Regular price: $28.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Editorial Reviews

Editors Select, February 2014 - I love a good suspense story--add to that the secrecy of suburbia, and you have yourself a winner. When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be more of a psychological thriller. Instead I got a captivating tale about a family’s struggles, both internal and external, and just how far a mother would go to protect her family. Though this book deals with very heavy & somewhat unlikely situations, it left me questioning my own beliefs about forgiveness and morality. I definitely stayed up way too late reading this book- I just needed to find out how everything would be resolved. –Laura, Audible Editor

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control - and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power - a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

©2014 Carla Buckley (P)2014 Random House Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • cristina
  • Somerville, MA, United States
  • 05-14-14

Gripping

I could not stop reading/listening. The book is not really a "mystery." It's about right and wrong choices. It's about relationships. It's about human nature. Carla Buckley makes this all come to life in a book that grabs you from the start with an obvious, but true, insight into what seems to be happening 'out in the open' (in the light) and what's really happening 'behind the curtains' (at night). The reader is quite good.

[I googled the disease of the main character and almost found the websites as gripping as this novel. Kudos to the parents who have to deal with this heart-wrenching and life-altering diagnosis for their child--and to the patients!!! Wow.]

I was disappointed to read the reviews of the author's first novel (it sounds like she was testing the waters for this one). However, this one was good enough to put the first on my 'wish list'.....and to hope that her third one comes quickly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

What did you like best about this story?

I thought the son's illness and how the family led this upside down life to protect him was very interesting and a unique backdrop for the story.

If you could take any character from The Deepest Secret out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Holly....What is so wrong Holly? Holly's story would make a great follow-up sequel to this one.

Any additional comments?

What a great listen! I thought the narrator was excellent and I really had no idea what was going to happen in the end. Lots of twists, turns, interesting characters and relationships. I actually just purchased and am going to listen to another one by this author I was so impressed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Suzn F
  • Fletcher, VT, US
  • 03-11-14

Engaging and Interesting Story

I found this book to be completely engaging. Aside from the focus of the plot, i.e. the mother-son relationship, the son's rare genetic disorder, the marriage, the teen daughter's angst, is the peek into the lives different neighbors, all seen at night through the eyes of the young boy. I thought this perspective especially creative and unique and for that reason along with the compelling story-line, I believe this book deserves 4 stars.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What would you have done?

What would I have done,I kept asking myself as I was drawn into Eve's world during the aftermath of a horrific accident that would forever change the lives of the residents of a quiet suburban street.

Eve, the mother of an XP child, a condition where exposure to sunlight and uv light is eventually fatal, finds herself in the centre of the tragedy. This novel is about the choices Eve makes to protect her child as well as the effect of those choices on the rest of the family and the community.

An intriguing book which I couldn't put down. I will be looking out for more books by this author.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Page Turner

This book had an interesting premise and was very engaging. I couldn't put it down. Great struggle in decision making and doing what is "right".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting and Gripping Story

This is a story of a mother's love for her child. She loved her child so much that she would "literally" do anything to protect him. As a parent, what would you do if you were involved in the death of another woman's child but also have to protect your own child... Given the constraints as presented in the story, this mother hardly had time to think clearly and she panicked.

This mother (Eve) was firmly set on the protection of her son from sure death if he was exposed to sunlight or any light that emits UV rays. He will die of cancer if he's exposed. So she tailored the family's life around his, being there for him in the day, setting up the perfect environment and living in darkness. The house is kept dark with drapes drawn closed, but there were also dark secrets in the other homes in the cul-de-sac that must be reckoned with.

As the story unfolded, I was sure the mother would figure out a way her son could be protected; she would call the police and admit to her involvement in the death of the little girl.... but no, she would always come up with reasons why she couldn't be separated from her son; that he would surely die if she was not around to protect him. Her husband was no help, he had given up on protecting their son a long time ago because he expected their son to die sooner rather than later. Their son is 14 years old... why did the husband not have some hope. The mother had her hopes on the discovery of a cure for XP children, as children with this disorder are called.

I did like the ending, even though the ending was a little too "happily ever-after" ... there were behind the scene developments that were revealed in the last two chapters. I was in total agreement with the views of the little girl's mother after she learned the truth of what had happened to cause the death of her daughter.

Narrator Kirsten Potter (one of my favorites) has the perfect voice for this story, especially the mother whose emotions were all over the place from calm and afraid to angry and remorseful. If you are interested in a well written and very well narrated story about family as well as the secrets of the neighborhood, then you will most likely like this story.

Recommend.....

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BLEW ME AWAY!

This book was perfect. I haven't enjoyed a book like this one in a very long time. It was just the right length, the narrator was great & the story wove together in such a way that made you crave the next chapter... then the next... I'm a book snob so when I say this one is truly brilliant, I absolutely mean it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Debbie
  • Lake Havasu City, AZ, United States
  • 03-02-14

Loved it!

This was such a good book! The narrator was excellent too. Very compelling story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Monotone story teller.

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

A different reader would have made this book better.

Would you ever listen to anything by Carla Buckley again?

Yes.

How could the performance have been better?

The book may be a good one but the reader uses no inflection in her voice when changing between characters.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Paula
  • Overland Park, KS USA
  • 09-14-15

You Won't Be Able to Put This One Down! So Good!

I concur with other reviewers who characterize this book as "gripping." It truly was that! It is a story of a mother's love so strong that she literally would do anything for her children. And as it turns out, a child would do anything for his sister. Yet amongst all this goodness, the dark secrets and darkness create family turmoil that must be reckoned with.
The narration is very, very good -- the primary voice is that of a mother who at times is calm, afraid, angry and remorseful. The characters were very well defined and real.
The ending seems a little to rosy and "happy every after" but that is a weak complaint after wanting to finish this book in one listen. Stopping was painful because I was truly in its grip.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful