Regular price: $38.47

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Introducing Wyoming's Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times best-selling author of Dry Bones, the first in the Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix original series Longmire.

Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times best-selling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, full of memorable characters. After 25 years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

Listen to all of Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire mysteries.
©2004 Craig Johnson (P)2006 Recorded Books LLC

Critic Reviews

"A strong sense of place, a credible plot, and deft dialogue lift Johnson's good-humored debut novel." (Publishers Weekly)
"Johnson, who lives in Ucross, Wyoming, knows the Western landscape well, and creates stunning and violent scenes of the Rocky Mountains." (Bookmarks)
"We in the West have a major new talent on our hands." (The Denver Post)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7,111
  • 4 Stars
    2,916
  • 3 Stars
    837
  • 2 Stars
    192
  • 1 Stars
    142

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7,298
  • 4 Stars
    1,784
  • 3 Stars
    401
  • 2 Stars
    116
  • 1 Stars
    86

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6,135
  • 4 Stars
    2,510
  • 3 Stars
    740
  • 2 Stars
    161
  • 1 Stars
    115
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not Your Ordinary Western Novel (Series)

This is the first book in a very good series. I can not add much to the many reviews already posted but what impressed me the most was how descriptive this author is for both the characters and the environment. Like "Fargo", the cold just seems to seep into you as you listen. Have a sweater close by even if it is summer. The characters sparkle in depth and breadth and are not always what they seem to be. Read this first one and I wager you will read them all.
If this review was helpful, please let me know. Cheers!

223 of 228 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Send more dishes please!!!

A very well written book with superior narration. The author takes you into the troubled life of a rural county sheriff in Wyoming. By the end of the book the area seems like home and most of the characters seem like old friends you don't want to leave. Well designed plot, but the journey 90% of the enjoyment. Buy, read & enjoy! This book is a can't miss.

109 of 115 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!!!

Oh Lord, Please don't let anything happen to George Guidall. Keep him safe for all who listen to his wonderful narration of the Walt Longmire Mystery series. He brings it to life. I was waiting in an office recently while listening to his narration of "Cold Dish" and suddenly barked out a laugh I couldn't control. All heads turned my way, and I apologized and stated it was an audible book I was listening to. Smiles all around. The series by Craig Johnson is as wonderful as the narration. Thank you audible.com for much enjoyment!

94 of 101 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Cold Dish

I have downloaded hundreds of things from Audible over several years. This is among my favorites. The narrator is excellent. The characters are believable. The plot is believable, but not obvious. I recommend it.

124 of 134 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Liked The Cold Dish, but...

There is so much I liked about this story. The characters are well developed, realistic and appealing. The plot had a good share of twists and turns and who-done-it suspense. I couldn't wait to reach the conclusion, yet didn't want the story to end. The narrator voiced the characters well. All good things, right? My only disappointment, and I felt it throughout, was that the story did not flow. It seemed to drag. The percentage of story devoted to action was too small. Descriptions and explanations took up much of this book. While listening, I often thought, "Get on with the story!" It was hard to tell if the problem was with the leisurely narration or the author's style or both. Sometimes I felt so frustrated that I skipped ahead. I even dozed off while listening--more than once. Even so, I did love the characters and want to read/hear more about them. I hope sequels will move at a quicker pace.

41 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Carole T.
  • Shepherdstown, WV, United States
  • 11-13-12

How Did I Miss This Series?

So glad Audible listeners put me on to this one! Somehow I had missed the Longmire series. George Guidall brings the perfect raspy voice and wry humor to make these characters come alive. Just a great listen!

30 of 33 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NOKWISA
  • Garland, Texas, United States
  • 06-14-12

Thoughly Enjoyable

Great story telling. With Mr. G doing the narration this more like sitting around the fire on a cold winter night with a great story teller. I really enjoyed all the characters in this book. Walt's relationships with each one is unique, but the bond between Walt and Bear is outstanding. Loved the voices Mr. G uses for Walt and Bear. Having been in or at least through many places spoken of in the book was really fun for me. Love Bear's Rez Rocket. In this series you will get a good picture of what life IS really like on reservations with a murder mystery thrown in for good measure. Oh BTW, be prepared to laugh out loud at the barbs these characters throw at each other. Just totally enjoyable.

26 of 29 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Dave Robicheaux in Wyoming

Perfect narration, as ever, from George Guidall.

As Walt Longmire struggles with grief, alcohol and a police force that's either competent and irascible or neither, he somehow rises. He links with his community, Indian mysticism and long-hidden secrets to figure out who's killing some young men who richly deserve it.

Walt has credible relationships and shortcomings even as he's brave and relentless on the way to saving a friend and finding a killer. I was sad to see it end.

66 of 75 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Juanita
  • Whitehall, Virgin Islands (U.S.)
  • 08-06-07

Great Read!

Johnson writes on a par with Pat Conroy...(Beach Music). He does his homework ... he is authoritative whether talking about fly fishing, Wyoming, Medical injuries, wine, firearms, or forensic matters.... His descriptions of scenes and characters are vivid. It is not the story but the storytelling that makes this book remarkable. I have just bought his next two in the series and can't wait to start them.

27 of 31 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my fave Walt story

Thankfully, I had already read more of the books in the series before this first one.

Not my favorite book in this series, whatsoever. I found it to be hard to get into, then once I was hooked, it was easy to lose interest. And the ending just didn't suit me.

Still love Craig Johnson's Longmire series.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful