adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose - and falling for each other - in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead....

The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords. 

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first, Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within. 

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia's reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer - as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more....

Praise for Gearbreakers:

"An absolute joyride of a story set in a vivid, arresting world. Gearbreakers is sci-fi at its very finest, combining the grandeur of mecha fighting machines with the intimacy of (splendidly feral) found family. Zoe Hana Mikuta is a talent to be in awe of." (Chloe Gong, New York Times best-selling author of These Violent Delights)

©2021 Zoe Hana Mikuta (P)2021 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Gearbreakers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

disapointing

Starts good but drops off fast and far. Mecha combat, as little as there is, is dull and weightless. The gearbreakers have taken down HUNDREDS of mecha with only a few casualties, which make the war seem very off balance. of course the fact they have wizard gloves that shoot lava and ice helps.

The love story is okay, I like where it was going until one girl, in a fit of anger, tries to kill the other. they then play it off as no big deal heehee. like that shouldn't be an immediate dealbreaker.

My biggest complaint is the authors fear of transitions. scene changes happen so abruptly it felt like people were teleporting. at one point there is a small time skip and I wouldn't have known about it if it wasn't pointed out in awkward dialog.

The narrator does a very poor job making the 2 main characters sound different. and the ending was so unsatisfying I regretted getting all the way through it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

I came for the sapphic rep but I walked away having been wrecked by the characters. Their relationships were so tangible it was impossible not to feel invested. I love how differently the POVs were performed by the VAs, it really hit home how differently they perceived themselves vs how others saw them. Excellent, fun, well paced story with great VA.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic !!!

I’m speechless, this book is amazing and fantastic great and all the wonderful words will have to describe this book. It is by far one of The best sci-fi fantasy books I’ve ever read. It was an absolute joy ride reading and listening to this fantastic book. A story such as the gearbreakers in such a vivid world so abstract to the formality of amazingness; I love this book I really hope that is a second the author is such an amazing writer the narrator wasn’t that bad but I would enjoy if there is only one narrator indeed,but this book nonetheless was fantastically written. I hope many who read this book or listen to it have the opportunity to enjoy such an amazing book. I would highly recommend.