We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
First Grave on the Right Audiobook

First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.

©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (7550 )
5 star
 (3780)
4 star
 (2218)
3 star
 (973)
2 star
 (338)
1 star
 (241)
Overall
4.2 (6507 )
5 star
 (3255)
4 star
 (1838)
3 star
 (881)
2 star
 (310)
1 star
 (223)
Story
4.4 (6527 )
5 star
 (3994)
4 star
 (1660)
3 star
 (579)
2 star
 (170)
1 star
 (124)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mary Ann 05-24-15
    Mary Ann 05-24-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    168
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Grim Reaper"

    Not my cup of tea. Silly. Fantasy. Plot was all over the place. The mystery was incidental to the rest of the story and merely a background for the appearance of ghosts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Toni Sue CA & NV 05-22-15
    Toni Sue CA & NV 05-22-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I think i have read this Book Before"

    The author, Darynda Jones writes the book in the fantasy style. All of her characters are a little off center. The story is about a Grim Reaper. The main
    Male in the is as ephemeral as smoke and moves fast. Is he dead or alive? Read a sample to see if you like it. The narrator is Lorelei King. If you have read the Stephanie Plum mysteries you know how brilliant and funny she is. I was excited to know Ms king is the voice and the heart of the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Ballew RIO RANCHO, NM, US 05-21-15
    Carol Ballew RIO RANCHO, NM, US 05-21-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it"

    cute story, funny and entertaining....has me hooked. now I need to hurry up and start the 2nd book in story.




    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rowdy 05-16-15
    Rowdy 05-16-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    Awesome story line. A enjoyable listen. Awesome book about the dead. Just wish I knew who mr Wong was! Lol

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy 05-08-15
    Nancy 05-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't read, LISTEN to this series!"
    What made the experience of listening to First Grave on the Right the most enjoyable?

    I read a hard copy of the first book in this series, then found it on Audible. I'm now nearly finished with the ones that have been published so far and I have to say the narration absolutely MAKES these stories. I listen to tons of books -- have probably a hundred on my device -- and Lorelei King brings these characters and this story right off the page. I started one of them on my kindle and thought something was missing -- it was her voice! Highly recommended for wit, humor, suspense, and of course the sexiest anti-hero ever, Reyes Farrow!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Lincoln, NE, United States 05-04-15
    Amazon Customer Lincoln, NE, United States 05-04-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "witty and clever"

    I liked the book even though I passed on it several times based on the summary. I am glad I finally gave it a shot.

    Lorelai King is one of my favorite performers. This was another excellent performance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen Jensen 04-30-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    181
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great listen"

    my second time listening to this series, funny, at times very erotic, storyline needs the listener to have an open mind.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-23-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very funny writing"

    I haven't listened to or read anything that made me smile as much since Stephanie Plum started he career as a bounty hunter. Enjoyed it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa D 04-23-15
    Lisa D 04-23-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining, looking forward to next in series"

    For me it was slow to get started. Funny, but sometimes corny. Didn't know someone could be so persuaded to do things bc of coffee. It felt like she was trying a little too hard to throw in a joke and too many one-liners. I found myself putting it down quite a bit and not in a hurry to come back to it, unlike some books that I find myself driving slower to get places just so I can keep listening. Even though it Took me awhile to get into it and to follow it at times, as it started nearing the end that is when the meat of the story came in and I was beginning to be drawn to these characters. I am definitely interested in continuing this series now. Hopefully the one-liners will peter off a bit and we will get to join her as she discovers her true abilities. It's got great potential, and considering there are numerous books in this series, I can only believe that they just get better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    april 04-02-15
    april 04-02-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    117
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "love thi book"

    I a lover of books think this funny slightly ditzy girl riper rocked. while she stumbles on to crimes she has cool powrs to help her out. get it now!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.