We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$20.65
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (539 )
5 star
 (287)
4 star
 (187)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.3 (501 )
5 star
 (252)
4 star
 (178)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.6 (498 )
5 star
 (327)
4 star
 (137)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Sarah
    8/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Maggie's View!"

    I have chosen 5* for the reading performance. It's the best reading I have ever heard! Recommending this audio version to all my friends. Robert Glenister is superb!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • "vassago73"
    8/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent Narration"

    Really good listen.... The story was exceedingly engaging with well fleshed out and likeable characters. I immediately downloaded the second in the series and am already preparing myself for the disappointment of there not being a third instalment, yet. And not a wizard in sight, thankfully.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Claire
    8/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect Audio book"

    Brilliant narrator. Good story with sympathetic characters and a good twist. Just the right length and amount of details for an enjoyable listen.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr G A Wicks
    7/26/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Crime with Realism and Real People"

    I loved Cormoran, his style and his realistic human nature. Good story that kept me hooked so much so I downloaded a second story by this author. Great performance by the narrator! All in all an awesome literary experience.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Kent UK
    7/21/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A surprisingly good listen."

    Great characters and a strong plot. The narration was excellent. I downloaded the next book immediately.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • RT
    GB
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cracking read"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Thought I would give this a try as l was looking for something new to read and it had good reviews,wasn't disappointed very well paced great characters and a super plot. Have now listened to the second book can't wait for more.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kate
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't turn it off"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    I enjoy a thriller book an this for me was an all rounder. The lives of the characters and attention to detail makes this book so thrilling. I had to download the second book straight after finishing this one.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Cormaran Strike with his troubled past, family and situation he makes a great detective an I found myself enjoying the character.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Robin, his sassy interpration of her having the clever skill of getting information from people really made me enjoy the story more.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I enjoyed this book so much a had to download the second straight away. It made me laugh in parts with some of the people featured a great all round story. Gonna listen over and over to it am sure.


    Any additional comments?

    A must listen

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Susan
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved It"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Up there with some of the best detective stories I've read or listened to


    What did you like best about this story?

    The author makes you sympathise with all the characters and I guess even the most hard hearted people have a good side


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I mentally see Robbie Coltrane whenever Cormoran speaks


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    found it easier to put down than other books I have listened to however can't wait to listen to the next One


    Any additional comments?

    Hoping for lots more in this series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ADRIAN M WATTS
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great murder mystery"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Best book of its genre I have listened to


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    A modern day P D James


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Superbly read, characterisation fantastic


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Book kept you on edge of your seat


    Any additional comments?

    Be prepared to be very unsociable once you start listening to this book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C. Murphy
    London, UK
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really enjoyed this."

    I'd been waiting for the narration to pair up with the kindle for audio whispersync as I've really been enjoying reading books like that but I bit the bullet and just listened to the audio.

    I couldn't have been more happy, it's a great story and it's really well read. I love the main character and his secretary and look forwards to reading more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.