Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: a dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women's twisted friendship.

Beautiful, creative, a little wild...Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then - but it didn't take long for her to learn that things don't always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at 33, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant, and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there's no one to turn to....

But someone's been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It's no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie's doorstep just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them - so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie's about to learn a new lesson: Those who have hurt us deeply - or whom we have hurt - never let us go, not entirely....

©2016 Camilla Way (P)2016 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Skilled performances by Heather Wilds and Fiona Hardingham give psychological insights into the two main characters.... Both Hardingham and Wilds are so good that there's no turning this off." (AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.9 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Nukkles
  • San Diego, CA USA
  • 08-21-16

READ the book, DON'T LISTEN to it

There are two major characters in the book, each portrayed by a different narrator. The narrator who plays "Heather" is totally inappropriate for the role. She's supposed to be a large, blond young woman from Wales, but sounds like anything but, with a strong accent from the West Indies. I really had difficultly getting through her sections, which were stacatto and sing songy.

That being said, the book is very well written and if you can get past the voice of one narrator, the characters are very well drawn, as is the plot. You will recognize the characters, the motives, and perhaps even some of the behavior, from your youth and maybe the book will help you fill the gaps in your understanding of persons you once knew.

I really recommend the book highly in print.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

watching edie

good book, a friend and I listened to it during work i found myself turning it on in the car on the ride home. I didn't want to stop listening. overall a good book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Off-putting at first but stick with it!!

I loved this book. First and foremost, YES - the voice of "Heather", narrated by Heather Wilds, is not the easiest to listen to. The problem is that a lot of people might not be familiar with what southern welsh sounds like. Because we can't physically see Heather, our brain wants to use her voice to give her a look. To people outside of living in the UK, the narrator's accent comes off as Indian or Middle Eastern. Do not let this deter you from listening as Wilds' performance is very solid. Sing-songy and melodramatic is exactly what you'd get from a frumpy, emotionally stunted introvert from South Wales. And there is always the other narrator; Hardingham, as always, is near perfect in her inflections.

The characters in this book are all well fleshed out. As a woman and mother I particularly enjoyed getting to know Edie - even if at times I did not like her very much. Heather steals the show here, though, and once you have let her in you can't shake her. In Heather, the author has created a character that invokes both sympathy and disgust. This is a book about complex relationships and misguided passion.

What I took away most from this book was how much depth of feeling I was able to have for just about all of the characters. Even minor characters such as Edie's neighbor and Edie's Uncle found a way into my heart.

The ending is not explosive and the twist is neither earth shattering nor underwhelming. When the reader is given the full story it is emotionally draining. By the time all the loose ends are wrapped up, the reader is definitely ready to get off the roller coaster.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Huh?

The narrator didn't bug me as much as it did for other people. But the ending bugs me quite a lot. It was like a big build up to nothing.... not really nothing but nothing like what I thought

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Narrator ruins the book

I tried listening to this book on multiple occasions but the narrator ruined a book I was so looking forward to. Too bad for the author to have her book limited to those only tolerant of the annoying narrator's voice and cadence.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful