We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Killing Hour Audiobook

The Killing Hour

Regular Price:$31.93
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.

©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

What the Critics Say

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (1076 )
5 star
 (539)
4 star
 (344)
3 star
 (136)
2 star
 (36)
1 star
 (21)
Overall
4.4 (711 )
5 star
 (426)
4 star
 (190)
3 star
 (70)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (8)
Story
4.2 (717 )
5 star
 (393)
4 star
 (192)
3 star
 (77)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (30)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Roger Charlotte, NC, USA 04-11-05
    Roger Charlotte, NC, USA 04-11-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    35
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent!!"

    This is a real thriller and I recommend it highly! As others are saying, I listened to this book every chance I got! I'm looking into her other books now.

    9 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Baker 05-09-12
    Baker 05-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the author...am not enjoying the narrator!"

    As I write this, I am trying to get through the rest of the book (about 1/2 way through). I am not enjoying the narrator, not at all. It pains me to say it because I'm sure she tried hard to capture the essence of each character by changing her voice, however, it's really falling short of my expectations.

    I've been listening to Lisa's books for the past 2 months (listened to the entire D. D. Warren series-which were excellent!) but for this one, I am s-t-r-u-g-g-l-i-n-g and I am not certain I will be able to finish it.

    Something for you to consider if you are thinking of downloading this book.







    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brooke Smyrna, GA, United States 03-13-12
    Brooke Smyrna, GA, United States 03-13-12 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The narrator was UNBAREABLE!"
    Any additional comments?

    The narrators attempts to do the male voices were laughable. I wish I had listened to the sample before I purchased the book. I would not have purchased it. I honestly don't even want to finish listening and I'm not even half way through.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Victoria Belcamp, MD, United States 06-26-11
    Victoria Belcamp, MD, United States 06-26-11 Member Since 2016

    Vicki

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A good book, but..."

    The story is good, it held my interest pretty much throughout. The ending was unnecessarily long. BUT the narrator was just horrible. She pronounced words incorrectly and every male voice she tried to pull off sounded like a dirty old man. She really ruined the book for me!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Hope McLeansville, NC, United States 04-01-11
    Hope McLeansville, NC, United States 04-01-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not my favorite audio experience"

    I have listened to dozens of audible books, I listen almost every day. This narrator is so dry I found it hard to pay attention to what was happening. Gardner is one of my favorite authors and this is a strong story, but the I would not listen to a book by this narrator again. It's too bad.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Becky Mt. Pleasant, SC, United States 10-02-10
    Becky Mt. Pleasant, SC, United States 10-02-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Could be better"

    I am trying to get through this book. I love Lisa Gardner's other books, but the narrator is TERRIBLE!!! I just don't understand how this woman got the job reading it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Brandy Ewa Beach, HI, USA 05-19-05
    Brandy Ewa Beach, HI, USA 05-19-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "GREAT READ!!!"

    This is a really great thriller! It keeps you wanting to read. The characters are likable and believable and the story is creative. I really liked this book and listend to it every chance I got - finished in 1 week driving back and forth to work.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles Atkinson Greensboro, NC, United States 03-08-17
    Charles Atkinson Greensboro, NC, United States 03-08-17 Member Since 2015

    Dept Q, Harry Hole... where are you?

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5724
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    757
    480
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1721
    23
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This One Deserves A Better Narrator"

    To be fair to Anna Fields, she really is a good narrator. However, though the central character is female, there are a great many prominant male characters. Anna has a low voice, but I just couldnt get used to her male voice.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linda 02-02-14
    Linda 02-02-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    78
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "bored bored"
    What would have made The Killing Hour better?

    Don't know I didn't like the book at all one of her worst that I have bought I want my back


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Anna Fields?

    Don't know but she was the same tone through the hole book!


    What character would you cut from The Killing Hour?

    All


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ross Taylor 05-04-05
    Ross Taylor 05-04-05 Listener Since 2001
    HELPFUL VOTES
    78
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Part mystery / part romance novel / part silly..."

    If you're expecting a "pure" mystery novel, this is not the book for you. I found myself talking out loud - things like, "you've got to be kidding" or "oh, come on." The main character is whiney, the situations are strained, and the author leaves out important facts until it suits her to drop them on you. I much prefer a mystery that doesn't play games and doesn't try to incorporate the Harlequin Romance twist.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.