Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart
How steamy is it? Sweet

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling first book in a YA fantasy trilogy for fans of Red Queen. In a world where social prestige derives from a trifecta of blood, money, and magic, one girl has the ability to break the spell that holds the social order in place.

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister's debutante spell - an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic - Anna finds herself exiled to her family's once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she's known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can't seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna's unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romani, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she's always wanted or embrace her ability and change that world forever.

©2017 Rosalyn Eves (P)2017 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Romance sizzles and deadly magic crackles in Rosalyn Eves's electrifying debut. Prepare to be spellbound." (Julie Berry, award-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa and All the Truth That's in Me)
"A fast-paced historical fantasy full of magic, romance, and adventure that is a must-read for fans of Sorcery & Cecelia!" (Jessica Day George, New York Times best-selling author of Silver in the Blood)
"Everything I love in a fantasy: history, noblemen, magic, romance, and a revolution. Blood Rose Rebellion had me charmed from the first page." (Virginia Boecker, author of The Witch Hunter)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So far soo good

SO FAR ITS FULL OF MAGIC, historian setting era of noble men and women and those of certain upper class families with unbelievably suspenseful majic and constant high intensity adventure. I definitely recommend trying this new series as I believe there are 2 books in total that are recorded as of now:)
In addition the narration was well done:)!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Good enough to finish

Disliked the Catholic parallels in this genre. Timeless social struggles placed in magical, fantastical dimensions.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Such a Disappointment

Would you try another book from Rosalyn Eves and/or Fiona Hardingham?

I love Fiona! She's a great narrator so yes, but as for Rosalyn...I might if she writes something new that isn't part of this series.

What character would you cut from Blood Rose Rebellion?

Anna. She's the main character. I found her to be annoying, judgmental, and entitled.

Any additional comments?

I really was excited for this book. I wanted to DNF it at 20% but decided to keep going. Finally at 50% I couldn't handle the story or the main character anymore.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing historical fiction with magic

I really enjoyed this story and am excited to read the second book. The characters are likeable, flawed and realistic people who you grow to care about throughout the book.

The narrator is one of my favorites (read Scorpio Races if you haven't already!) and I knew she would do the story justice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great read.

The narrator, Fiona Hardingham, did such a superb job with this story. Her annunciation of the Hungarian names and words is great. This story really had me captive throughout its telling. I can't wait to read the next one in the series and find out what has become of Matias.