Regular price: $28.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed New York Times best-selling author and E. B. White Read Aloud Award winner Trenton Lee Stewart returns with a captivating, heart-stopping adventure about thrilling secrets and dangerous mysteries - and the courage to reveal the most frightening of truths.

Eleven-year-old Reuben spends his days exploring, hiding, and practicing parkour among the abandoned buildings of the Lower Downs as a way to escape the rough times that have befallen him and his mom - but his discovery of an extraordinary antique pocket watch changes everything. When Reuben finds that the watch has the power to turn him invisible, he's propelled on the adventure of a lifetime.

Now Reuben is being pursued by a group of dangerous men called the Directions, and someone - or something - ominously called The Smoke. They all want the watch, and with the help of new friends it's up to Reuben to unravel the mysteries surrounding it and protect the city from evil.

New York Times best-selling author Trenton Lee Stewart's latest novel will enthrall old and new fans alike with the twists and turns of an inventive and compelling adventure reminiscent of The Mysterious Benedict Society series.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 Trenton Lee Stewart (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material...this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes." (Horn Book)
"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears." (Booklist)
"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure." (School Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

A great read for the whole family

Our family enjoyed listening to this book together on a recent vacation.
The story is creative and suspenseful. it made us laugh and made us think.
Would recommend this book for kids around 10 years old.
Trenton Lee Stewart is an excellent author.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good, but...

We absolutely loved the Mysterious Benedict Society, and the rest of the books in that series. Therefore, it was natural to get this, too. While it was enjoyable, in paled in comparison to the others, unfortunately.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

🗝🕰

This book 📚 is the best! The narrator is great 👍!! He does a great job with the voices and keeping them straight.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

the author knows what he was doing

i never thought listening to a book about a watch would be so entertaining to listen to.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Not as Good as The Mysterious Benedict Society

While the characters were engaging, the adventure was interesting, and the story was fine (if slow moving) the thing that disappointed me about this story was the lack of humor and camaraderie that brought The Mysterious Benedict Society to life and made it one of my favorite books.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful