Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be - sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior - and the ultimate unreliable narrator - unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic Eight Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She's pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She's not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?

©2015 Francesca Zappia (P)2017 Tantor

Critic Reviews

"Debut novelist Zappia presents readers with a wholly unreliable narrator, [but] the characters all seem authentic, thanks to Zappia's careful attention to detail." (Booklist)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

totally shocking twist that i didn’t see coming.

lovely coming of age tale that uses mental health to push along a real to life story. doesn't make fun of mental health but shows it in a truthful light.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

amazing

I loved this book! I struggle with SP which is in not nearly as bad as schizophrenia because I only see things when I'm sleeping or waking up but often after an episode I will go through the day wondering things like what is really real? I love Miles character and how amazingly understanding and cool he was. This book is wonderful I highly recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

was a little slow at first

it was a little slow at first but picked up for sure. worth the listen for sure

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Loved this book

I loved everything about this book. I want more. Fantastic job. Can't wait to read more of Francesca's words.

  • Overall

Really great

I love this book it's amazing highly recommend this book it has to be one of my favorites and also really great narrative

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Speechless

This is one of the best books I think I have ever had the pleasure of listening too. Every chapter brought something new and exciting to the mix, even if it was small. It managed to surprise me, which I throughly enjoyed, when the author revealed who wasn't real. I really recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about getting it. Truly a work of art.