Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect books for her readers. But can she write her own happy ever after?

In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book lovers the world over, the New York Times best-selling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop.

©2016 Jenny Colgan (P)2016 Isis Publishing Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    742
  • 4 Stars
    370
  • 3 Stars
    113
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    877
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    636
  • 4 Stars
    354
  • 3 Stars
    128
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    14
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Misleading

The title and blurb may lead a reader to think that this book will be about a downsized librarian starting over with a mobile bookstore, which does begin the story. Throughout, however, there is the sense that, for a literary exploration, or for women's fiction, or even a slice-of-life meditation on bibliophilia as a coping tool, something is always off: too melodramatic, too one-dimensional, too contrived, too histrionic. And then, three fourths of the way through the book, the reader realizes that this book is a formulaic "romance": staged misunderstandings, obsessive insecurities, noncommittal sex, and all. The descriptions of the Scottish Highlands are vivid and invigorating, and the book recommendations for certain problems and character types are thought-provoking or just laugh-out-loud fun. But the main character's blithe disregard for other people's feelings, safety, privacy, emotional needs, and vulnerabilities may wear on a reader who doesn't realize all this occasionally aggravating plot is going to be about will be learning to bond through sex. This may be a very good read for romance fans. Unfortunately, I went from loving the narrator's handling of each voice (except the protagonist's) and sharing the excitement about starting over with a bookstore of withdrawn books to hating the thought of slogging through one more minute of the main character's sexual forays and whining self-centeredness.

71 of 75 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Summer Read

It's slow in the beginning as the characters are introduced and timid, sweet Nina is overshadowed by the others. After Chapter 5, it picks up as it follows Nina on her journey in finding meaning for others through books and finding where she belongs in the world. This book would be a good languid, summer read.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming

It has been a while since I've had an opportunity to read a book. The description of this one peaked my interest. I was not disappointed. I absolutely loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down. I loved the choices Nina was faced with and I was on the fence about how they would turn out. I adored Nina's innocent character. I found myself rooting for her and also falling in love with everyone that she fell in love with. This book would appeal to romance readers and booklovers.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cute and Cosy

Why is there no 3.5 rating? This is sentimental literary girl text, predictable but with some interesting plot curves. Undemanding background story to enjoy while your hands are otherwise occupied.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I want to be Nina.

What did you love best about The Bookshop on the Corner?

Well, I love books. I love getting lost in books and I love anything Scotland. If I could create the perfect life for myself, it would be living in a small village in Scotland, enjoying the simpler life and truly embracing God's nature. Of course the hunky strong silent type of guy makes things even better.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Bookshop on the Corner?

The first kiss between Nina and Lennox.

Which scene was your favorite?

Nina leaning how to drive the van.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When Lennox came to Nina and apologized.

Any additional comments?

what a beautiful, heartwarming, and lovely book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

FABULOUS LISTEN and READ!!!!!!

I purchased the paper back copy of this book as well as the Audible version. The Little Bookshop on the Corner captured me from the very beginning and held me til the very last word. Having this book on Audible made this book and characters really come ALIVE for me. The narrator was fantastic! I hope to listen to more books narrated by Lucy Price in the future.☺☺☺

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Lover of books

The title of the book intrigued me. However after reading the story it wasn't quite right. No matter. The book was a love affair on the joy and passion for books and how they can sometimes change everything .

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A cozy one - time listen

Like homemade candy:Unique. The end came when we felt in the middle. Need the next!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

One of my favorite books ever. An absolute must read. Joyful, hopeful, all the beauty of friendship and love. Lyrical writing.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

charming!

story of reinventing a life in totally unexpected surroundings. both lead characters come aware of the opportunities of life together.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful