The Merciful Crow

Narrated by: Amy Landon
Series: Merciful Crow Series, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 57 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (146 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $37.09

Buy for $37.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice - perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake - in The Merciful Crow. One way or another, we always feed the crows.  

A future chieftain   

Fie abides by one rule: Look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.  

A fugitive prince   

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses - and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: Protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.   

A too-cunning bodyguard   

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’ life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

©2019 Margaret Owen (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Merciful Crow

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the read/listen

It did get really long in the middle of the book, I literally fell asleep for a few and didn’t even bother going back and don’t feel I missed anything Definitely unique concept though that I wish was explained more , like how can people tell what caste someone is just by looking? I also am not a fan of the immediate fall in love thing, but some people like that

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique but a little slow

Overall a pleasure, truly interesting premise and characters, but pretty slow moving. Well written and narrated.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

really really good story

the story was really good, and the narrator does quite a good job with the male voices. i’ve had several audiobooks ruined by a narrator trying too hard (or not very hard at all) to get the genders right, especially with different ages. this narrator knocked it out of the park.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This book is amazing. If your a fan of Six of Crows and/or The throne of glass books. highly recommend. July 2020 can't come quick enough. how dare you make me look forward to an election year.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic story

Margaret Owen has created a fantastic new world, with its own mythology. this story is very richly told, I read it straight through and immediately went on to the second novel!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Series I am Looking Forward to

This book made me cry, laugh and cheer. There was suspense, love, mercy, and a group learning and growing together. A satisfying ending and a perfect cliffhanger mixed together. Amy Landon has a pleasing voice to listen to and she made this story come to life. I’m not 100% sure that this will be a series, I may riot if it’s not, but it has all the makings of one. I don’t normally read debut books, but I’m glad I picked this one up (thank you booktuber, Chandler Ainsley). Margaret Owen knows how to weave a fantasy tale with a well flushed out characters, settings and cast system. I would highly recommended this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a good mercy

I would straight up die for this book. I started the physical book three times but life kept calling me away, so I got the audiobook. Now I'm just eagerly awaiting the sequel. Owen does a beautiful job writing and exploring the power dynamics of oppression, and what it looks in function. Normally I shy away from books involving caste systems because they end up feeling trite or preachy, but this book just feels real in the most aching and fire-lighting way. I love this book, I love Fie,

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I finished this in 2 days. I loved it. The setting could have used a little more development, but I'm it will flesh out in the next books I'm almost certain will come.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting

I am not exactly sure how to describe this book, very cast oriented. Unfortunately, the book did not go into the details of how you can tell the cast of people apart. Great story, well written, I had an issue with the main character a little, and the final showdown was a bit too convenient. I think having a full history/story of the gods and their blessing to the cast system would really benefit the "depth" of unjustice; the entire plot was kind of build around. Otherwise, it was a great listen. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read, very engaging

I dont usually go for this type of book, but this one was great! i loved the characters, and the storey. I hope there is another soon!!