Your audiobook is waiting…

A Poison Dark and Drowning

Kingdom on Fire, Book Two
Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Series: Kingdom on Fire, Book 2
Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
Categories: Teens, Sci-Fi & Fantasy
4.5 out of 5 stars (161 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The magicians want her to lead.

The sorcerers want her to lie.

The demons want her blood.

Henrietta wants to save the one she loves.

But will his dark magic be her undoing?

In this seductive and explosive second book in the Kingdom on Fire series, Jessica Cluess delivers her signature mix of magic, passion, and teen warriors fighting for survival. For fans of Victoria Aveyard, Sarah J. Maas, and Kiersten White.

Henrietta doesn't need a prophecy to know that she's in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one.

Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook's system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own. So when Henrietta finds a clue to the Ancients' past that could turn the tide of the war, she persuades Blackwood, the mysterious Earl of Sorrow-Fell, to travel up the coast to seek out strange new weapons. And Magnus, the brave, reckless flirt who wants to win back her favor, is assigned to their mission. Together, they will face monsters, meet powerful new allies, and uncover the most devastating weapon of all: the truth.

©2017 Jessica Cluess (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Devastatingly magical and monstrously romantic. I can't decide if this book stole my heart or ripped it out of my chest." (Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval)
"Cluess gamely turns the chosen-one trope upside down in this smashing dark fantasy." ( Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A thrilling adventure

It’s hard to review this without spoilers but I will say what I always hope to see on sequel reviews - this was just as good if not better than the first book and i am so excited to read the third whenever it is released.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

more magic - the story continues - very enjoyable

A very interesting story - a nice new creative take on magic. The narrator was good - did a great job with the characters. If you like Victorian England with magic, this is the story for you. My only negative is the series isn't complete so you have to wait for the books to be released.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

amazing book 2! and Fiona (narrator) is perfection

Jessica did it again! a great second in a series and I can't wait for the third. Fiona is the best of the best when it comes to narration. she did fantastic as always!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Feel every emotion there is

I sincerely enjoyed both these books. However after listening to both I feel cheated.... grr the story isn't over yet. I hope Henrietta survives. I look forward to what happens next... will there be another story?

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

CAPTIVATING!!

This book kept me enthralled! It played with my heart like a ferocious kitten with a string. Then the kitten chewed up the string digest it and shat it out. Now I'm sitting here like like a lifeless turd. LOVED!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Loved the characters. Loved the plot. Loved the twists and turns. Loved the ending. Loved!