We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Lost Boy Audiobook

The Lost Boy: The Fjällbacka Series, Book 7

Regular Price:$27.97
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

From internationally best-selling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Läckberg comes a new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbø.

Mats Sverin was Fjällbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he's found dead, detective Patrik Hedström must find answers.

It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide. Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? Does she know who Mats really was?

Nathalie has her own secret. Something has forced her and her five-year-old son to flee to their remote family home on the Ghost Isle, where she'll shield her son from the evils of the world.

But as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light.

©2016 Camilla Läckberg (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (245 )
5 star
 (124)
4 star
 (85)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.2 (225 )
5 star
 (110)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.6 (225 )
5 star
 (150)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Donna 10-14-16
    Donna 10-14-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    339
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    206
    146
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I like this author"

    This book doesn't seem to have the same glue (as in glued to it) as several oh her earlier mysteries. I was glad to pick up with the interesting characters who people these books. (Each book does stand alone.) It was worth the price.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer East Hartford, CT, United States 05-01-17
    Amazon Customer East Hartford, CT, United States 05-01-17 Member Since 2012

    I don't know about you, but why are there so so so many 5 star reviews. I LOVE books, but so few are 5 star.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    397
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    405
    155
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    24
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I like the series"

    Not as bleak as the usual Swedish noir, but is dangerously close to slipping into the bane of most series...soap opera type melodrama. Her character development is good and I find myself enjoying the evolution of certain characters.

    Overall a good series seven books in so far.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katie United States 07-20-17
    Katie United States 07-20-17 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Too many characters"

    Narration is great but there are too many characters in the book, it's also a bit of a slog. Not Camilla's best work

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harold Brandt 06-14-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Why have children?"

    Having finished this book, I can't help wondering why anyone in Scandinavian countries have children. Parents seem terminally tired and barely able to care for the babies.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JoAnn G. 04-05-17
    JoAnn G. 04-05-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Story"

    Loved it! I enjoyed the Fjallbacka Murder series and look forward to more audio books by Camilla Lackberg. I highly recommend!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cora Brown 03-01-17
    Cora Brown 03-01-17 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not my favorite by Lackberg"

    Worth reading if you're following the series to find out what's next for all of the regular characters. The writing keeps you interested until the very end, but this time the story was too predictable. The theme of violence against women is getting a bit tiresome in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Naomi Murphy 01-01-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    214
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Could not finish"

    Plodding with endless info that did nothing to move the plot forward nor to build the characters. I started thinking root canal would be better.

    In all the years I have been a member of Audible, I have never returned a book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Larry Montara, CA, United States 12-22-16
    Larry Montara, CA, United States 12-22-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    141
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    138
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Good, but perhaps one too many mysteries"

    This entry in the series was very compelling. The clues in the main mystery were laid out in subtle fashion and timed so that the reader and Patrick solve it about the same time. However there are 3 other mysteries within the book and that is at least one mystery too many. In fact the author seems to have forgotten about one of them and just leaves the reader hanging. This may very well be the plot basis for the next book, but it was unsatisfying not to have a conclusion in this book. There is also a flashback mystery which only kind of works because it is set in the 1870s. The naivete of the young wife living on an island with two men who despise her is believable only because of the era. The latter subplot also figures into the supernatural element of the story and this actually does have an intriguing continuity within the larger plot. All in all well worth listening to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Julie Jones New Orleans, LA USA 11-27-16
    Julie Jones New Orleans, LA USA 11-27-16 Member Since 2005

    Julienola

    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    298
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really 3.5 rating"

    If I could have given this a 3.5 rating, I would have. It takes quite a while to sort out all the characters, especially since they all (except for the evil ones) seem to be gaga about children and kind of boring; however, the story line, once it develops, is pretty interesting. Simon Vance is a good reader, but he may be overdoing the Swedish accent. At times it seemed almost parodic (like the two Brit television comedians who used to do "Swedish.") I'm not sure I'll get another of Lackberg's novels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    BarristerMom 11-05-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    9
    Overall
    "Didn't see it coming but"

    Great drama/mystery and being set near Stockholm kept it different from the typical American dramatic mystery. One aspect bothered me and though I know it was meant to throw the reader off the scent of the real antagonist it was upsetting. The mystery behind the illegal eagles is not resolved and seems to get lost. Such a horrific and real situation I feel should have been resolved and come back to. Also who is the brothers love interest? Seems like that wasn't developed properly and falls to the wayside making it hard to care about him or his sister. Without giving to much away - I can tell you these were some of the loose ends I had issues with, otherwise great book. Interesting but didn't make me work to hard. Good read to leave my work day behind.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.