We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Made You Up Audiobook

Made You Up

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be - sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior - and the ultimate unreliable narrator - unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic Eight Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She's pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She's not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?

©2015 Francesca Zappia (P)2017 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"Debut novelist Zappia presents readers with a wholly unreliable narrator, [but] the characters all seem authentic, thanks to Zappia's careful attention to detail." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (38 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (31 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (30 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Home Seller Columbus Ohio 07-06-17
    Home Seller Columbus Ohio 07-06-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "totally shocking twist that i didn’t see coming."

    lovely coming of age tale that uses mental health to push along a real to life story. doesn't make fun of mental health but shows it in a truthful light.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 07-17-17
    07-17-17 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "amazing"

    I loved this book! I struggle with SP which is in not nearly as bad as schizophrenia because I only see things when I'm sleeping or waking up but often after an episode I will go through the day wondering things like what is really real? I love Miles character and how amazingly understanding and cool he was. This book is wonderful I highly recommend it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    brandy suarez HOUSTON, TX, US 10-07-17
    brandy suarez HOUSTON, TX, US 10-07-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "was a little slow at first"

    it was a little slow at first but picked up for sure. worth the listen for sure

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jamie S Wages 09-08-17 Member Since 2015
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    24
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved this book"

    I loved everything about this book. I want more. Fantastic job. Can't wait to read more of Francesca's words.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-13-17
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Really great "

    I love this book it's amazing highly recommend this book it has to be one of my favorites and also really great narrative

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    LuLu 07-24-17
    LuLu 07-24-17 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Speechless"

    This is one of the best books I think I have ever had the pleasure of listening too. Every chapter brought something new and exciting to the mix, even if it was small. It managed to surprise me, which I throughly enjoyed, when the author revealed who wasn't real. I really recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about getting it. Truly a work of art.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.