Regular price: $28.51

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.

Years ago Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up - and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious...and hopelessly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers - all strapping, loud, and seemingly incapable of basic housework - and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking - and finds herself restoring a dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes - and work out exactly where her future lies....

Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

©2017 Jenny Colgan (P)2017 ISIS Publishing Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    207
  • 4 Stars
    128
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    234
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    113
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing accents and narration

This was possibly the best narration I have ever heard, and I have been listening to audio books for over 20 years. Good, strong story, gorgeous depictions of landscape, food, and family relations. Well done all around. I heartily recommend listening to this book, although I guess reading it would not be half bad, if you could hear these Scottish and New York accents in your head!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely!

If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan, you will not be disappointed! Narration was great too, but I am a sucker for the Scottish accent!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Makes me want to move to Scotland

Where does The Cafe by the Sea rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This book is right in the middle: not the worst, but far from the best.

Would you recommend The Cafe by the Sea to your friends? Why or why not?

I would, because the narrator Sarah Barron was mostly enchanting. Her apparently authentic Scottish accent wove a mood that carried me away. She read the women characters much better than the men, and her American accent wasn't quite right, but the Scottish characters made up for that.

Which scene was your favorite?

I loved all of the scenes of daily life and cuisine on the fictional Isle of Muir. Having just been to Scotland, the reader beautifully evoked the atmosphere of northern climes.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did not have an extreme reaction. Occasionally I winced at some of the romance novel scenes.

Any additional comments?

Any story about a kinder, gentler world that I hope is out there somewhere is OK by me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

love listening to Sarah Barron

I have to admit Ive listened to this book now 3 times. The story is pleasing but the narrator is the best. I enjoy listening to her scottish accent and wish she narrated more books that I would enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • sonia
  • Alexandria ,Virginia, United States
  • 01-16-18

Well...

I really enjoyed The Bookshop On the Corner so I thought I would give this story a try.
I’m really not sure how I feel about it. It’s a “cozy” story and I do so enjoy anything from the British Isles, being book, tv or movie. I love how their stories meander and take their time to develop, that said, this one meandered to much for me. I almost gave up on it, quite a few times, I even thought of skipping to the end but I didn’t. It was just too bland, cozy, low key whatever you want to call it, for me. I couldn’t invest myself in any of the characters, the main character, Flora just seemed too boring for me. Yes, Scotland is breathtakingly beautiful, quirky people in a small village environment but nothing ever happened. It just went on and on and I can’t get back these 10 plus hours. Just not my cup of tea but I didn’t give up trying to enjoy it. Ugh, I wish I had. Ms Colgan has a lot of fans and her stories seem to grab people, this one didn’t grab me and that’s why we have reviews, everyone has their own opinion. I don’t like giving a poor review but...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Jenny Colgan does it AGAIN!!

Cafe by the Sea is a wonderful story. It's full of loving someone from a far, loving someone you've known your whole life and discovering love for the first time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K. L.
  • minnesota
  • 08-26-17

Review of Cafe by the Sea

It took a little bit to get into the story but once I did it was very enjoyable. A taste of a different lifestyle living on a very northern isle in the UK, family changing traditions and romance. The narrator did a great job with the accents!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome and heart sweeping!!!!

Another fantastic book by Ms. Colgan. Hear sweeping and intense, I cried, laughed and baked my way through this book. Fantastic!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3.5 stars

I listen to all the new Jenny Colgan releases on audible. I was disappointed in this one. The plot was rather predictable. Only interesting part of the listening experience was the exotic Scottish locale and local customs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very hard to understand the narrator

The narrator used such a thick Scottish accent when the characters were in dialogue that it was very hard to understand. I missed many conversations and the meaning of words & phrases, since I couldn't even look them up. It was way too much work to try and decipher what she was saying. It was even worse when she was talking as a toddler. Completely unintelligible. If I were the author I would have been upset at this performance.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful