• Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

  • Detective Finnegan Beck Series, Book 1
  • By: Michael Scanlon
  • Narrated by: Ruairi Conaghan
  • Length: 7 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (308 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist  By  cover art

Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

By: Michael Scanlon
Narrated by: Ruairi Conaghan
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

In a town full of liars, whom can you trust?

When Detective Finnegan Beck is demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin and relocated in disgrace to the small Irish town of Cross Beg, he predicts boredom will be his biggest threat.

But then a beautiful local teenage girl is found strangled in the cold, dark woods a mile from town.

The prime suspect is the seemingly gentle drifter who found Tanya’s body.

Beck seems to be the only person who can’t escape the feeling that Tanya wasn’t killed at random. As he digs deeper into the shadows of Cross Beg, he begins to realize it isn’t the sleepy backwater he’d first believed. Everyone here has something to hide. Tanya had a boyfriend whose name no one knew. A best friend with a loose relationship with the truth. And a habit she thought she’d kept hidden from everyone.

But just as Beck believes he is making progress, the body of one of the suspects is found drowned in the river. Is the killer just getting started?

Everyone in the town seems to have something they would die to protect. But who has a secret they’d kill for?

This debut novel from a powerful new Irish voice is the first in a gripping series that will feature the brilliant, haunted Detective Finnegan Beck, who won’t rest until justice is found. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, and Patricia Gibney.

Praise for Where She Lies:

"I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and every time I had to put the book down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again... All the stars from me and looking forward to the rest of the series." (Rona Halsall)

©2019 Michael Scanlon (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    14
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Best new detective series I’ve come across in ages. Scanlon writes with the kind of poetry and intelligence I find in the work of Adrian McKinty, and provided a plot that kept me guessing. Others have criticized the narration, but I LOVED Conaghan’s dark brogue, peppered with bursts of expression that highlighted the author’s dark wit. I had no trouble following his speech patterns possibly because I love Celtic Noir and am accustomed to the narration of Gerard Doyle and others. I’m thrilled to have discovered this author. Brilliant.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous! Best I’ve listened to in awhile

If you’re are a Harry Hole fan (Jo Nesbo) like me, then you are in for a treat. Welcome Finnegan Beck! I am looking forward to many more like this. Narrator fits the bill perfectly. My only disappointment is that I listened to it in a day and now must wait for another.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Where she lies

Story was OK narration was awful The voice of the narrator was grinding and droning and just awful felt like my ears were bleeding

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recording is poor

Good story, good reader, poor recording. I am not an audio engineer, so I am not sure what the problem is, exactly. It is fuzzy and indistinct. Please re-record this!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the Narration

Unlike many of the previous reviews, I found the narrator absolutely charming. It very much authenticated the story and characters to hear the beautiful Irish voice interpretation.
Very much enjoyed the story and the characters and definitely am a fan!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

Would love to see this one turned into a movie. This book head the right amount of twist and turns. The kept you guessing till the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story captures your attention.

Good Mystery with a few twists. Great distraction for a long drive. I would definitely recommend to mystery fans

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bad Narrator

This story could be ok, but the narrator is so dull and droning I can’t follow long enough to care. What a shame.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story

For the most part I enjoyed the story. There was an incident of violence against a dog that was really just too graphic and gross and really unnecessary that was off putting for me. I thought that it could have been described in much less detail and violence without changing the story. Perhaps I'm just more sensitive to that sort of thing than others.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

The narration was good although a bit weird at first. I loved the story. I was left wanting another!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful