We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Widow Audiobook

The Widow

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen...

But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore.

There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment.

Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

The truth - that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything....

List of readers:

  • The Mother read by Jayne Entwistle
  • The Detective read by Nicholas Guy Smith
  • The Widow read by Hannah Curtis
  • The Husband read by Steve West
  • The Reporter read by Mandy Williams

©2016 Fiona Barton (P)2016 Penguin Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (3674 )
5 star
 (1331)
4 star
 (1425)
3 star
 (689)
2 star
 (164)
1 star
 (65)
Overall
3.9 (3280 )
5 star
 (1123)
4 star
 (1170)
3 star
 (688)
2 star
 (207)
1 star
 (92)
Story
4.4 (3282 )
5 star
 (1885)
4 star
 (999)
3 star
 (319)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (33)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    CR 02-18-16
    CR 02-18-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    112
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disturbing but very good."

    The story was original but the subject matter could be upsetting to some. Still, it was presented tastefully without unnecessary gory details. It was realistic and gave me a lot to think about. The performances were spot on. Overall I do recommend this book, but not to somehow who would be sensitive to hard topics (I don't want to give too much away). It was worth a credit.

    48 of 49 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melissa F 02-18-16
    Melissa F 02-18-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    51
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    106
    25
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Chilling"

    Great book! Very dark though.... I think it's a good thing to listen rather than read because you may not understand the British slag as well if reading.

    24 of 25 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Scott 02-25-16
    Scott 02-25-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    93
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    110
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "'Thriller' Without Any Thrills"

    Don't be fooled by any comparisons to 'Gone Girl' or 'The Girl on the Train' ... This is more of a slow-burn introspection into some profoundly disturbing psychosis, which is good at times, but nothing very innovative. I kept waiting for a twist that never came, unless you count a fairly obvious detail about a certain character's death that you can see coming from a mile away. As such, not what I'd call a "thriller."

    Also, the detective narratives in the middle of the story are laughably outdated. The police are baffled by how chat rooms work. The fact that chat rooms and Internet porn needs to be explained to them/us goes to show how crummy they are at their job, and the author's lackluster results.

    60 of 65 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Natascha George 02-26-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great use of multiple narrators"

    While many books try to split chapters among different point of view characters, few do it successfully. The audio version succeeds by using multiple narrators.

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lila 05-04-16
    Lila 05-04-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    180
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not Very Thrilling... Only Very Tragic..."

    I imagine the people who thought this book was a good thriller do not listen/read many books. The "twist" is very obvious from the beginning of the book, and in my mind, there really wasn't any twist (or mystery or thrill) at all. There are, however, many twisted, messed up, disgusting characters, and enough of a good-paced story to have kept my interest in listening. Ultimately this is a very sad story, and although you probably won't cry, I feel it is much more tragic than thrilling. As other reviewers remarked on, it was laughable how the police were portrayed to have absolutely no knowledge of how criminals use the internet and how to perform an investigation using the internet. The rookie investigator that was "just out of University" had to explain to the lead investigator the very basics, and they went about their operation like it had never been done before by anyone. I actually rolled my eyes in some parts.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    6catz 02-26-16
    6catz 02-26-16 Member Since 2008

    I have to admit that I'm a total Audible junkie. MUST have book going at all times. I may be the subject of a family intervention someday.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    764
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    583
    196
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    84
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great cast of readers"
    Any additional comments?

    Well written and very well read. Not the most thrilling thriller but builds atmosphere and does keep you guessing. Pretty good overall.

    16 of 18 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Taryn Suffern, NY, United States 04-12-16
    Taryn Suffern, NY, United States 04-12-16 Member Since 2006

    Addicted to Audible!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2204
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    404
    232
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    486
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Kept my attention"

    This was one of those stories that kept me listening but after it was over I couldn't tell you much about it. It was not terribly original and not really exciting. However, I kept listening and waiting to see what the ending would be. So for that reason if you cant find anything else you want to listen to, its not bad.However, there are probably some better options to spend your credits on!

    27 of 31 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paula Overland Park, KS USA 07-11-16
    Paula Overland Park, KS USA 07-11-16 Member Since 2012

    Enjoying one good listen after the next!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2004
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    847
    309
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    337
    23
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disturbing, Chilling Unforgettable Pageturner!!"

    This story will chill you to the bone and leave you wondering about your sanity -- as you won't be able to put it down after you get about 30 minutes into it. First -- the narration was just fantastic. Several narrators were used and each gave a perfect performance for the character they represented in the book. As for the story -- it was more suspenseful that I could have imagined and kept me engaged throughout. I don't want to spoil this one for anyone -- so I'll just say it is a disturbing story told from the perspective of a widow, a police inspector, a newspaper reporter and a perverted, dead husband. It will give you chills about what is out there on the internet and shake you to the core with regard to the danger young children face in a world where deviants and child molesters encourage each other in chat rooms. The subject matter of "The Widow" isn't for everyone and the psycho-suspense will stay with you long into the night, so buyer beware of this five-star listen.

    10 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele R. Oneill New England, USA 02-23-16
    Michele R. Oneill New England, USA 02-23-16 Member Since 2016

    BrooklynMichele44

    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Suspenseful drama; thoughtful resolution"

    Having recently finished "The Girl on the Train" and "The Double Bind", I wanted something in the same vein, and "The Widow" didn't disappoint. Told from various points of view read by different narrators to keep them distinct while listening, the book lends itself well to audio. It kept me guessing about the direction it would take, and I found that I was looking forward to times when I could listen so as to finish the narrative. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys suspenseful thrillers.

    15 of 17 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Susan C UK 05-04-16
    Susan C UK 05-04-16 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    128
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow moving and a bit dull"

    Interesting but took a long time to get going and never really got that gripping. The constant jumping about of timeline and perspective was quite annoying. Cast were good but the way it was done meant that the same characters had different voices in each chapter which is very distracting.
    Not bad but not particularly engaging.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.