Regular price: $28.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In this twisted debut thriller, a reclusive author sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer - but is he really the killer?

For 11 years, best-selling author Linda Conrads has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister - who she discovered in a pool of blood - and the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene, Linda's hermit existence helps her cope with debilitating anxiety. But the sanctity of her oasis is shattered when she sees her sister's murderer on television.

Hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use the plot of her next novel to lay an irresistible trap for the man. As the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories - and her very sanity - are called into question. Is this man a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

©2016 Melanie Raabe (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A fast, twisty read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn." ( Booklist)
"Intricately constructed...nicely done twists and turns." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"A superb psychological thriller with a storyline that will have you hooked. Not suitable for sensitive constitutions." [ AR (Spain)]

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    74
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    12
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • Colorado Springs
  • 07-07-16

Clever & Character-Driven, but No Empathy 4 Linda.

My favorite stories are character-driven and this book certainly is. Unfortunately, though, Linda - the protagonist - doesn't inspire the kind of empathy and compassion that I should feel for a woman in her place. There was a time in my past when I struggled with severe panic attacks which made it impossible for me leave my home for a few weeks. That overwhelming fear of the outside world is something I can never forget. And, yet, Linda's fear isn't enough to trigger those memories or to arouse sympathy. The book tells us of her many years of self-imposed house-arrest but it doesn't show us the emotions behind it. I heard the story without feeling it. I fully expected for this story to make me think and feel long after it ended. Instead I was ready to end the book a full three chapters before it ended. So the best I can give it is 2 stars.

Julie Teal does a decent job with what she is given. She voices Linda and Lenson with such differences that there is never any confusion about who is speaking. I am not able to say that she voices the fear and anxiety well enough -- but I believe that is more about the words on the page than on her ability to voice the feelings.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

a bit overwrought for my taste

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

No. I prefer a direct, simple writing style. This seemed to me to be unnecessarily convoluted.

Would you be willing to try another book from Melanie Raabe and Imogen Taylor - translator ? Why or why not?

No. The translator seems fine. The writing, as I said, was not my cup of tea. I found myself fast forwarding through whole chapters. I never developed any feelings but annoyance toward any of the characters except the fictional police detective.

Have you listened to any of Julie Teal’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Not that I am aware of. She seemed a talented performer.

Did The Trap inspire you to do anything?

No

Any additional comments?

None

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertaining Read

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

The story inside the story as a way to let us know what happened was well done!

What did you like best about this story?

The way the story was laid out made it clear that something would be revealed about the murder, but the suspense was done in a way that you were never quite sure how it would play out!

Any additional comments?

Like the main character who authored a different kind of book in the story, this novel was a different kind of story than I normally listen to. It was entertaining and I kept wanting to go back to it - not like the edge of my seat suspense, but just entertaining to listen to and the overall story development.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Noah
  • Ringle, WI, United States
  • 07-19-16

Fairly weak for a suspense novel.

Starts slow and pretty much stays that way. Character depth outside of the main character was well below expectations. I wouldn't recommend it over all. This one fits into the bottom 25% of books I've listened to on audible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I felt trapped

Narration seemed to be too melodramatic at times. Very repetitive dialog. Very disappointed. Want my credit back!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Interminable

I thought it would never end. Could have been half the length. Needed an actual editor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • EBONEE
  • WINDSOR MILL, MD, United States
  • 07-11-16

could have been longer

the story line was good but could have Been dragged out longer. the second part was rushed out . great performance tho.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whew

What a ride! This well written well presented book is everything I love about books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

fun beach read - can skip bits & still understand

book was interesting, pay attention, buy you'll get the story even if you don't pay attention. some part are confusing, I skipped some bits and still didn't miss a thing. good beach read, will read another book from the same author......

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The Forever Going Maze

I struggled to finish this novel
It definitely had too many highs and lows.
The am I crazy as a bat or smart as a cat ?
Really come on ? I was feeling trapped listening to this.
..Good Try but pass by the trap I'd rather read something from Dr. Seuss?
The Narrator's voice is the only thing that pulled me to the end of the novel.
If I didn't turn books back in so much that are horrible. .......
I would have turned it back in for my credit
however to be fair I did finish the entire book thanks to the narrator not to the writer.
Author DeAnn DeVille review.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful