Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times bestseller!

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel's breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

©2018 Glasstown Entertainment, LLC (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." (Stephanie Garber, New York Times best-selling author of Caraval)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    167
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really solid YA

I thought this book was great once it got going! There was overmuch exposition and info dumping in the beginning, but once it picked up speed I really enjoyed. The central mystery was interesting and unpredictable, the foreshadowing throughout the book was excellent and the writing was quite good! I also liked that some of the stereotypical YA tropes were subverted, and not everything was as it seemed on the surface. I’m always more thankful than I should have to be for YA without cardboard characters. Overall, quite enjoyable, I will be on the lookout for the next in the series!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great mystery, cheesy plot

I loved how time is literally money and the magic in this book! The mystery aspect was very well done and interesting. Despite this, I could not stand Jules! She was so foolish and winey! I felt bad for her, but she was annoying! Everything was Rowan that, Rowan this!! Ugh!! The loving triangle was annoying and see through. In the end, I will be picking up the next book. Yet, this was not a book I loved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cool Concept, Predictable Story

The magic system in this story was so cool, and it was expertly executed. The writing was lovely with some truly gorgeous scenes. That's why I gave it 3 stars and not 1. From about halfway through chapter 2, I could predict everything that was going to happen. If you read any YA at all, you know these characters. I wish the author had put a twist on the usual tropes, but no. She did not. So if you want to read about a really interesting world with a creative and clever magic system, go for it, but don't expect the plot or characters to excite you.
That said, I'll probably read book 2 just to see what she does with the magic system...I feel like I already know what's coming for most of the characters.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely the best YA fantasy book of the year!!!!!

I have literally looked for a book to red or listen to and I've started so many and couldn't continue. Books like Hunger Games, Diligent,Twilight and some of the other wonderful books that draw you in on the first page have almost ruined reading for me intel this book!!!! It had me right away and I couldn't put it down. I read this as an audiobook and generally I reserve them for long car trips but I seriously had headphones in my ears until I was done.

This book is beautifully written with wonderful characters you can relate to. You feel as if your in the story. The narrator speaks in such a voice that also draws you in. I can't say enough about it!!!

I can't wait for the 2nd book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Was alright.

Not my favorite book, but I'd recommend it. I'll be keeping an eye out for book two.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great Fantasy

Easy listen, but I had a hard time accepting the plot twist. I felt like the ending could have been more complete. I know there is a 2nd book coming out, but it still felt very rushed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Potential

This is a slow paced book, filled with mystery yet slightly predictable despite the twists and turns. If this book lays the foundation for a stellar series, then there is hope for future installments. The main character although young is very naive. One thing authors fail to do with impoverished young heroines is to add wisdom as a part of their character. Experience is the best teacher and poverty tends to make the young wiser then their privileged counterparts.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

I loved this book and can't wait for the sequel! It has great twists and turns.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Could have been great

I could not stand Jules by the end if the book. So many impulsive bad choices. It started out great then the middle was forever nothing really moving the story forward. And Jules was really the only character she fleshed out. I usually hate cliffhangers but I just was happy it was over and did not care. kind of sad because it started out so strong with good world building and she picked up the pace at the end. But I have no interest in all about Jules saving everyone part 2. The endless mental guilt trips , love for a boy she knew as a kid, her refusal to see anything that did not support what she wanted to believe... I just did not like her at all by the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

captivating!

I was hooked instantly! The concept of time as currency is clever and well used. I can't wait for the next book!