adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.37

Buy for $27.37

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes listeners on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best - acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down. 

Praise for The Strangers:

"A secret-stacked, thrilling series opener about perception, personal memories, and the idiosyncrasies that form individual identities." (Publishers Weekly)

  • Winter 2018-2019 Kids' Indie Next List Pick 
  • Indie Best Seller 
  • Time for Kids Book Club: Top 10 Summer Reads 
  • PW Best Books 2019 
  • Texas Bluebonnet Award List 2020-2021 
  • 2020 LITA Excellence in Children’s and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book: The Eleanor Cameron Notable Middle Grade Books List
©2019 Margaret Peterson Haddix (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Strangers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG I LOVE IT

I didnt really think i would like this book but I took a chance and it was Awesome!!! This book gets you wrapped up immediately and you just can't stop listening. I loved all the characters especially Finn.. Everyone loves Finn! Cant wait for the next book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

9 and 12 year olds loved it

Kept my attention too. Exciting book! The narrator did a good job differentiating the three kids when reading the different chapters.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great performance!

my family and I listened to this book on a long road trip. at first I thought the ladies voice was annoying but it quickly grew on me. The story is interesting and kept my 5,8,10,12 year olds entertained.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another exciting beginning...

I am so excited about the beginning of this new haddix series. I'm not sure I can wait for the next book. The story start simply and explodes into is creative complexity. I highly recommend it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Audio version is better than reading it!

I read this book as a summer reading project and I remember saying that I would read for 45 minutes, then 1 hour and 15 minutes later I would finally realize how long I had been reading! Several months later I was looking for the book to reread it but I couldn't find it anywhere! I then remembered that I had a few audible credits so I went into my room and said "Alexa! Play Graystone Secrets: The Strangers." I used my audible credit to listen to the book and it started off ok but the when she got to the second chapter and had a different voice the book got much better! I read in my head and I usually don't use different voices for different characters so this was better than normal!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect read aloud!

If you liked "A Wrinkle in Time", this is a your next read, especially if you're looking for something to read with your kiddos. Boys, girls, kids, tweens, grownups, there's something for everyone. An action packed mystery with a twist that made me do a double take. Fast-paced. I couldn't put it down!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great middle grade mystery

very long Exposition. satisfying ending but there is obviously a follow up. would recommend for readers ages 7- 13

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

best book

I love that it alternated people and just a great book it gets emotional but excellent

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Meh.

The start of the book hooked us, but then it went south from there. My 8 yr old didn’t like it at all, and I hated it. We’ve listened to so many great audible books, and this was a flop. Don’t bother.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this book!

This was a really great book. If you have ever read The Mysterious Benedict Society, it was a bit like that. I love this book SO much and cannot wait time read the next one!!!!