Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.
©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    626
  • 4 Stars
    374
  • 3 Stars
    146
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    463
  • 4 Stars
    223
  • 3 Stars
    95
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    31

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    509
  • 4 Stars
    218
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall

Captivating--it hooks you!

I love it when I find an audio book that I can't stop listening to. This is one of them. I would find myself sitting in the car in the garage just to listen to more of it. The characters are richly described and "real". You will really like Kimberly and Mac, Quincy (her father) and Raney. The settings are so well described, you can almost smell them. And above all, the plot is tight and the mystery compelling. I highly recommend this book.

29 of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Eileen
  • Tinley Park, IL, United States
  • 08-23-05

Book is EXCELLENT, Narration, not so good

I read some of the other reviews, and I agree with those who had a problem with the narrator. Her "voices" for male characters really is rather silly - sort of like a child trying to talk like a "grown up" on the phone. However, don't let this stop you from listening. Eventually, you'll get used to it, and focus on the book itself.

This has to be one of the better mystery novels I've listened to in a long while (aside from Nelson DeMille). The story was intense, graphic and rather nerve-racking in parts. The basic premise is a killer on the loose who stalks young women. He waits for them outside of a bar, lays nails near their car tires, and when they pull over for the flat, he offers to help. Once they are out of the car, he shoots them with a tranquilizer gun. He kills one girl, and plants clues on her as to where he will abandon the other. Then he leaves the other girl in a remote area with only a bottle of water and her wits to survive long enough for the detectives to find her IF they can interpret the clues correctly and in time.

The story is suspenseful and has some terrific twists. For once, I didn't figure out the killer ahead of time. Toward the end, I was crazy to know what would happen.. I couldn't stop listening to this story - bad narration or not. Give it a try and find out for yourself what a brilliant mystery writer Lisa Gardner is.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

love the author...can't take the narrator

I LOVE this author!! however, I'm finding it tough to get through this book on audio..thinking of buying the paperback....her voice is so monotonous....doesn't change a bit between characters, or situations. I find myself rewinding because I'm spacing out. It's never happened with any other book.
Just finished "say goodbye"...it was awesome! kept me listening into the night.
I think this story will be just as good but I now know a narrator can make all the difference.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Cheryl
  • Long Beach, CA, United States
  • 11-03-04

Totally Satisfying!

Lisa Gardner is a master of suspense. This was a great "sink your teeth in" book. More, more, more!! The reader makes it an extra pleasure.

27 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Narrator=Horrible, Author=Great!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Lisa Gardner. I like both of her series & I wish she had penned even more novels. I HATE HATE HATE the narrator. Anna Fields is very laughable at her straining attempts to do male voices. I had read Say Good-Bye before listening to this & I must say that I had never invisioned Mac's voice to sound anything like that! She makes him sound like he has no brains. When she starts speaking more quickly, she actually does a better job because I think she forgets who she is trying to be. If you like a good murder mystery, like Kellerman, Connelly, Cornwell, or Slaughter, you will like this, but you might consider reading the actual book over the audio version.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Good book, horrible narrator!

I really enjoyed this book. However, the narrator is horrible. Going forward, I will probably read her books vs. listening. The narrator was monotonous and managed to make all of the male characters sound stupid and uneducated. I would suggest finding a narrator that can make the story come alive!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing!

I have enjoyed every book I have read by this author so I was so disappointed in this book. It drawn out, repetitive and did not keep my attention. It was a CHORE to listen to this.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • amber
  • LEANDER, TX, United States
  • 03-23-12

droll narration

Would you try another book from Lisa Gardner and/or Anna Fields?

I love Lisa Gardner but I cannot stand the narrator's inflection and voices.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

The narrator just about put me to sleep.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

It's still a Lisa Gardner book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

One of the worst books I've heard.

I have only stopped listening to one other book in the middle before this one. I just don't understand how this book could get such good reviews. I saw one other negative review about this book, as it turns out that review was 110% correct. The narration was so annoying that I could not concentrate on the story line enough to follow what was happening. It was like she was reading the story through her nose. I found my self tuning out and thinking about other things. I definitely will not be listening to anymore books narrated by Anna Fields. A total waste of time and money.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Wayne
  • Matthews, NC
  • 08-20-12

The Killing Hour is the 4th book in the Quincy...

family series, and it the only book in the series that I dislike. Lisa Gardner tends to write dark novels, but this one is too dark for me. Nevertheless, she remains one of my six favorite living authors.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful