Regular price: $31.93

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.
©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc.; (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

Critic Reviews

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    636
  • 4 Stars
    378
  • 3 Stars
    149
  • 2 Stars
    39
  • 1 Stars
    22

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    471
  • 4 Stars
    227
  • 3 Stars
    97
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    31

Story

  • 4.4 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    518
  • 4 Stars
    222
  • 3 Stars
    81
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Lin
  • Rochester, NY, USA
  • 04-24-05

WOW!

This author has become one of my favorites. I cannot put her books down! She does her research. She knows how to write a good story and keep the reader on the chair's edge waiting for more.!
You will enjoy this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

What a waste of time and money

First of all the narrator is really bad, her pathetic attempts in voice changes make them sound like cartoon characters instead of humans and does not help the already week and predictable story, her voice is annoying and whining. You try to like the characters but you can't because they lacked depth or continuity, by far this is the worse book I have ever read. I will not pick anything from this author or the narrator ever again. It was BAD, BAD, BAD !!!!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Jesse
  • Ashtabula, OH, USA
  • 05-01-06

Great story

This is my first experience with this writer. I will definitely purchase additional titles. Her style and presentation made me want to continue to listen, even when it was time to put the book down for meals and other IMPORTANT business.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • John
  • Roswell, GA, United States
  • 05-03-05

Amateurish Plotting

This did keep me coming back for more in spite of the poor research, implausible plotting, and an unimaginative ending. Gardner gets a bit wrapped up in trying to induce twists and, like many wannabe suspense writers, she ends up ruining what could have been a really good yarn. There's just no way her detectives could be that dumb! For example, they're in Richmond, VA and they need an expert botanist. Unfortunately, the nearest government expert is two hours away. These dolts, supposedly an experienced detective and an FBI novitiate, don't think to check with the local university! There are far too many plot weaknesses like this to make the book really enjoyable. I'd recommend you look elsewhere for your thrills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Kenneth
  • Minnetonka, MN, USA
  • 04-28-05

Cliffhanger...NOT!

Perhaps I've been spoiled my the last (3) books I've listened to, as I found "The Killing Hour" to be only moderately interesting. I fought my way through it while on the treadmill and even then I felt there was too much 'filler'. Maybe okay for a very long car trip.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

woman hero is way too whiny.

woman hero is way too whiny. She is the stereotype of women. The male hero is het savior and, of course, his goal is to have sex. could be a much better story with s strong woman heroine and a man who isn't always in heat. No wonder men and women see each other in such negative ways.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

good!

I did like the reader but I love the storyline and can't wait to listen to the next book

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

I couldn't finish

This book was so unrealistic that I couldn't even make it half way through. The plot and characters were unbelievable. I couldn't take it seriously.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointed

Would you try another book from Lisa Gardner and/or Anna Fields?

I have loved books by Lisa Gardner, both written an recorded however, I did not like the writing nor the narration of this book. It was a great disappointment. Perhaps I would like it in written form.

What could Lisa Gardner have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

The writing seemed juvenile and disjointed.

How did the narrator detract from the book?

I did not care for the narrators voice nor delivery.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Doubtful

Any additional comments?

Perhaps I have read and listened to books by Lisa Gardner that were written after she had matured and perfected her art. This was not what I have come to expect from her.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great read!

Great read. At first it moves slowly,but soon picks up. Looking forward to the next book.