Your audiobook is waiting…

Hello, Universe

Length: 5 hrs and 17 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (352 ratings)
Regular price: $21.67
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

 Winner of the Newbery Medal 

“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” (Washington Post)

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. 

The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

“Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.” (School Library Journal)

©2017 Erin Entrada Kelly (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Ramon de Ocampo and Amielynn Abellera narrate this charming story, told from four points of view.... De Ocampo perfectly captures Virgil's painful timidity - and just as easily brings to life Lola, Virgil's wise, sassy Filipino grandmother... Abellera's portrayal of fearless Valencia ("my name could lead people into battle") is especially fine....Abellera nails her prickly but lively way of seeing the world. This especially engaging and sensitive production fully accesses the story's keen perceptions on courage, fate, and friendship." ( AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    198
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    183
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hello, fabulous book

What a great story! loved this and am having my elementary students read it now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome book

This is a great book for a teacher to read to their students

Great book


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I have ever read

This book inspired me to push through and overcome my fears. I think this book has inspired people all around the world and for a good reason. It has lovable characters, a good plot, and great thought put into it. I think this book is a great one to read if you need to be cheered up or going through tough times. I read this book because my school was doing something called battle of the books and I am so glad that this was one of the eight books. I feel everyone should read this book if they have a chance because it is a good. I will say to the people who really enjoy to read like me, and if you like adventure books this is a great title for you.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Who would have thought?

I’m over 70 years old and this young adult novel is so enjoyable. It brings me back to those awkward days of pre-adolescence and helps me enjoy the richness inherent in those many moments of questioning, seeking, and discovery both of self and of others.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Diverse and fun

Great for my tween and 7 year old. Books has lots of important themes. doesn't dig too deep, keep things fun and engaging.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

its only suitable for kids not adults

so bored while i read a book i was almost sleeping
its not suitable for adults but i recommend for kids

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • San Diego, CA
  • 11-27-18

Too much explaining, not enough happening

This book is boring, until the kid gets stuck in the well (which doesn’t happen until ~ an hour and 50 minutes into the story—this plot point into act 2 should have occurred much sooner), then gets boring again.

I bought it (hardcover) last year for my niece for Christmas based on the title and book cover alone, before it won the Newbery. Then I held onto it and decided I should listen to the audiobook first. Good thing I did. I’d hate for her to feel like she has to slog through it just because she got it as a gift. My own son (8th grade) read it for school. When I asked if he liked it, he just shrugged.

There’s too much explaining/summarizing (telling) and not enough happening (showing), which makes the story drag. The writing is adequate. The stakes are low (actually the stakes are very high—dying in a well—but there’s so little tension that it doesn’t feel like it). It’s a quiet little story about a deaf girl and a shy, bullied kid who has a crush on her. Technically, the book is fine. But winning the Newbery? I expect more from a book that wins a prestigious literary award for kids, the least of which is a well-crafted novel, better writing, and an engaging story that pulls you into the fictional dream regardless of the characters’ identities. Telling kids to read this book because it won the Newbery is like telling kids to eat their vegetables because it’s good for you. They can have dessert after they eat their boring good-for-you vegetables. This is a good book to assign for homework. Not so good to cultivate a love for reading for reluctant young readers, or buy as a Christmas or birthday present.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Skipping

Had to rewind to hear the words that sometimes skipped, but was still good overall

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so good

a wonderful story of coincidence / fate between three children. I feel like I'm late to the party, but I love this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

It was good i loved it!!!

Cool was funny and dad but was amazement and it was Roche to my heart