Your audiobook is waiting…

Of Fire and Stars

Series: Of Fire and Stars, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (315 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.

But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.

Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation - and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought - and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms - and each other.

©2016 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    221
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    244
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    195
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely earnestly romantic fantasy romp.

Overall a fantastic book. The fantasy world is interesting and has egaging political and social drama. The friendship turned romance is handled well and the tension is a slow burn to a beautiful payoff.

Pros:

Sweetly romantic and full of feel good moments.

Tons of political intriuge as cultures and Alliences clash.

Two great protagonists with unique viewpoints on the plot

A well structured and executed metaphor using the protagonists acceptance of her forbidden magic to parallel her coming out story.

is very gay

Towards the end the obstacles grow larger and the tension pays off beautifully.


Cons:

Pacing issues towards the middle

Some characters are developed right before dying and the deaths are sometimes trivial.

Some characters are one note and do not meaningly impact the plot.

The fantasy names get a little wordy and they start to get confusing.

tone is not consistant during some key scenes.


Overall a phenomenal story that hit just the right spot for me. A fun gay fantasy adventure with likable characters. Would Recommend.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

A really captivating tale! I was thrilled with the romance and adventure. A definite must read. The performance by the reader was also so very good! Highly recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A nice change of pace

So many stories with Lesbian lead characters are all about lust and sex and carry a ridiculous storyline that is quite repetitive and boring. Not this book. I enjoyed the change of pace and journey into a new world. This book is about so much more than a relationship between two women. A mix between Game of Thrones and Frozen.... and performed extremely well by the readers!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely story and amazing narration!

Loved this book! The characters were so likable and well written, the plot was thrilling and the romance just way too adorable to handle. The narration as well was beautifully done.
This has earned it's place among my favorites!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So much potential, but...

Let me start by saying, I think the reader did a damn fine job.

The book itself however, leaves much to be desired. The main characters don't feel real and are largerly unrelatable. The romance seems.... also unreal. This overwhelming love that they claim to have for each other is only shown in a couple of scenes (one being the final scene), otherwise the characters seem to be acting on... good knows what motivation, cause it's not love. All in all, I feel the story is too long for what it delivers. If it was about half the size and cut out alot of unnecessary scenes, it might be better (or at least an easier read to get through).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Princesses

Queer princesses. Need I say more? Yes? The story was thrilling, the characters were layered and not too cliché, and the performance was delightful.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FINALLY A GOOD LGBT FANTASY SERIES!

Mix of game of thrones, the hunger games, Zelda, and a proper lesbian romance. Definitely potential to be the next big fantasy series for a more diverse and open-minded generation! Almost if not just as good as The Princess of Dorsa! I cannot wait to read the sequel. I preordered it months ago!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I put off reading this book for way too long! loved every second of it. The narrators were amazing and brought the story to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Equal parts fantasy, political intrigue, and queer romance

When this book first crossed my list of suggestions, I didn’t realize its central romance focused on two young women characters. Then I found it on a list of must read queer YA fantasy and knew I had to give it a shot. I love the author’s choice to create a world completely free of homophobia - there’s repeated casual mention of people in relationships with the same and/or opposite gender, and all seem to be considered equal. This means that the relationship between the two protagonists can develop in a fairly organic way without falling into obvious, angst-ridden cliches, the only conflict being that Denna is betrothed to Mare’s brother rather than Mare. So many novels, YA or otherwise, push their romantic leads together with haste and seemingly mostly for lack of other options, whereas this romance was built on a friendship and mutual respect.

The world reminded me most of the works of Maria V. Snyder although I can see why “for fans of Tamora Pierce” is used as a selling point as well. The magic of this world is little understood in most of its countries - even taboo. There are no dragons or other magical creatures, just magic using humans. The magic and the politics of world are given roughly equal weight, and of course for purposes of this story they are interlinked. My hope is that the next book will feature more of Denna using to learn her gift/affinity, as the politics at times seemed to be a somewhat perfunctory mechanism for advancing other story elements. I think the author did a good job of avoiding common tropes - it would’ve been easy to make the fiancé mean; the uncle, sly; the sister, shallow, and so forth. Well, I suppose Thandy is a bit mean/petty towards Mare, but in a way that makes sense given their ages, brother/sister relationship and Mare’s blithe disregard to any royal duties.

Both narrators were lovely and really personified their characters perfectly. This was a binge listen for me, leaning slightly more on the brain candy side. My only issue with the pacing was that some of the big moments seem to occur a bit abruptly, in sharp contrast to the slow burn of the relationship between the protagonists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Phenomenal

An absolutely phenomenal read from start to finish. I can never resist a story that focuses so much on the lives and inner workings of the characters, particularly when they're both so likable. The twist was well done enough that I had considered it and dismissed it, and that's pretty much the perfect amount of setup for it. Basically, if you like well-crafted worlds, likable leads, fantastic narration, and a great story, then read it.