Regular price: $28.51

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Anne Hillerman, the talented daughter of best-selling author Tony Hillerman, continues his popular Leaphorn and Chee series with Spider Woman's Daughter, a Navajo Country mystery, filled with captivating lore, startling suspense, bold new characters, vivid color, and rich Southwestern atmosphere.

Navajo Nation Police Officer Bernadette Manualito witnesses the cold-blooded shooting of someone very close to her. With the victim fighting for his life, the entire squad and the local FBI office are hell-bent on catching the gunman. Bernie, too, wants in on the investigation, despite regulations forbidding eyewitness involvement. But that doesn't mean she's going to sit idly by, especially when her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, is in charge of finding the shooter.

Bernie and Chee discover that a cold case involving his former boss and partner, retired Inspector Joe Leaphorn, may hold the key. Digging into the old investigation, husband and wife find themselves inching closer to the truth...and closer to a killer determined to prevent justice from taking its course.

©2013 Anne Hillerman (P)2013 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    190
  • 3 Stars
    72
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    11

Performance

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    248
  • 4 Stars
    135
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    38
  • 1 Stars
    23

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    254
  • 4 Stars
    163
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    10
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Like father, like daughter.

Christina's a talented writer like her father. Good plot - it kept me guessing until the last few chapters. If you like Tony Hiller man's novels, you'll love this. The reader was great - the way she gave each character a voice was wonderful.

  • Overall

Excellent Narrator

I haven't enjoyed a book so much in ages! Christina Delaine's cast of character voices was like listening in on a movie when I couldn't see the screen. Her Navajo dialect was perfect. 👍

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Alive in the Southwest

This story has the simplicity and modesty of those who live a good life and the suspense of their interface with evil. Like her father, A.H. clearly communicates the beauty of the Southwest as seen in it's people and the place. l felt as if I were there.

  • Overall

A real show stopper!

This book had me engaged for the whole day! Intricate plot, surprise opening, edge of your seat from beginning to end. Lots of humor; juxtaposed against serious subject matter. I crave more like this!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good, Solid Mystery!

What did you love best about Spider Woman's Daughter?

The Legendary Lieutenant I was so concerned he would succumb to his wound. The suspect was so hard to track down.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Spider Woman's Daughter?

The beginning of the book grabbed me and didn't go until the last page.

Which scene was your favorite?

In the burning storeroom. The twist in the escape was cleverly written.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Navaho police thriller!

  • Overall
  • Story

Spiderwomans Daughter

couldn't wait to find out the killer,supenseful,kept you thinking along with story,loved it & was glad Leap horn survived.

  • Overall

Great...Thought I was hearing a Tony novel...just as good. The dad would be.proud of the daughter.

Must read for Hillerman fans...probably as good as the father's work. Very well written and suspenseful. Ordering the next one now!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An acceptable continuing of her father's work

I have written before about my (going on thirty-years now) love of Tony Hillerman's Navajo mysteries. Tony Hillerman wrote eighteen books about Navajo detectives Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, before he passed away in 2008, and I read every one of them.

So I was reaaaaally skeptical about his daughter picking up his pen and continuing the series. Kids of famous authors who pick up their old man's work and continue it (e.g., Brian Herbert and Christopher Tolkien) often seem to be milking a cash cow rather than giving homage to their father's legacy.

But, I had too many years invested in Leaphorn and Chee not to at least give their new adventure a try.

Right away, in the opening chapter, Leaphorn gets shot. (Yeah, the blurb above plays cagey about who it is who gets shot, but come on, it's on page 3!) So I'm wondering just how big Anne's balls are - is she going to kill off her father's main character in her first book?

Leaphorn spends most of the book in the hospital, leaving his younger (not so young now) protege Jim Chee and his wife Bernadette Manualito as the main characters, which was pretty much the pattern of Tony's last few books. Bernadette, who was introduced relatively late in the series but took on an increasingly large role in the last few books, is the chief protagonist here, as she does most of the legwork, with the subplots mostly involving her family troubles and her relationship with Jim Chee. There were a lot of things that struck me about this book as stereotypically "female author," but not in a bad way, just that it was clearly more centered on feminine characters and concerns.

The actual detective work was fairly routine, and the writing was on a par with her father's last few books (which, frankly, were not his best). Anne Hillerman seems to be trying not to diverge too far from her father's style, and if I hadn't known it was her daughter writing this one, I might have believed that Tony had written one more book that was published posthumously, with clear signs that it had been rough and in need of some revision. But still a satisfying enough read for fans of Leaphorn and Chee.

I can't say I have the same enthusiasm about one of my favorite series, which was already long in the tooth and showing its age, now that it's being continued by the original author's daughter, but she did a serviceable job with her first attempt, certainly nothing that disgraces her father's legacy, and I will probably keep reading the books she puts out, unless she screws them up terribly.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

loved it!

so accurate on places and tradition
Anne follows in her father's footsteps well - his job!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A FINE CONTINUATION OF THE SERIES

If you could sum up Spider Woman's Daughter in three words, what would they be?

INFORMATIVE, ENTERTAINING, LOYALTY

What did you like best about this story?

The respect the young officers had for the now old cop who was a friend and mentor.

Which scene was your favorite?

Bernadette's devotion to her "new" husband.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

No extreme reaction, but an enjoyable, entertaining story.