Survivalist

9 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 31,397 ratings

Going Home Publisher's Summary

If society collapsed, could you survive?

When Morgan Carter's car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: The country's power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored - if it ever will be.

An avid survivalist, Morgan takes to the road with his prepper pack on his back. During the grueling trek from Tallahassee to his home in Lake County, chaos threatens his every step but Morgan is hell-bent on getting home to his wife and daughters - and he'll do whatever it takes to make that happen.

Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

©2013 A. American (P)2013 Penguin Audiobooks
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Going Home

    • A Novel: The Survivalist Series, Book 1
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 13 hrs and 12 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,452
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,954
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,944

    If society collapsed, could you survive? When Morgan Carter's car breaks down 250 miles from his home, he figures his weekend plans are ruined. But things are about to get much, much worse: the country's power grid has collapsed. There is no electricity, no running water, no Internet, and no way to know when normalcy will be restored - if it ever will be.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fun book can't wait for more!

    • By Drew (@drewsant) on 08-14-14
    • A Novel: The Survivalist Series, Book 1
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 13 hrs and 12 mins
    • Release date: 10-28-13
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 6,452 ratings

    Regular price: $35.00

  • Book 2

    • Surviving Home

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 2
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 14 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4,492
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4,140
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4,136

    No electricity. No running water. No food. No end in sight. If life as you knew it changed in an instant, would you be prepared? In A. American's first novel, Going Home, listeners were introduced to Morgan Carter, the resourceful, tough-as-nails survivalist who embarks on a treacherous 250-mile journey across Florida following the collapse of the nation's power grid. Now reunited with his loving wife and daughters in this follow-up to Going Home, Morgan knows that their happiness is fleeting, as the worst is yet to come.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • He made it home... now what?

    • By Jan on 02-16-14

    Regular price: $35.00

  • Book 3

    • Escaping Home

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 3
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,817
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,460
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,459

    When society ceases to exist, who can you trust? After the collapse of the nation's power grid, America is under martial law - and safety is an illusion. As violence erupts around him, Morgan Carter faces one of his most difficult decisions yet: whether to stay and defend his home, or move to a more isolated area, away from the prying eyes of the government. He and his family are hesitant to leave their beloved Lake County, but with increasingly suspicious activities happening in a nearby refugee camp, all signs point towards defecting.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • It's only half a book!

    • By merlin on 03-13-14

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 4

    • Forsaking Home

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 4
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 11 hrs and 15 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,388
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,123
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,121

    Morgan Carter has weathered the weeks after the collapse of the nation's power grid, reuniting with his family and ensuring their safety, but his struggle isn't over yet. Carter must focus on survival in an increasingly unstable society - but the challenges he faces are beyond his wildest imagination. Meanwhile, the enclosed quarters of the nearby government-run refugee camp make for an environment where injury, assault and murder are the norm.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Completes the series nicely... with a 3.5 read

    • By Jan on 06-26-14

    Regular price: $24.50

  • Book 5

    • Resurrecting Home

    • A Novel
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3,008
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,757
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,753

    Against all odds, Morgan Carter and his family have endured despite the deteriorating conditions surrounding them. Armed with survivalist tactics, Morgan's crew, alongside their new friends from the recently-liberated DHS camp, have worked together to build a sustainable community. But not all situations can be prepared for. When a massive wildfire threatens their very existence, they must decide: fight or flight?

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • This is book 5

    • By Jan on 01-09-15

    Regular price: $28.00

  • Book 6

    • Enforcing Home

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 6
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 3,209
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2,981
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,968

    Morgan has managed to get through a lot. Having made it back to his family and dealt with the issues of unscrupulous neighbors, he then had to deal with the presence of the federal government and their nefarious activities. But with the help of his close-knit group he prevailed. Life is settling into a familiar routine. And with the help of the US Army, they are starting to rebuild their community. But just when Morgan thinks things are assuming some kind of normal, another surprise lands in his lap.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Untouchable

    • By Kaden on 01-28-16

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 7

    • Avenging Home

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 7
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 2,972
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2,761
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,742

    In Avenging Home, we see how the long-running battle between Morgan's people and their number one nemesis plays out. While Morgan thinks this is the biggest threat they face, there are things on the horizon he cannot yet see that are going to dwarf these problems. Morgan has lived in a vacuum. He's had little information about the outside world. While he's used radios to listen to what he can, there's been precious little real information.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent series!

    • By Shea LeBlanc on 04-11-17

    Regular price: $31.49

  • Book 8

    • Home Invasion

    • The Survivalist Series, Book 8
    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 9 hrs and 42 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,292
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 2,138
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 2,121

    Morgan and his extended family could see the light at the end of the tunnel, dim though it may be. There was the promise of power once again. The plant was being repaired, and it looked as though it may actually run. While it meant lots of hard, sweaty work, the reward was worth the investment. The farm was growing strong, and community involvement was good. People were finally coming to terms with the fact that they needed to work together. So far Mother Nature had been on their side. But that, too, was about to change.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • what a disappointment

    • By Brian McNutt on 07-20-17

    Regular price: $34.99

  • Book 9

    • Conflicted Home

    • By: A. American
    • Narrated by: Duke Fontaine
    • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,767
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1,663
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,654

    The only possible thing that could make Morgan's world even more difficult happened. The Japanese fleet off the coast of California was wiped out. An even that Morgan and friends and family only knew about because of the radio broadcasts from the Radio Free Redoubt. So far removed from them it barely warranted notice. That is until the Chinese retaliated by launching a nuclear counter-strike against Mac Dill Air Force base. This, did warrant their attention and had the potential to profoundly impact their lives.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Not what I am used to from this series - Very slow

    • By Siggy on 04-17-18

    Regular price: $34.99