Your audiobook is waiting…

Call Me Evie

By: JP Pomare
Narrated by: Olivia Mackenzie-Smith
Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (25 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A 17-year-old struggles to remember the tragic night that changed her life forever in this twist-filled debut novel of psychological suspense for fans of Sharp Objects and The Last Time I Lied.

Evie and her uncle Jim have just moved to an isolated cabin in a remote beach town - a far cry from their hometown of Melbourne. But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.

Jim tells Evie she did something terrible back home, that he's hiding her to protect her. But Evie can't remember anything about that night - for all she knows, he's lying. As fragments of her memory return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her savior...or her captor.

In a riveting novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, J. P. Pomare explores the fragility of memory and the potential in everyone to hide the truth - even from themselves.

©2019 JP Pomare (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

“[An] outstanding debut...the final pages stun with their gallows-drop plot surprises. Almost nothing will turn out as it initially appears in this devastating novel of psychological suspense.” (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

“This debut novel by Pomare sets him up as a writer to watch.... Pomare's writing is so crisp and his characterizations so spot-on.... Readers looking for a page-turner will be happy, but so, too, will those looking for a work with deeper resonances, in this case about gaslighting and the ruthless world of teenagers. Read this one with the lights on, and keep Pomare on your radar.” (Kirkus Reviews

“Literary psychological suspense as dark and fresh as midnight in winter. A corkscrew plot, prose that crackles like kindling, that merciless twist-of-the-knife finale - one of the most striking debuts I’ve read in years and years.” (A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

This book kind of reminded me of Good Me Bad Me at the end. I really thought I knew where it was going but there were many twist and turns. I love a book that goes back and forth from past to present day. Love it! Great Narrator too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So slow 😡

Kate/Evie character is so annoying, entitled teen, distracting... I finished the book, just to find out what happened it happens in the end.. waste of credit

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst book yet

Unrealistic, inconsistent, waste of money. I wouldn’t have finished it had I gotten it for free.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Victoria
  • ST LOUIS PARK, MN, United States
  • 08-12-19

Just Dont.

This book is sssssoooooo ssssslllllooooowwwwww!!! The big "plot twist" that everyone talks about I predicted 100 pages earlier. The entire actual storyline fills about 30 pages. The rest is all the main character talking to herself like she's bi-polar. There are very few books I would ever right a negative review about, but this is one I felt I had to. I really hated it. I wish I had those 10.5 hours and my money back!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring!

I never listened to such a long story with so little happening until the last hour. This story could’ve been told in 20 minutes. One of the worst I have ever heard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5 star slow burn suspense

One of the best suspense novels I have read in years. Richly imagined with complex characters. I loved this book from the
very beginning.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terribly slow pace

I could hardly keep reading— almost no developments for over half the book. Eventually it comes to an end in a fairly unexciting way. I am sorry I purchased it and very sorry to have wasted my time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful