We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
First Grave on the Right Audiobook

First Grave on the Right: Charley Davidson, Book 1

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Charlotte “Charley” Davidson is not your stereotypical Grim Reaper. She’s sexy, sassy, and likes to help dead people with unfinished business before they cross. She’s more of a bright light kind of girl than a hood with an axe. For her day job, Charley is an Albuquerque private investigator and a consultant to her police detective uncle. Lately, her nights have been steamed up with dreams of a hot mystery lover who may or may not be real. It’s chick-lit meets paranormal with a touch of mystery in the buzz-worthy First Grave on the Right.

Inevitably, this book will be compared to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. They both have feisty female protagonists, snappy dialogue, and zany characters. Veteran narrator Lorelei King also performs the Stephanie Plum books and is well-cast in this novel. What makes her fantastic in the Plum series is her ability to define the voices of all the secondary characters and inject them with interest and distinct personalities. In this performance, she does not disappoint. King seamlessly switches among the characters and has fantastic comedic timing. She elevates the work and keeps the laughs coming.

This is a debut novel from Darynda Jones. It will not be her last; this is clearly a launch for a series. There’s quite a bit of set-up as Charley begins to understand more of her abilities and the presence of other supernatural beings. Jones has created an interesting premise and characters. The mystery element is weak, however, and the writing is on the mediocre side. Jones is at her best with witty dialogue and keeps things moving at a brisk pace. Overall, it’s a fun, breezy listen and an enjoyable escape.

Fans of Janet Evanovich, Lorelei King, and paranormal romance will want to give this new series a listen. —Julie MacDonald

Publisher's Summary

A smashing, award-winning debut novel that introduces Charley Davidson: part-time private investigator and full-time Grim Reaper. Charley sees dead people. That’s right, she sees dead people. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light”. But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (i.e. murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice.

Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an Entity who has been following her all her life...and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely.

This is a thrilling debut novel from an exciting newcomer to the world of paranormal romantic suspense. The audio includes a sneak peak of Second Grave on the Left.

Keep chilled: spend some more time with Charley Davidson.

©2011 Darynda Jones (P)2011 Macmillan Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (7213 )
5 star
 (3584)
4 star
 (2137)
3 star
 (936)
2 star
 (327)
1 star
 (229)
Overall
4.2 (6202 )
5 star
 (3076)
4 star
 (1770)
3 star
 (845)
2 star
 (302)
1 star
 (209)
Story
4.4 (6219 )
5 star
 (3788)
4 star
 (1595)
3 star
 (553)
2 star
 (164)
1 star
 (119)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gash 02-25-15
    Gash 02-25-15

    Avid reader/listener.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    130
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    214
    51
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect author to reader partnership"

    Wise cracks need great timing and attitude and Ms King has both in plenty, so she brings Charley and all the wonderful side characters to life. It seems like it will be a fun series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "worth the money"

    Great no matter how many times I listen to it. fantastic series by a great writer.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tyler 02-19-15
    Tyler 02-19-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not that funny"
    Any additional comments?

    I'm not sure how there are so many reviews saying this was funny. The cheesy one liners were terrible and it seemed like the author was trying really hard to make it funny.
    I had a hard time telling if this was teen fiction or not, I'm guessing by some of the descriptions later in the book it's a bit more adult than teen fiction but the majority of the book did not come off that way.

    I won't be getting the next book in this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shaunna Rodriguez Global 02-17-15
    Shaunna Rodriguez Global 02-17-15 Member Since 2017

    Best-Selling Author of Bakers, Bundt Cakes & Bodies

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Story
    "From Best Selling Author Shaunna Rodriguez"

    Absolutely stupendous and engaging. An absolutely perfect Web of twists and turns. This story builds from the very beginning. it kept me on the edge of my seat until the end practically salivating for more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Nichols Washington, DC 02-13-15
    Lisa Nichols Washington, DC 02-13-15 Member Since 2017

    LMN

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Took a but to get into-now hooked"

    Great audio performance of an entertaining book with a fun leading lady-plus a hot forbidden love! I'll be reading the next in series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dawn Long 02-12-15
    Dawn Long 02-12-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpected fun!"

    I liked the story and was unexpectedly surprised with the risky content. Thumbs way up! I liked it very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa S. 02-11-15
    Lisa S. 02-11-15 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow To Grab Me"

    I didn't become truly interested until the end. The story was all over the place. It was just...okay for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynbur 02-09-15
    lynbur 02-09-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    I really liked the story, fast paced but easy to keep up with. Characters were interesting and real. Will read the next in series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Torrington, CT, United States 02-08-15
    Daniel Torrington, CT, United States 02-08-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very good book"

    This book has a lot of funny twists definitely steamy at times narrator had a very good voice entertaining and get me eager to finish the book to proceed to the next highly recommended

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Vickie United States 02-03-15
    Vickie United States 02-03-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dutch"

    I am hooked ! I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. I'll be listening to this book over and over again.
    And L.King excellent reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.