We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Shadow Bright and Burning Audiobook

A Shadow Bright and Burning: Kingdom on Fire, Book 1

Regular Price:$42.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

I am Henrietta Howel.

The first female sorcerer in hundreds of years.

The prophesied one.

Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she's shocked when, instead of being executed, she's invited to train as one of Her Majesty's royal sorcerers.

Thrust into the glamour of Victorian London, Henrietta is declared the chosen one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients, bloodthirsty demons terrorizing humanity. She also meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, handsome young men eager to test her power and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her.

But Henrietta Howel is not the chosen one.

As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their own secrets to protect. With battle looming, what does it mean to not be the one? And how much will she risk to save the city - and the one she loves?

Exhilarating and gripping, Jessica Cluess' spellbinding fantasy introduces a powerful, unforgettable heroine and a world filled with magic, romance, and betrayal. For fans of Libba Bray, Sarah J. Maas, and Cassandra Clare.

©2016 Jessica Cluess (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Henrietta is pragmatic and bitingly funny, and she more than holds her own in a man's world. Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (115 )
5 star
 (69)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.4 (107 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (34)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (107 )
5 star
 (77)
4 star
 (23)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Roxanne 10-07-16
    Roxanne 10-07-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "perfect for this time of year"

    This book is a perfect mix of magic, mystery, friendship (just thinking about what Rook and Henrietta have gives me all the warm feels) and creepiness (I say this as someone who absolutely can't handle horror so some people probably won't find this all that creepy but there was one sentence that really creeped me out, just thinking about the words and the way the narrator said them gives me chills). If people are looking for romance they really aren't gonna find any here, I mean there is kind of romance but also not, it can easily be dismissed and I liked it like that. I liked the fact that in my opinion it was all about friendship, the friendship between Rook and Henrietta but also the friendship between Henrietta and the other sorcerers. I did have some problems with Henrietta, but nobody is perfect. Overall I really liked it and recommend it to everyone!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    font lover 11-15-16
    font lover 11-15-16 Member Since 2015

    andi

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh. Pride and prejudice meets Harry Potter? Not really"

    The story started off great. But it ended up dragging. I actually skipped through the last 1.5. The story has promise, and might come together next book. But I hate when a mystery drags on too long. The relationships didn't develop enough and romance some what flat. I'm shocked I'm not really giving it a good review. Because I love Fiona Hardingham. I could try to rethink k this book. It just seemed like they had a great idea but then met writers block and we had to sit through it too.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mandy 09-25-16
    Mandy 09-25-16 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    323
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Definitely has potential..."
    Any additional comments?

    I liked the overall concept of this story although sometimes the characters annoyed me. I think I like one of them and then they go and do something stupid and have to redeem themselves. It was really up and down throughout the entire book but I think it has a lot of potential to become a great series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine Pia 05-29-17
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    I didn't know what to expect when I listened to this book but I absolutely loved it!! The narrator was fantastic and the ending made me eager for book 2!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    knvmxi 01-19-17
    knvmxi 01-19-17 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    166
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "quite good"

    I was not expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the plotting and development of the characters. The heroine is a sort of Jane Eyre with supernatural powers. It has got a nice Victoria era flare whenever the author feels like it, and is otherwise am entertaining read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brit T 12-17-16
    Brit T 12-17-16 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ORIGINAL BOOK OF AWESOME!"

    this was such a good book I'm so glad I read it! I actually cried tears of joy at the end it was so good! she's a lot stronger then most lead girls I know what a fantastic book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.