adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a town full of liars, whom can you trust?

When Detective Finnegan Beck is demoted from his high-powered job in Dublin and relocated in disgrace to the small Irish town of Cross Beg, he predicts boredom will be his biggest threat.

But then a beautiful local teenage girl is found strangled in the cold, dark woods a mile from town.

The prime suspect is the seemingly gentle drifter who found Tanya’s body.

Beck seems to be the only person who can’t escape the feeling that Tanya wasn’t killed at random. As he digs deeper into the shadows of Cross Beg, he begins to realize it isn’t the sleepy backwater he’d first believed. Everyone here has something to hide. Tanya had a boyfriend whose name no one knew. A best friend with a loose relationship with the truth. And a habit she thought she’d kept hidden from everyone.

But just as Beck believes he is making progress, the body of one of the suspects is found drowned in the river. Is the killer just getting started?

Everyone in the town seems to have something they would die to protect. But who has a secret they’d kill for?

This debut novel from a powerful new Irish voice is the first in a gripping series that will feature the brilliant, haunted Detective Finnegan Beck, who won’t rest until justice is found. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Joy Ellis, and Patricia Gibney.

Praise for Where She Lies:

"I was pulled into the story from the very beginning and every time I had to put the book down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again... All the stars from me and looking forward to the rest of the series." (Rona Halsall)

©2019 Michael Scanlon (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Where She Lies: A Gripping Irish Detective Thriller with a Stunning Twist

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous! Best I’ve listened to in awhile

If you’re are a Harry Hole fan (Jo Nesbo) like me, then you are in for a treat. Welcome Finnegan Beck! I am looking forward to many more like this. Narrator fits the bill perfectly. My only disappointment is that I listened to it in a day and now must wait for another.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

Would love to see this one turned into a movie. This book head the right amount of twist and turns. The kept you guessing till the end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story captures your attention.

Good Mystery with a few twists. Great distraction for a long drive. I would definitely recommend to mystery fans

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recording is poor

Good story, good reader, poor recording. I am not an audio engineer, so I am not sure what the problem is, exactly. It is fuzzy and indistinct. Please re-record this!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Bad Narrator

This story could be ok, but the narrator is so dull and droning I can’t follow long enough to care. What a shame.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Where she lies

Story was OK narration was awful The voice of the narrator was grinding and droning and just awful felt like my ears were bleeding

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bad narrator

The story was ok but was wrapped up quickly and with few details. The narrator made every character sound like they were very tired. I missed a lot due to his mumbling. This book would be better in copy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Best new detective series I’ve come across in ages. Scanlon writes with the kind of poetry and intelligence I find in the work of Adrian McKinty, and provided a plot that kept me guessing. Others have criticized the narration, but I LOVED Conaghan’s dark brogue, peppered with bursts of expression that highlighted the author’s dark wit. I had no trouble following his speech patterns possibly because I love Celtic Noir and am accustomed to the narration of Gerard Doyle and others. I’m thrilled to have discovered this author. Brilliant.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the Narration

Unlike many of the previous reviews, I found the narrator absolutely charming. It very much authenticated the story and characters to hear the beautiful Irish voice interpretation.
Very much enjoyed the story and the characters and definitely am a fan!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Extremely difficult to finish!

I actually started this book 4 times, once from chapter 47... I truly tried to make sense of this story. I even tried asking my wife to explain a passage, when she got to it in the 9th chapter, she told me she was lost too!

Sorry, but I cannot recommend this book to you.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jantara
  • jantara
  • 01-19-20

Not gripping for me.

Sorry, by the introduction I was looking forward to an exciting thriller unfortunately for me it was anything but. The tone of the narrator was monotonous and boring a did nothing to enhance the story. Once again I can only say it did nothing for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathryn B.
  • Cathryn B.
  • 08-11-19

Hard to follow

I found this book hard to follow at times, maybe down to the narration.
Also it was too long and drifted off into story lines that came from nowhere and suddenly back again. Sorry to say this was returned.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sparklyannie
  • sparklyannie
  • 06-27-20

loved it. atmospheric, graphic, read superbly

every page is interesting, well described and gripping.. characters are presented so well you feel you'd know them in the street.. perfect narration. loved it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-27-19

Great read and audio book

This is a great first book, though a little long. it could have been a bit shorter and sharper. Looking forward to your next crime thriller but PLEASE do not include any animal cruelty if you want to keep me as a reader. I listened to the audiobook version and the narrator was well matched to the main character.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tezza
  • Tezza
  • 09-05-21

one to follow

Definitely intriguing. plenty of twists but I didn't guess the final one.
will read more from this author.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jennyd
  • jennyd
  • 02-02-21

Worse narrative

I couldn’t listen to this guys voice I had to stop it altogether not good

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-24-20

Recording a Bit Skewed

Great story but the recording is not the best. Ruairi’s voice starts off soft and far away due to the recording. Like no bass to it. However the story hooks you and can hear a bit of change as the chapters continue. Will listen to the next one.