The Strangers

Greystone Secrets, Book 1
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie
Series: Greystone Secrets, Book 1
Length: 7 hrs and 56 mins
Categories: Kids, Ages 8-10
4.5 out of 5 stars (162 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes listeners on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best - acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down. 

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly)

  • Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick 
  • Indie Best Seller 
  • Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads 
  • PW Best Books 2019 
  • Texas Bluebonnet Award List 2020-2021 
  • 2020 LITA Excellence in Children’s and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book: The Eleanor Cameron Notable Middle Grade Books List
©2019 Margaret Peterson Haddix (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG I LOVE IT

I didnt really think i would like this book but I took a chance and it was Awesome!!! This book gets you wrapped up immediately and you just can't stop listening. I loved all the characters especially Finn.. Everyone loves Finn! Cant wait for the next book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

9 and 12 year olds loved it

Kept my attention too. Exciting book! The narrator did a good job differentiating the three kids when reading the different chapters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another exciting beginning...

I am so excited about the beginning of this new haddix series. I'm not sure I can wait for the next book. The story start simply and explodes into is creative complexity. I highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The strangers

Great book. Like all the mysterious parts and heart breaking moments. If, you like good books get this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting middle grades read!

Great plot, excellent characters, with lots of positive family interaction. Personally, I wish they were older, but this is really exciting middle grades read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KQ
  • 02-06-20

Slow down the audio narration

Here's a tip for the Audible version. I found the narrator's voice to be too high-pitched, and she read it so fast. The recording must have been sped up in post for some reason. In the Audible app, we can slow or speed up the narration, so I slowed it down to .80 speed. Ahh, that was much better to my ears. Otherwise, this author has obviously mastered her craft. Great character development, a compelling mystery for the kids to overcome, and an action-packed climax & ending. It has a cliffhanger ending. Guess I'll be getting book 2 when it's released.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unexpected Twist

While this story began a little slow, it quickly picked up and held our attention. We were all guessing what was going on. And then came the twist. Usually, twists are good, but this one killed this story. We so wanted to love this book, but thought that it was ok. Not sure if we'd read the rest in the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great performance!

my family and I listened to this book on a long road trip. at first I thought the ladies voice was annoying but it quickly grew on me. The story is interesting and kept my 5,8,10,12 year olds entertained.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My son rated this book and loved it!

We listened to it every chance we were able. It was a little confusing at first but we were able to understand as it went on. Great narration!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great twist

It is a good fantasy books with suspense. The characters were fun and the adventure they go on is fun.