• Orphan X

  • Evan Smoak, Book 1
  • By: Gregg Hurwitz
  • Narrated by: Scott Brick
  • Length: 11 hrs and 15 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (24,802 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Orphan X  By  cover art

Orphan X

By: Gregg Hurwitz
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.00

Buy for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

“Brilliantly conceived and plotted... Read this book. You’ll thank me later.” - David Baldacci

The first in the international bestselling series!

Who is Orphan X?

The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. But he’s not merely a legend.

“Excellent...A smart, stylish, state-of-the-art thriller...might give Lee Child’s Jack Reacher books a run for their money.” - The Washington Post

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He’s also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as an Orphan, an off-the-books black box program designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence asset: An assassin. Evan was Orphan X - until he broke with the program and used everything he learned to disappear. But now someone is on his tail. Someone with similar skills and training who will exploit Evan’s secret new identity as the Nowhere Man to eliminate him.

“Hurwitz melds nonstop action and high-tech gadgetry...in this excellent series opener.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

©2016 Gregg Hurwitz (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

Critic reviews

"The most exciting thriller I've read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak. A new thriller superstar is born!" (Robert Crais)
" Orphan X is the most gripping, high-octane thriller I've read in a long, long time. Hang onto your seat because Gregg Hurwitz will take you on a dizzying ride you'll not soon forget!" (Tess Gerritsen)

Featured Article: 10 Thrilling Spy Book Series for Espionage Lovers


Action, thrills, and edge-of-your-seat moments are things you can usually count on from spy book series. And having them narrated to you, with all the breathless intensity the plots require, makes espionage books a must in audiobook format. If you’re looking for some adventure in your life via catching some spies—or being a spy!—here are 10 thrilling espionage books for your spy-loving heart.