• The Tiger at Midnight

  • Tiger at Midnight, Book 1
  • By: Swati Teerdhala
  • Narrated by: Sneha Mathan
  • Length: 12 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (170 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $36.50

Buy for $36.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first audiobook in an epic heart-pounding fantasy trilogy inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Renée Ahdieh.

A Book Riot most anticipated novel of 2019.

B&N Top 50 most anticipated novels.

A broken bond. A dying land. A cat and mouse game that can only end in bloodshed.

Esha lost everything in the royal coup - and as the legendary rebel known as the Viper, she’s made the guilty pay. Now, she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha. 

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path - even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has only been growing more volatile. 

When Esha and Kunal’s paths cross one fated night, an impossible chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces.

As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both the soldier and the rebel must decide where their loyalties lie: with the lives they’ve killed to hold on to or with the love that’s made them dream of something more.

©2019 Swati Teerdhala (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Tiger at Midnight

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

you're in a book slump

please read this book because it took all of the dumb and same book tropes and redesign them and actually made them good like this author does so well with plot twists and how to change the standardized Love story into something that's actually worth reading because I was in such a book slump and now I'm not it's so amazing I love this book I can't wait to read another one

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An adventurous love story

The beginning was slow and I was tempted to stop listening but about a quarter in the characters really developed. The two main characters interactions we're playful and fantastical but in just the right amount. I really felt connected to the story by the end and was saddened yet intrigued by the choice of conclusion.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a delightful bantering enemies to lovers story

I LOVED this book. It's exactly what I'd been looking for to read, and the audiobook performance was stellar. I can't wait for the next book, but thankfully this one didn't end on a cliffhanger. There was a bit of info dumping in the beginning, but the pace picked up quickly and the interactions between Kunal and Eesha were wonderful. Overall, a delightful alternating POV cat-and-mouse game between an assassin and the soldier who's been ordered to capture her. Add in a healthy dose of attraction and banter and the slow realization that the game is bigger than either of them had imagined and muddying, shifting loyalties, and it's near perfection

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Easy listen, beautiful narrator, nothing special

Romance book with a little of plot development. Too minimalistic for my taste. Not much action but a lot setup for the romance

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

interesting all around

fun, easy to follow, good details and story
lovely narrator who takes you a long the adventures so well

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Listened to it as fast as I could


I love this story!!! I couldnt put it down!
🗡adventure
🐅romance
🐍 amazing character development

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing Indian myth

The story isn’t what I expected. It was more. Action, myth-based lands with full histories, complex characters and impossible choices. All here. A twist on the chosen one trope that created mystery. The story gives both sides of evil, treachery, conquest, and power. Very deep, thoughtful, yet always moving and shifting. The rich culture is a plus. I highly recommend for youth and adults alike.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Elegant writing

The writing is poetic, which would normally turn me off, but it was a well done story with interesting characters. While I really liked it, I'm not quite ready for book 2 right now. I will put it in my list for later reading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable

Held my interest from beginning to end. Likeable characters with depth and mystery. I like that there was an ending yet a clear path to a sequel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Primarily a romance with a little bit of fantasy

While I prefer my stories to be more heavy on fantasy and lighter on the romance, I found the quality of the writing sufficient to still rate this Aa 4 out of 5 stars. Undecided whether I will continue on to book 2.

1 person found this helpful

.