Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. A little girl in terrible danger.

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die.

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer's new series today.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    546
  • 4 Stars
    370
  • 3 Stars
    167
  • 2 Stars
    42
  • 1 Stars
    24

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    574
  • 4 Stars
    291
  • 3 Stars
    133
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    21

Story

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    503
  • 4 Stars
    324
  • 3 Stars
    159
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    19
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Laborious story and less than stellar narration

I don't often write a bad review but we all know that a good narration can make a bad book better. Unfortunately, in this case, we have a poor narration making a mediocre and rather implausible story, well, mediocre. I really struggled with Emma Wyman's high pitch delivery, unusual intonation and unconvincing character voices hard to listen to, and the story felt improbable and laboured.

41 of 41 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disturbing subject matter

I had to stop listening. Be warned this is about a child molester. It was just too disturbing to continue listening to.

110 of 113 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Little Girl Lost

I tried very hard to like this book but wasn't successful. The narrator had an accent that was irritating and she seemed as bored and detached as I was. I was disappointed with the story line as well. After 2 dreadful chapters I had to shut it off to save my sanity. There was NOTHING going on except her voice going on and on and on

31 of 32 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Kept me listening for hours.

The reason for the 4 star overall review is because I think the listeners can do without the disgusting details given during the child molestation. That's too far in my book. That aside it was an amazing book.

41 of 43 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

meh…

This story was OK.
The narrator needs to learn how to take a pause -- especially at the end of chapters! As a result, sometimes I had no idea where we were, who was talking, what was happening and to whom!
I predicted the ending (an ironic statement after my third sentence)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall

Very intriguing

this book held my interest and I swore I knew what was going to happen and it did not happen the way I thought at all. Great book.
Con: it was graphic as someone who has been abused I felt it very difficult to get through the beginning. I didn't read the synopsis I just put it on to keep me company on a long road trip. I did enjoy the book though.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Spoiled by narration

This is a well plotted novel - no real mystery, it's takes very little time to determine who is the culprit - but storylines are woven together well. However, I will not continue with this series as the narration is too stilted and wooden - which spoiled the book for me.

42 of 45 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Best Mystery I Have Read in a While

This story was really good. I read/ listen to a lot of suspense and mystery books and this one really kept me on my toes, trying to figure out who the killer was. I usually figure it out very quickly but this one kept me guessing almost until the end, when the author revealed it. i liked the protagonist, Robin because she was not one of the female cops ususally portrayed in books and movies as super tough and sarcastic with a chip on their shoulder. I will definitely look forward to the next book in the series!

18 of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Annoying Self flogging character

Very interesting twist on murder mystery. Was a little bit hard to keep up with characters and their names. The character that I dislike the most was the baby's mother-not quite sure about her name is now-continually whined about it was all her fault and she was so sorry sorry sorry sorry. That got a little annoying. Otherwise like the detective and liked her relationship with her cousin.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Lia
  • Sutton, Australia
  • 11-01-17

Repetitive And Predicable

The reviews and premise of the book were interesting.
The guessing and suspecting everyone were OK. But the story way too long, 8 hours max would have been appropriate. There was over and over again reiteration. I actually skipped from paragraph 33 to 63 and did not miss out on the story line. The narrator was extremely annoying particularly while portraying the hysterical mother.
The child abuse was a bit too gratuitous in it's description, in my opinion -not a good thing these days. Too bad, the book could have been so much better without the rambling, the clues not being connected by the detective or mother and the lack of imbuing feelings for the main characters.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Frances Murphy
  • 02-10-18

terrible narrator. nearly gave up several times.

story improved, no thanks to narrator. I did work out who had done it some time before the end.

  • Overall
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-10-18

S very good read

Enjoyed this slot kept you on the edge of your seat managed to work it out near the end

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • J.J & G Robson
  • 12-30-17

Good story but totally ruined by the narration

So sad for this author - narration was a disaster, Amelia sounded like a young Lady Bracknell & Jackson a sulky schoolboy & PLEASE Audible stop the current rot of turning the indefinite article 'a' into 'ay' - ay hay cart ???

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sharon
  • 12-13-17

Gripping from start to finish!

What a gripping story and written really well. Had me hooked from start to finish I couldn’t switch it off!! Can’t wait to read all 4 books by this brilliant author!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Roach
  • 08-14-17

Very gripping book from the first line !

great book really enjoyed the narrative. gripping til the very end . great listen !

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Loony loo
  • 07-04-17

Not for me!

Too predictable for me I'm afraid and the narration was just strange, over emphasised and like a book read by Eliza from My Fair Lady...

  • Overall
  • marie lee
  • 06-06-17

Robotic Narration

I am still trying to listen to this book but the narrator is so monotonous and robotic that I may have to revert to the written word instead. That is the only reason I have given it three stars.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-19-17

gripping <br />

good storyline with twists and turns on the way to the killer. a good buy...

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Pamela
  • 05-07-17

I didn't want to stop listening

What an intriguing story, characters were so believable in this current day of disjointed families and relationships. Can't wait for the next one; obviously written by a lady who has led an interesting life to be knowledgeable about so many facets of life.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Sally
  • 02-20-17

Good story - narration not so good

Story line is great leading you to think you know who is tormenting Abigail and then twists to another

Narration is not too good and doesn't reflect the suspense of the storyline which is a shame - too slow and no emotion

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Angela
  • 09-29-17

Good Audiobook Awful Narrator

Good story but difficult to enjoy the reading. The narrator has an atrocious robotic style lacking expression. I won't buy the next in the series if it is read by the same person. It made it hard going

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Audiobookjms
  • 09-01-17

great book

lots of twists and turns. Great first book of a series. 5 out of 5 from me

  • Overall
  • diane
  • 07-15-17

A great read

I really enjoyed this book plus a few twists and turns which made a good read

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • JENNIFER
  • 06-30-17

Loved it

Good story line. kept me guessing. Good characters. Good that the killer had a voice & perspective.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Liarne
  • 05-30-17

Going from one person to the next

A tad confusing but a good story with s great ending. I found you really needed to pay attention or you forgot different characters and there are a lot of characters. Not sure I'll be rushing to get the next book in the series though