Regular price: $20.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author and acclaimed video game writer Drew Karpyshyn returns with the second novel in an original epic fantasy series - perfect for fans of Terry Goodkind, Peter V. Brett, and Brandon Sanderson - about four young people who will either save the world or bring about its destruction.

The Children of Fire - four mortals touched by the power of Chaos - each embody one aspect of a banished and fallen immortal champion: Keegan, the wizard; Scythe, the warrior; Cassandra, the prophet; Vaaler, the king. Now grown to adulthood, the Children are in search of the ancient Talismans that can stop the return of Daemron the Slayer, ancient enemy of the Old Gods. But in acquiring Daemron’s Ring, they’ve left in their wake death, destruction, and a queen bent on revenge.

For the discovery of the Talismans has unleashed a flood of Chaos magic on the land - and now their strength will be tested and their faith tried as never before. Beset on all sides by both mortal and supernatural enemies, they race to find Daemron’s Sword, the last of the ancient Talismans, before the entire mortal world is engulfed in the flames of war and Chaos that will herald the return of the Slayer.

©2014 Drew Karpyshyn (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

another great job. both by the author and narrator

Karpyshyn and Gigante make a great team. Really looking forward to hearing the final book, but also sad it's the last one.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • sr
  • 08-13-15

Mediocre at best

Very predictable, very simple, kind of boring if you a fantasy fan with many books under your belt.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful