Regular price: $20.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Stalking, addiction and obsession - Detective Claire Boyle returns in this gripping new psychological thriller from Sinead Crowley, for fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

Dear Elizabeth, I've been watching you. I hope to see you...soon. 

Liz Cafferky is on the up. Rescued from her dark past by the owner of a drop-in centre for older men, Liz soon finds herself as the charity's face - and the unwilling darling of the Dublin media. Amidst her claustrophobic fame, Liz barely notices a letter from a new fan. 

But then one of the centre's clients is brutally murdered, and Elizabeth receives another, more sinister note. Running from her own ghosts, Liz is too scared to go to the police. And with no leads, there is little Sergeant Claire Boyle can do to protect her.

©2015 Sinead Crowley (P)2015 WF Howes

Critic Reviews

"Compulsively readable...an absorbing variation on the 'domestic noir' genre." (Irish Times)

"A crackingly paced thriller, featuring a totally believable female detective." (Sunday Mirror)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • David Kerrigan
  • 07-08-15

Brilliant story

Highly recommended. Atmospheric, compelling and beautifully observed, Sinead Crowley proves her first book wasn't a one off wonder. Let's hope there's more!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • iris
  • 11-02-15

Deadly Dublin

I enjoyed this well narrated thriller not least because I know Dublin City very well so I could follow the action in my mind's eye. The two main characters leading the investigation are well-rounded and convincing as well as being complimentary in mind set and approach. There is a home in Dublin which has been set up to welcome men in difficulty especially older men whether they be homeless or not. When one of the regulars is found brutally murdered in his home this sets off a chain of events which will uncover base greed and corruption of various noteworthies. Meanwhile the young woman who is employed at the home herself an ex drug addict, appears on television to further the cause but unknowingly she will gain an admirer who has unfortunate connections.
Enjoyable read and I would read another by this author to see how the writing progresses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gwyneth
  • 07-29-17

Too slow

Didn't enjoy this book, I could leave it for days and pick it up again, did grip me at any stage

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ann D
  • 11-27-16

A gripping read/listen

Any additional comments?

This is a gripping tale that maintains a sense of menace throughout. It's well written, the characters have depth and it's easy to identify with many of them. Excellent narration. Recommend.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful