book has so much good information, and at times it was even too much. I can see where anyone really dedicated to cooking would love this book, but for me, as an amateur cook, I was a little bored. I can definitely say I am a better chef though, and would recommend to anyone trying to improve their culinary skills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent breakdown of cooking techniques!

This book offers an excellent breakdown of cooking techniques--wish I had read it 30 years ago!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book is a must have.

If you are a beginner or s seasoned (haha) home cook- this is an excellent primer for just about everything. On top of that, Samin's voice and inflections are clear and delightful to listen to. I'm almost finished listening, and probably going to start it over again immediately to get some of this wealth of knowledge into my head. Loved this!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AR
  • 08-12-18

Supplement with hard copy for the full experien

Samin narrates her own writing wonderfully. Her genuine enthusiasm and eagerness to share her teachings kept me locked in throughout the reading. That guide of the basics of how to think about cooking made me more comfortable in the kitchen. When I make even a simple sandwich, I think about how the principals of Salt, Fat, Acid Heat can be used to choose and prep ingredients. I certainly feel a bit more in control when planning cooking. I strongly recommend getting the hard copy for both the recipes and a quick review of specific types of cooking. The need for the hardcopy is the only reason for the four stars.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Listen then buy a hard copy!

I loved this insightful book. Although I live by recipe cooking, I’m going to try Nosrat’s suggestion to cook with my senses and understanding of salt, fat, acid and heat. I’m going to buy the book also to get the PDF’s mentioned in the audiobook.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book on cooking theory and improvisition

This book has massively improved my cooking, it takes a different appraoch than your standard cookbook and instead lays out why you should be doing what the recipes tell you more than following exactly what the recipes say. I've followed the tips in this book and I've got to say, the taste and quality of my cooking has massively imrproved. The salt and acid sections are really the tops of the book. I did not really understand how to use acid and that different grains of salt could be used differently. Even the advice of which salts to buy and when to use them is worth the price of admission.

That being said, it's not a perfect book, the author is sometimes pretentious to the point of obnoxiousness demanding steps and ingredients that I've tried and not been able to tell the difference on, the fats section is the worst for this. Also at one point there is a just a radom recipe shoved in the middle of the book, I get that it's there in the text but reading a recipe outloud is pretty useless. Similarly, the author takes a pretty cavilier/dismissive attitude twoard eating healthy which is a little annoying.

Overall, there is no audiobook and perhaps no book quite this short that will improve your cooking quite this much. I'd reccomend this to everyone from those who are just starting in the kitchen to those who have been coooking for years and want to push thier cooking to the next level.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book ever

I am a seasoned home cook but not a consistently good one - the science taught here has made me bolder- the way of thinking taught here has given me confidence in my own intuition. Lastly, she reads the book as a gentle enthusiastic friendguiding friend encouraging u in your own kitchen. I am inspired