Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

Detective Finnegan Beck Series, Book 1
Narrated by: Ruairi Conaghan
Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
4 out of 5 stars (75 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a town full of liars, whom can you trust?

When Detective Finnegan Beck is demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin and relocated in disgrace to the small Irish town of Cross Beg, he predicts boredom will be his biggest threat.

But then a beautiful local teenage girl is found strangled in the cold, dark woods a mile from town.

The prime suspect is the seemingly gentle drifter who found Tanya’s body.

Beck seems to be the only person who can’t escape the feeling that Tanya wasn’t killed at random. As he digs deeper into the shadows of Cross Beg, he begins to realize it isn’t the sleepy backwater he’d first believed. Everyone here has something to hide. Tanya had a boyfriend whose name no one knew. A best friend with a loose relationship with the truth. And a habit she thought she’d kept hidden from everyone.

But just as Beck believes he is making progress, the body of one of the suspects is found drowned in the river. Is the killer just getting started?

Everyone in the town seems to have something they would die to protect. But who has a secret they’d kill for?

This debut novel from a powerful new Irish voice is the first in a gripping series that will feature the brilliant, haunted Detective Finnegan Beck, who won’t rest until justice is found. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, and Patricia Gibney.

Praise for Where She Lies:

"I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and every time I had to put the book down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again... All the stars from me and looking forward to the rest of the series." (Rona Halsall)

©2019 Michael Scanlon (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous! Best I’ve listened to in awhile

If you’re are a Harry Hole fan (Jo Nesbo) like me, then you are in for a treat. Welcome Finnegan Beck! I am looking forward to many more like this. Narrator fits the bill perfectly. My only disappointment is that I listened to it in a day and now must wait for another.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

Would love to see this one turned into a movie. This book head the right amount of twist and turns. The kept you guessing till the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story captures your attention. <br />

Good Mystery with a few twists. Great distraction for a long drive. I would definitely recommend to mystery fans

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bad Narrator

This story could be ok, but the narrator is so dull and droning I can’t follow long enough to care. What a shame.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Where she lies

Story was OK narration was awful The voice of the narrator was grinding and droning and just awful felt like my ears were bleeding

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, not so great narration

While the narrator has a beautiful voice, I found he does not have enough variation in voices of the characters, making a conversation more challenging to follow. I found it necessary to RE-listen to dialogues to determines who was saying what and follow the storyline.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recording is poor

Good story, good reader, poor recording. I am not an audio engineer, so I am not sure what the problem is, exactly. It is fuzzy and indistinct. Please re-record this!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Somewhat disconnected -

I love a good murder mystery but I found this somewhat disconnected and at times hard to hear - the audio sound seemed muffled... the story was good but the ending a let down in that it was too simple.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jantara
  • jantara
  • 01-19-20

Not gripping for me.

Sorry, by the introduction I was looking forward to an exciting thriller unfortunately for me it was anything but. The tone of the narrator was monotonous and boring a did nothing to enhance the story. Once again I can only say it did nothing for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathryn B.
  • Cathryn B.
  • 08-11-19

Hard to follow

I found this book hard to follow at times, maybe down to the narration.
Also it was too long and drifted off into story lines that came from nowhere and suddenly back again. Sorry to say this was returned.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sparklyannie
  • sparklyannie
  • 06-27-20

loved it. atmospheric, graphic, read superbly

every page is interesting, well described and gripping.. characters are presented so well you feel you'd know them in the street.. perfect narration. loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-27-19

Great read and audio book

This is a great first book, though a little long. it could have been a bit shorter and sharper. Looking forward to your next crime thriller but PLEASE do not include any animal cruelty if you want to keep me as a reader. I listened to the audiobook version and the narrator was well matched to the main character.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-24-20

Recording a Bit Skewed

Great story but the recording is not the best. Ruairi’s voice starts off soft and far away due to the recording. Like no bass to it. However the story hooks you and can hear a bit of change as the chapters continue. Will listen to the next one.