Regular price: $45.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Emily Croy Barker’s riveting debut novel is a must-read for fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness. The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic follows grad student Nora Fischer as she stumbles through a portal into a magical world.

Having been transformed from drab to beautiful, Nora finds herself surrounded by glamorous friends. Life seems perfect. But then things take a terrible turn, and Nora must learn magic from a reclusive ally if she is to have any hope of survival...

©2013 Emily Croy Barker (P)2013 Recorded Books

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    721
  • 4 Stars
    464
  • 3 Stars
    272
  • 2 Stars
    109
  • 1 Stars
    71

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    809
  • 4 Stars
    417
  • 3 Stars
    193
  • 2 Stars
    49
  • 1 Stars
    35

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    653
  • 4 Stars
    402
  • 3 Stars
    250
  • 2 Stars
    123
  • 1 Stars
    84
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Too long

Just one of those books that you keep listening to in hopes that it will get better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not my favorite - not even close

Not my favorite , Or even close . I did finish it, but the plot was very weak. The characters were not ones you end up caring about either . This didn't seem "inspired " at all.
It's like the author was fulfilling a writing assignment - the professor providing some criteria & Barker just filled the rest in . If you have time to listen , why not . If you don't , find a better story

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Worst book ever total nonsense after first chapter

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

No one with a mind, the title and description misled me to buy it.

What could Emily Croy Barker have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Nonsense use your talent on a real story please.

How could the performance have been better?

It was ok

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The first chapter. That's it.

Any additional comments?

Needs better description maybe a warning.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not at all as advertised

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Someone who hasn't read any reviews of this book.

Any additional comments?

This book was so dull. And predictable. And obnoxious. I read reviews saying this book was like what would have happened had Hermione Granger gone to grad school. All right, I thought. Sounds like fun! A grown up, intelligent woman with gumption and strength of character and magic? Awesome! Except that the only part of that description that fits was the "grown up" and "woman" and "magic" bits. Nora was cowardly, idiotic, whiny, and frankly, not all that bright. I spent most of my time wanting to roll my eyes at her. This was not a strong heroine with a mind of her own--she was a wet blanket. Big, big thumbs down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A non-thinking woman's guide to anything

What did you like best about The Thinking Woman's Guide to Real Magic? What did you like least?

The main character, Nora, is supposed to be a PhD student and yet aside from being able to recite poetry she's not a well developed character and a bit shallow.

What could Emily Croy Barker have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

The book was an epic tale but few of the loose ends were tied up. The book created an environment but lacks depth.

Which scene was your favorite?

When Nora first enters the other world.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Definitely not.

Any additional comments?

The book is about 200 pages too long- the audio book about 10 hours too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Worst book in ages

From the silly spineless main character to the ass numbingly "plot".. This is a train wreck you DON'T want to watch. Hard pass. On every level this is a book I am angered at losing time having read it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I couldn't even finish listening to this book

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I guess people that read Fantasies. It should not be recommended to people that liked the All Souls Trilogy.

Would you ever listen to anything by Emily Croy Barker again?

Absolutely not

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Alyssa Bresnahan?

No one

Any additional comments?

To repeat, this book is not of the same caliber as the All Souls Trilogy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fantasy Fluff

Thinking woman? I think not. If you're into one dimensional predictably, this is the book for you. The story had the potential to be great, however, the weak character development and sub par story line leaves the listener wishing for more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

No Deborah Harkness

I'm a big fan of Deborah Harkness and although Emily Croy barker is comparable she has a writing style all her own. She's choppy and ithe story I found didn't flow well. But overall it's ok. Thier are too many books out there to go for a reread on this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

no competition for Deborah Harkness

This thinking woman was not able to finish this book. About 3 hours in .. I gave up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful