We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Bookshop on the Corner Audiobook

The Bookshop on the Corner

Regular Price:$30.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect books for her readers. But can she write her own happy ever after?

In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times best-selling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop.

©2016 Jenny Colgan (P)2016 Isis Publishing Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (873 )
5 star
 (510)
4 star
 (262)
3 star
 (78)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.3 (806 )
5 star
 (439)
4 star
 (251)
3 star
 (87)
2 star
 (16)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.7 (809 )
5 star
 (601)
4 star
 (160)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Alexis☺ U.S.A. 05-28-17
    Alexis☺ U.S.A. 05-28-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    101
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Misleading"

    The title and blurb may lead a reader to think that this book will be about a downsized librarian starting over with a mobile bookstore, which does begin the story. Throughout, however, there is the sense that, for a literary exploration, or for women's fiction, or even a slice-of-life meditation on bibliophilia as a coping tool, something is always off: too melodramatic, too one-dimensional, too contrived, too histrionic. And then, three fourths of the way through the book, the reader realizes that this book is a formulaic "romance": staged misunderstandings, obsessive insecurities, noncommittal sex, and all. The descriptions of the Scottish Highlands are vivid and invigorating, and the book recommendations for certain problems and character types are thought-provoking or just laugh-out-loud fun. But the main character's blithe disregard for other people's feelings, safety, privacy, emotional needs, and vulnerabilities may wear on a reader who doesn't realize all this occasionally aggravating plot is going to be about will be learning to bond through sex. This may be a very good read for romance fans. Unfortunately, I went from loving the narrator's handling of each voice (except the protagonist's) and sharing the excitement about starting over with a bookstore of withdrawn books to hating the thought of slogging through one more minute of the main character's sexual forays and whining self-centeredness.

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amoseley Montgomery, AL, US 09-24-16
    Amoseley Montgomery, AL, US 09-24-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    14
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heartwarming"

    It has been a while since I've had an opportunity to read a book. The description of this one peaked my interest. I was not disappointed. I absolutely loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I loved the choices Nina was faced with and I was on the fence about how they would turn out. I adored Nina's innocent character. I found myself rooting for her and also falling in love with everyone that she fell in love with. This book would appeal to romance readers and booklovers.

    11 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mia 09-25-16
    Mia 09-25-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    261
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    213
    198
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    19
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A cozy one - time listen"

    Like homemade candy:Unique. The end came when we felt in the middle. Need the next!

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer NYC 09-24-16
    Amazon Customer NYC 09-24-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    37
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Lover of books"

    The title of the book intrigued me. However after reading the story it wasn't quite right. No matter. The book was a love affair on the joy and passion for books and how they can sometimes change everything .

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin A. Gower Point Pleasant, NJ USA 06-22-17
    Robin A. Gower Point Pleasant, NJ USA 06-22-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    106
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    139
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cute and Cosy"

    Why is there no 3.5 rating? This is sentimental literary girl text, predictable but with some interesting plot curves. Undemanding background story to enjoy while your hands are otherwise occupied.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jeanette 12-02-16
    Jeanette 12-02-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    33
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not sure"

    I found the main character to be really annoying. Really wanted to stop listening. Did finish the book. Not high on my list for a good listen or book.

    Daisy

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mystery Maven Elkridge, MD United States 01-31-17
    Mystery Maven Elkridge, MD United States 01-31-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    89
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful "

    One of my favorite books ever. An absolute must read. Joyful, hopeful, all the beauty of friendship and love. Lyrical writing.

    6 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joyce Baldassarre BROOKHAVEN, PA USA 06-09-17
    Joyce Baldassarre BROOKHAVEN, PA USA 06-09-17 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    320
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I want to be Nina."
    What did you love best about The Bookshop on the Corner?

    Well, I love books. I love getting lost in books and I love anything Scotland. If I could create the perfect life for myself, it would be living in a small village in Scotland, enjoying the simpler life and truly embracing God's nature. Of course the hunky strong silent type of guy makes things even better.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Bookshop on the Corner?

    The first kiss between Nina and Lennox.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Nina leaning how to drive the van.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    When Lennox came to Nina and apologized.


    Any additional comments?

    what a beautiful, heartwarming, and lovely book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Smout 05-24-17 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sweet story"

    I really liked this book. The characters were all very relatable and in the end I cared about all of them. It made me want to move to the small town in Scotland. The only con to this book is how Nina seemed to have the perfect book for everyone. It seemed a little implausible. Other than that I would highly recommend this book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tiffany 03-27-17
    Tiffany 03-27-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    14
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "FABULOUS LISTEN and READ!!!!!!"

    I purchased the paper back copy of this book as well as the Audible version. The Little Bookshop on the Corner captured me from the very beginning and held me til the very last word. Having this book on Audible made this book and characters really come ALIVE for me. The narrator was fantastic! I hope to listen to more books narrated by Lucy Price in the future.☺☺☺

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.