Your audiobook is waiting…

Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

Detective Finnegan Beck Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Ruairi Conaghan
Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
4 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In a town full of liars, whom can you trust?

When Detective Finnegan Beck is demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin and relocated in disgrace to the small Irish town of Cross Beg, he predicts boredom will be his biggest threat.

But then a beautiful local teenage girl is found strangled in the cold, dark woods a mile from town.

The prime suspect is the seemingly gentle drifter who found Tanya’s body.

Beck seems to be the only person who can’t escape the feeling that Tanya wasn’t killed at random. As he digs deeper into the shadows of Cross Beg, he begins to realize it isn’t the sleepy backwater he’d first believed. Everyone here has something to hide. Tanya had a boyfriend whose name no one knew. A best friend with a loose relationship with the truth. And a habit she thought she’d kept hidden from everyone.

But just as Beck believes he is making progress, the body of one of the suspects is found drowned in the river. Is the killer just getting started?

Everyone in the town seems to have something they would die to protect. But who has a secret they’d kill for?

This debut novel from a powerful new Irish voice is the first in a gripping series that will feature the brilliant, haunted Detective Finnegan Beck, who won’t rest until justice is found. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, and Patricia Gibney.

Praise for Where She Lies:

"I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and every time I had to put the book down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again... All the stars from me and looking forward to the rest of the series." (Rona Halsall)

©2019 Michael Scanlon (P)2019 Bookouture

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous! Best I’ve listened to in awhile

If you’re are a Harry Hole fan (Jo Nesbo) like me, then you are in for a treat. Welcome Finnegan Beck! I am looking forward to many more like this. Narrator fits the bill perfectly. My only disappointment is that I listened to it in a day and now must wait for another.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bad Narrator

This story could be ok, but the narrator is so dull and droning I can’t follow long enough to care. What a shame.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Where she lies

Story was OK narration was awful The voice of the narrator was grinding and droning and just awful felt like my ears were bleeding

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-27-19

Great read and audio book

This is a great first book, though a little long. it could have been a bit shorter and sharper. Looking forward to your next crime thriller but PLEASE do not include any animal cruelty if you want to keep me as a reader. I listened to the audiobook version and the narrator was well matched to the main character.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful