We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Brainrush, a Thriller Audiobook

Brainrush, a Thriller: Book 1

Regular Price:$23.08
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Listed in The Wall Street Journal as the number-one Bestselling Action/Adventure in their "Readers Guide to Self-Published Big Sellers" (December 9, 2011).

When terminally ill combat pilot Jake Bronson emerges from an MRI with extraordinary cognitive powers, everyone wants a piece of his talent - including Battista, one of the world's most dangerous terrorists. To save his love and her autistic child, Jake is thrust into a deadly chase that leads from the canals of Venice through Monte Carlo and finally to an ancient cavern in the Hindu Kush Mountains of Afghanistan, where Jake discovers that his newfound talents carry a hidden price that threatens the entire human race.

An original weave of current events bound by colorful locations and cutting-edge technology, Bard's novel is a must-listen for fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Clive Cussler, and Brad Thor. A dynamic mix of fast-paced action and thought provoking soul, this book challenges the listener to keep pace with every sharp turn and shocking twist. Acclaimed by fans of action, sci-fi, and political thrillers alike, Brainrush is one of the most innovative and entertaining books of the year.

Brainrush was in the top 10 of the Amazon - USA Top-Rated List for over four months straight. The sequel, Brainrush II, The Enemy of My Enemy, was released in December 2011 to rave reviews. Within a few weeks it became the number-one Top-Rated Action/Adventure stories on Amazon.

©2009, 2011 Richard A. Bard (P)2011 Richard Bard

What the Critics Say

"Brainrush explores the bonds of friendship while pushing the boundaries of science, creating a compelling, action-packed thriller with a climax that's a knock-out!" (C.J. Lyons, New York Times best-selling author)
"A terrifically entertaining thriller with three finely executed set pieces strung together with nice characterization. Especially successful is Bronson, an amiable, low-key tough guy able to rescue his princess, survive brutality, and retain a sense of humor." (Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (943 )
5 star
 (360)
4 star
 (332)
3 star
 (151)
2 star
 (53)
1 star
 (47)
Overall
3.9 (841 )
5 star
 (314)
4 star
 (290)
3 star
 (148)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (42)
Story
4.3 (835 )
5 star
 (420)
4 star
 (271)
3 star
 (105)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (19)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    William 09-07-15
    William 09-07-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting plot twists"

    The story has nice plot surprises that keeps you guessing most of the time, which makes for a good read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joshua Kring 07-24-15 Member Since 2017

    The least helpful reviewer on audible.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    347
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    108
    107
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brainrush"

    A 4 star rating might be a little bit generous for this book. I went back and forth with how I felt about it, but I'll stick with 4 stars and if I get around to listening to the sequels I'll be tougher on them.

    Would I recommend this book to anyone? Well, that depends. If you are like me and have the time, the financial means and the inclination to listen to several audio books a month then, sure, pick this up and give it a try. However, if the time and money you have is more limited and you only want to hear the very best audio books then I'd tell you to skip this.

    The plot to this story is great. The execution of this story is lacking quite a bit. It seems as if Mr. Bard wanted to write something people would call "fast paced" when I think that the subject matter and storyline really demanded that it be slowed down and carefully fleshed out. As it stands, the characters are often acting in strange ways to keep the story moving. They except things way too quickly and there emotions are either too extreme or not extreme enough. The dialogue is often weird as well. Plus, the science behind the science fiction is nearly nonexistent.

    I realize that there are millions of people who love "fast paced thriller" novels, and I'm not belittling that. I guess I'm just realizing that I'm not one of those people. To me it just feels lazy when you have a great idea that makes an awesome premise for a novel and you don't take the time to do it right.

    At the end of the day I was entertained by this book. That's why I give it 4 stars. There were quite a few elements in it that had me thinking, "yeah that would be really cool." But it's a begrudging 4 star rating because I did a lot of eye rolling as well.

    R. C. Bray does a stellar job as always. He's the main reason I finally bought this book, and he's a large part of what made it entertaining. I think I could listen to him read sterio instructions.

    I have other silly opinions posted at unhelpfulreviews dot com for those of you who aren't depressed enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    dragonfly 05-04-15
    dragonfly 05-04-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    11
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "On the edge of my seat!"

    This was an excellently written story that kept me on the edge of my seat. I missed out on sleep trying to listen and finish the book. The narrator was captivating and even managed to speak the female parts without sounding ridiculous. I can't wait to begin the next book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Momtastic Wilmington, DE United States 04-03-15
    Momtastic Wilmington, DE United States 04-03-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Finished but..."

    I finished this book and it was ok. There was no shocking twist or climax. Overall I would not recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jordan 01-19-15
    Jordan 01-19-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story, strange ending."

    Best reader I've ever heard. Story was filled with action very fast paced and great detail. Just didn't expect the weird ending, it didn't feel like it fit with the rest of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Heather Turiello Overland Park, KS USA 10-12-13
    Heather Turiello Overland Park, KS USA 10-12-13 Member Since 2008

    I'm a voracious audiobook listener, rarely found without my iPod.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Meh."
    Any additional comments?

    This story had so much potential and just kept missing the mark. If you're looking for a great airplane or beach read/thriller, this is your book. But if you're looking for a Clive Cussler or Dan Brown thriller, this is a bit of a disappointment. There are just too many improbabilities and the execution was silly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Penzes Diamond Bar, CA 09-10-13
    J. Penzes Diamond Bar, CA 09-10-13 Listener Since 2008
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Action Adventure"
    If you could sum up Brainrush, a Thriller in three words, what would they be?

    Fast moving action


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jake - he is the man


    What does R. C. Bray bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Very well done


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Jake taking care of the kids


    Any additional comments?

    Well worth the read and will be getting book #2 for sure

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. Shelton 08-27-13
    S. Shelton 08-27-13

    sal4gal

    HELPFUL VOTES
    139
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    212
    206
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Typical Adventure"

    I enjoyed it overall. Very much like a Clive Cussler book. There is always a unique angle for every adventure book and this one is creative. The end is a cliff hanger and not that great of an ending. However, eventually I will probably listen to the second in the series.

    Jake is having an MRI during a CA earthquake resulting in interesting powers. He ends up being recruited for a research lab, meets Francesca who works at the clinic, and 2 autistic children. Then the typical military friends bond together to support Jake and fight the bad guys.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Freeman SAN DIEGO, CA, United States 08-01-13
    Freeman SAN DIEGO, CA, United States 08-01-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    64
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    94
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "the ending was better than the rest"

    i really liked the idea, but it lacked some good character development & details that i would have cared about. and then it seemed to spend too much time on military details. maybe others care about different types of gun straps, but i don't. it's a reasonably fun listen, but don't put it on the top of your list.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Glenn Caboolture, Australia 08-01-13
    Glenn Caboolture, Australia 08-01-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not quite there"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, not as an outstanding book but entertaining enough to pass the time. The author tried very hard to write a best seller but could have done more research and written in the light of current events. Relied on stereotypical characters but managed to add some intrigue. More research would have addressed the active war zone they flew through and given some plausibility as to how they came by an Osprey aircraft then overstretched with the mysticism of spinning pyramids etc. I would listen to/read later books by the author to see if he has improved.

    I also felt that the many and varied accents were too much for the narrator


    What three words best describe R. C. Bray’s voice?

    Stretched beyond limits


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Neither


    Any additional comments?

    None

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.