Hello, Universe

Length: 5 hrs and 17 mins
Categories: Children's Audiobooks
4.5 out of 5 stars (592 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

 Winner of the Newbery Medal 

“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” (Washington Post)

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. 

The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

“Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.” (School Library Journal)

©2017 Erin Entrada Kelly (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Ramon de Ocampo and Amielynn Abellera narrate this charming story, told from four points of view.... De Ocampo perfectly captures Virgil's painful timidity - and just as easily brings to life Lola, Virgil's wise, sassy Filipino grandmother... Abellera's portrayal of fearless Valencia ("my name could lead people into battle") is especially fine....Abellera nails her prickly but lively way of seeing the world. This especially engaging and sensitive production fully accesses the story's keen perceptions on courage, fate, and friendship." ( AudioFile)
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    366
  • 4 Stars
    152
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    347
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    325
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Who would have thought?

I’m over 70 years old and this young adult novel is so enjoyable. It brings me back to those awkward days of pre-adolescence and helps me enjoy the richness inherent in those many moments of questioning, seeking, and discovery both of self and of others.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Diverse and fun

Great for my tween and 7 year old. Books has lots of important themes. doesn't dig too deep, keep things fun and engaging.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books I have ever read

This book inspired me to push through and overcome my fears. I think this book has inspired people all around the world and for a good reason. It has lovable characters, a good plot, and great thought put into it. I think this book is a great one to read if you need to be cheered up or going through tough times. I read this book because my school was doing something called battle of the books and I am so glad that this was one of the eight books. I feel everyone should read this book if they have a chance because it is a good. I will say to the people who really enjoy to read like me, and if you like adventure books this is a great title for you.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

There are no such things as coincidences.

What a fabulous story! It's like a puzzle the reader gets to put together. It's full of twists and turns with all these little stories woven together. Great read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this is a very good book!

it was a very good book !
the story was good, the narrator was good.
all was good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Loved it. It was amazing to read it in audiobook plus it was easier to read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

A bit like Sputnik's Guide To Life On Earth. Overall, amazing read for tweens and teens!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It needs a next book

I like the book and it was a great book and all people should read this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sucked in from the beginning

Pro's- This was our first time reading a book by Erin Entrada Kelly, but it certainly won't be the last. From the first chapter to the last, we were sucked in and excited to hear what would come next in Virgil, Kaori, Valencia, and Chet's story.

Con- This was a quick read--would be nice to see a part 2 just to know what will happen next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome book

This is a great book for a teacher to read to their students

Great book


1 person found this helpful