Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

With the last of his trusted companions having fallen, Drizzt is alone - and free - for the first time in almost a hundred years. Guilt mingles with relief, leaving Drizzt uniquely vulnerable to the persuasions of his newest companion: Dahlia, a darkly alluring elf and the only other member of their party to survive the cataclysm at Mount Hotenow.

But traveling with Dahlia is challenging in more ways than one. As the two companions seek revenge on the one responsible for leveling Neverwinter - and nearly Luskan as well - Drizzt finds his usual moral certainty swept away by her unconventional views. Forced to see the dark deeds that the common man may be driven to by circumstance, Drizzt begins to find himself on the wrong side of the law in an effort to protect those the law has failed. Making new enemies, as his old enemies acquire deadly allies, Drizzt and Dahlia quickly find themselves embroiled in battle - a state he's coming to enjoy a little too much.

©2011 Wizards of the Coast, LLC (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    867
  • 4 Stars
    270
  • 3 Stars
    90
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    835
  • 4 Stars
    234
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    11

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    780
  • 4 Stars
    247
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    12
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Roger
  • Ontario, Canada
  • 02-28-13

Loved It!

Even better then the first book in this series. Drizzt and Dalia really come to work with each other and a 'blast from the past' joins them! what a surprise for me when we found out who Barabbas is.
There is never a boring moment in Drizzt's life, and this book is no exception. The action was, as always, fantastic! But, more importantly, with the loss of his friends, Drizzt is really thinking about the why of his life. I think Mr. Salvatore is setting the stage for an even more epic Drizzt adventure when this series is finished.
Can't wait to listen to the third book and find out the fate of Barabbas!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Michael
  • Spotswood, Australia
  • 03-25-13

Addictive

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would recommend this book to everyone, because this book is really good.

What did you like best about this story?

Everything about this book is great.

What about Victor Bevine’s performance did you like?

He is awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Please Add More Drizzt

If you could sum up Neverwinter in three words, what would they be?

Drizzt Rocks Again

What was one of the most memorable moments of Neverwinter?

Old enemies team up again!

Which character – as performed by Victor Bevine – was your favorite?

Effron

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

What happened to the first 21 books and movies

Any additional comments?

Audible please get the first 20+ Drizzt Books.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Desmond
  • Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
  • 01-13-14

Not your grandpa's Drizzt

Wow, beginning with Guntelgrym you get the impression RA Salvatore suddenly decided that perhaps the forgotten realms should be opened to more than a few teenage geeks. No offence, but the sanitary nature of his earlier books, although all well written, left most of us adult wandering what sort of passionless world these characters inhabited.

The lack of adult situations and interactions left it feeling entirely to ...antiseptic. Forcefully antiseptic. Now, with these last series of books, it seems as though RAS has discovered that there is room for an adult audience for these books. Drizzt is not just a one directional, unsurprising and rather unchallenging character, but a multi faceted gem being cut into dazzling brilliance by each physical, emotional and even (and I hate this word personally) spiritual conflict. With each of these cuts you see a deeper more mature side of teh already prolifically introspective fighter. In these last series of books You are seeing real growth through conflict in these complex and deeply interwoven interludes of Drizzt , all soo well written and narrated within each of these books, but the growth within seems to truly begin with Guntelgrym.

With the introduction of Dahlia and the death of the companions, you start to see Drizzt truly maturing. With Dahlia as part of the inspiration for most of his ongoing development perhaps a bit later in life than would have been reasonable for some one of such philosophical ruminations as we have come to read in these books. Perhaps its his heritage as one of these eternally aging beings that they are cursed with an equally aged maturity curve. How else can one explain taking 100 years after 20 to come to the realization that black and white is not always so. Maybe it is just Dahlia. Whichever it is, its a great change from fighting without growth.

I applaud RAS for taking the risk of alienating some of the family-friendly-or die purist by writing more realistic stories that are not overly adult (no 50 shades of Durden here - sorry to disappoint) that maintained some of the fantasy and magic that keeps us hungry for more. The return of "Barabas the gray" and its link to the prior stories is also a great plot twist that I thoroughly enjoyed. Enemies become friends and friends become enemies, just great stuff.

If you haven’t read The previous books in the series, please do, and then compare to the series beginning with Guntylgrym and you will see a marked difference. In those later stories, especially in this one our dear Drizzt is doing that which we all want from our most cherished friends or even family. He is growing up.


**On a side note, I wander if fight club’s Tyler Durden is related to Drizzt Durden :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Thrilling

If you could sum up Neverwinter in three words, what would they be?

Action packed, thrilling, and a nail bitter.

What did you like best about this story?

The interaction of Drizzt and Dahlia.

Have you listened to any of Victor Bevine’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have listened to other Victor Bevine books and this is by far the best.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

The book kept me on edge. Loved the action.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Victor Bevine is the worst audiobook reader ever.

This story is great. However, the audiobook is borderline unlistenable, due to the falseness of the reader, Victor Bevine. Everything about his tone is false, and sounds like he is trying way too hard to sound important. It is the essence of a bad actor, and takes the reader out of the story, instead forcing us to focus on his ridiculous performance. Do yourself a favor and do not listen to this horrible performance. Read the book instead.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good book.

Good book wished these books were longer. I love the drizzt series can't wait to read more.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story.

I loved the story and really liked the ending.

It was worth it.

I look forward to reading the next book.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

another great book.

another great book!! I will continue to be reading
another great book!! I will continue to be reading
another great book!! I will continue to be reading

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

better than the last 5 in the series

I have been a fan of Salvatore for a long time but this is his best one in quite some time

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Craig Wright
  • 04-16-13

Slow but sure.

Another great book from Savatore. Following on from book one is no mean feat. As a long time reader and listener of the Dark Elf books this one didn't disappoint. Quite slow to start but with patience comes reward. Ill leave the storyline to the synopsis. But definitely worth the read / listen. Another note for the audiobook listeners I found the reader interesting and he brought the characters alive with different voices and emotion was communicated very well. And was not the usual droning on and on while reading words from a page. Once again a good book and a good audio book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Matthew
  • 07-05-15

Awesome!

This second chapter reveals a past favourite character returned adding more twists than a coiled spring! The fight scenes are as vivid as ever and the ever evolving storyline just keeps you hooked!

Brilliantly narrated by Victor Bevine this is another one of the great R A Salvatore's work!! :-)

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Linzie
  • 08-17-13

Didn't want to put this down!

Great 2nd book in the series. The story is gripping and you are taken through a multitude of emotions as it progresses. As ever, the characters are voiced brilliantly, the narrator really giving the story and extra dimension. Fans of Dungeons and Dragons will not be disappointed.