Regular price: $20.97

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

From rising star Stacia Kane comes the third novel in her dark and sexy Chess Putnam series, perfect for fans of Kim Harrison and Patricia Briggs.

Chess Putnam has a lot on her plate. Mangled human corpses have started to show up on the streets of Downside, and Chess’ bosses at the Church of Real Truth have ordered her to team up with the ultra-powerful Black Squad agency to crack the grisly case. Chess is under a binding spell that threatens death if she talks about the investigation, but the city’s most notorious crime boss—and Chess’ drug dealer—gets wind of her new assignment and insists on being kept informed. If that isn’t bad enough, a sinister street vendor appears to have information Chess needs. Only he’s not telling what he knows, or what it all has to do with the vast underground City of Eternity. Now Chess will have to navigate killer wraiths, First Elders, and a lot of seriously nasty magic—and the only man Chess can trust to help her through it all has every reason to want her dead.

©2010 Stacia Kane (P)2000 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    218
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    208
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good storytelling can only go so far

My last review on this series was glowing and I'll be the first to say that the author and narrator together is excellent. That said I won't be purchasing anymore of this series unless I see reviews stating that the main character improves. The main character in this story has little character growth and an addiction that is spinning out of control. Instead of confronting the problem the author glorifies it by weaving a story where drugs use eventually saves the day and how a character can function relatively well in a larger society. (Example: because she was a junkie she was saved from a normally killing dose of downers; anytime she needs a boost uppers are the answer). While this is a work of fiction its over 13hrs of audio fiction any teen can get their hands on. Kinda sad really.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Dr
  • 06-23-12

How do you listen to this = 0 stars.

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Have tried several times to listen to a bizarre mix of guillotines and ghosts peppered with recent day appalling swearing. An author short of adjectives? A drug addict heroine.??????
The cover advert is misleading, or maybe I missed the fact that her durg dealer was mentioned. I even tried to get the 20 year olds to listen and they could not take it either. Wew am I sorry I downloaded this and made the double mistake of downloading the next book as well. I wish I could pass these on to someone, as if these were real books they would go immediately to a charity book sale (as there appear to be some people who appreciated swearing drug addicts for heroines), or simply be recycled. Sorry not for me.

What was most disappointing about Stacia Kane’s story?

Couldnt get past the first chapter

What didn’t you like about Bahni Turpin’s performance?

who is he?

What character would you cut from City of Ghosts?

First chapter, all the glorification of being a drug addict. Weird . Not a ghost story at all, at least not one I could get into.

Any additional comments?

Surely there are other expetives or adjectives.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful