adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $37.09

Buy for $37.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice - perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake - in The Merciful Crow. One way or another, we always feed the crows.  

A future chieftain   

Fie abides by one rule: Look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.  

A fugitive prince   

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses - and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: Protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.   

A too-cunning bodyguard   

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’ life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

©2019 Margaret Owen (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Merciful Crow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    123
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the read/listen

It did get really long in the middle of the book, I literally fell asleep for a few and didn’t even bother going back and don’t feel I missed anything

Definitely unique concept though that I wish was explained more , like how can people tell what caste someone is just by looking?

I also am not a fan of the immediate fall in love thing, but some people like that

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique but a little slow

Overall a pleasure, truly interesting premise and characters, but pretty slow moving. Well written and narrated.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

it's fine.

it wonderful world with a good story that just feels flat in places. I look forward to the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book

The book was amazing but the narrator wasn’t that good. She said several words weird and was kinda deadpan all the way through. Still an amazing book though, recommended it to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

really really good story

the story was really good, and the narrator does quite a good job with the male voices. i’ve had several audiobooks ruined by a narrator trying too hard (or not very hard at all) to get the genders right, especially with different ages. this narrator knocked it out of the park.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This book is amazing. If your a fan of Six of Crows and/or The throne of glass books. highly recommend. July 2020 can't come quick enough. how dare you make me look forward to an election year.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timely

In these times of pandemic and immigration conflict, this book is an interesting take on how we treat the "others" among us. Ultimately, we are one tribe, but historically we do so like to separate ourselves to justify our fear. I enjoyed this story, from the perspective of a character from the marginalized outcasts.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • AG
  • 05-22-21

Compelling story, bad narrator

The world felt real and compelling, and the book was well-written. The world-building has holes you can drive a wagon through but somehow I liked the main character enough to enjoy the story regardless. The narrator was terrible. The ends of all the sentences went down in intonation and often had the last word totally distinct like “What do you think. Pa.” The narrator also chose a strange British accent for the characters, which there was no reason for as far as I could tell. At least for the most part the book felt like it took place somewhere hot and dry; I had assumed a more Western feel.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great adventure story

I really enjoyed this book. little bit adventure, little bit magic little bit love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good

I enjoyed this book. It was an easy listen, nicky paced. No major twists and turns. But still enough action and peril to make it interesting. The narrator was decent enough. I wish her male voices were a bit better. otherwise, no complaints.