• All the Murmuring Bones

  • By: A.G. Slatter
  • Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (244 ratings)

Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Audible Plus auto-renews for $7.95/mo after 30 days. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
All the Murmuring Bones  By  cover art

All the Murmuring Bones

By: A.G. Slatter
Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Try for $0.00

$7.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.61

Buy for $17.61

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

For fans of Naomi Novik and Katharine Arden, a dark gothic fairy tale from award-winning author Angela Slatter.

Orphaned as a young child, Mirin O'Malley has been brought up by her grandparents on their isolated, rambling estate Hob's Hallow. Long ago her family prospered due to a deal struck with the mer, the terrifying creatures who live in the depths of the sea: safety for their merchant ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and their fortunes have suffered as a result. When Mirin's grandfather dies, her grandmother puts in train a plan to restore their glory - but at the price of Mirin's freedom. Finding amongst her grandfather's papers evidence that her parents may still be alive, Mirin is determined to escape and discover the truth about her origins. This takes her on a treacherous journey to Blackwater, the estate her parents built when they fled Hob's Hallow, but on arrival Mirin finds the estate in decline and her 'Uncle Edward' in charge: where are her parents, and who is this Edward Elliott really?

A story of mystery and magic and the strange creatures that lurk beneath the waves.

©2021 A.G. Slatter (P)2021 W F Howes

Critic reviews

"Like the sea at its heart, Slatter s haunting story is treacherous and lovely in all its dark depths." (Heather Kassner, author of The Bone Garden)

"Slatter's dark fantasies have a bright, burning core of understanding and insight." (M.R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts and The Boy on the Bridge)

More from the same