• The Red Book: A Reader's Edition

  • Philemon
  • By: C. G. Jung
  • Narrated by: Mike Fraser
  • Length: 20 hrs
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (438 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Red Book: A Reader's Edition  By  cover art

The Red Book: A Reader's Edition

By: C. G. Jung
Narrated by: Mike Fraser
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

UPDATE: In response to listener feedback, this audio edition of The Red Book has now been revised to exclude footnotes in the reading.

An audio edition of the famous Red Book text and essay.

The Red Book, published to wide acclaim in 2009, contains the nucleus of C. G. Jung's later works. It was here that he developed his principal theories of the archetypes, the collective unconscious, and the process of individuation that would transform psychotherapy from treatment of the sick into a means for the higher development of the personality.

As Sara Corbett wrote in the New York Times, "The creation of one of modern history's true visionaries, The Red Book is a singular work, outside of categorization. As an inquiry into what it means to be human, it transcends the history of psychoanalysis and underscores Jung's place among revolutionary thinkers like Marx, Orwell and, of course, Freud."

The Red Book: A Reader's Edition features Sonu Shamdasani's introductory essay and the full translation of Jung's vital work in one audiobook. The Red Book is skillfully narrated by Mike Fraser.

©2009 The Foundation of the Works of C.G. Jung; translation copyright by Mark Kyburz, John Peck, and Sonu Shamdasani. Introduction and notes copyright by Sonu Shamdasani (P)2020 Echo Point Books & Media, LLC