Your audiobook is waiting…

We Set the Dark on Fire

Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Series: We Set the Dark on Fire, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
Categories: Teens, Social Issues
4 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s striven for in pursuit of a free Medio - and a chance at a forbidden love?

©2019 Tehlor Kay Mejia (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope there is a sequel!

Awesome social commentary and a great coming of age queer love story full of wonder and innocence.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great YA Novel

This was a great book. It's a young adult novel set in a quasi 19th century fictional society that actually builds Donald Trump's border wall and explores the class struggle surrounding it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

delightfully engrossing

perfect for the current political moment, this queer latinx revolutionary spy novel tells a story that weaves together the conflicts of tradition, exploitation, and gendered violence into a story of political intrigue, the struggle to honor the sacrifices of immigrant parents, and love in the most dangerous of places.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

narration was good, story was ok

The story was just ok. Slightly eyerolling from time to time. The main character didn't feel believable, she was top of her class yet terrible at her job? The story over all felt very contrived and forced.

On the plus side, the narrator was great. I would listen to another book narrated by her 💯. She may be the only reason I finished the book in the first place.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah
  • Oak Park, IL, United States
  • 05-23-19

Really wanted to like this

I enjoy young adult and had high expectations. In the end, however, it felt like the author was a beginner and tried to squeeze in a lot of hot topics. The LGBTQ angle seemed manufactured and wasn't remotely necessary to the rebellion plot.

I also found the world building confusing. This is apparently an isolated island nation that is very Latin American where people shop in market places, etc. There is no TV, telephone, internet but they have weapons and automobiles? And I couldn't figure out why the people who live along the shore where they can fish and grow produce were the ones starving.

So in general, this book felt awkward. I imagined it being written by a high school student.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful