Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't?

Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five-year-old Katie. Nina's almost an adult, after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks.

Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her....

A dark, funny, sometimes shocking coming-of-age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. Nina Is Not OK will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

©2016 Shappi Khorsandi (P)2016 Random House Audiobooks

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.8 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5.0 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Fantastic!

Loved the book and the reader. Very engaging, listened even when I only had a few minutes time. Highly recommend!

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Carly Jones
  • 02-24-17

nina is not okay is an importamt read

Nina is not okay is one of the most difficult books ive ever read (well listened to). It is an unapologetic well performed telling of a Ninas traumatic 18th year. Severe subjects include; sexual assult, family problems, alcoholism and cyber bullying, not to mention all the things every other average teen has to deal with. More than anything this book is hard to read because it is so true. The way author tackles rape is so very difficult to endure because it is so accurate. It therefore also happens to be a very triggering story. However, the performance is superb and the content almost educational in its telling, making this a great book to spread awareness about more sensitive topics. This book will not make you happy, but i could not recommend it more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Becky Greenhough
  • 04-20-17

Really great listen

Loved this book, really thought provoking, definitely recommend but couldn't stand the accents the narrator put on! Got through this on my commute in just a few days and couldn't wait to continue it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Tony
  • 04-17-17

Just loved it.

A story of pain of loss. Of hitting the bottom and climbing up. Of realising that to call someone boring is to in the end a compliment.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Adam
  • 04-09-17

Not a bad story at all.

This book was really interesting. It Had some very likeable characters who were presented with quite a difficult set of circumstances in which they all rallied together for the better.

I would definitely say it is worth a read. However , I did listen to this via the audiobook and I would have to say that at some points Khorsandi's narration of certain characters became quite muddled and she had the unfortunate job of writing in a northern character when she could barely hang on to a northern accent at points. Also some of the characters who were clearly different sometimes didn't really sound that way and it felt a little unpolished.

Yet, Khorsandi held it this thing together by narrating Nina, the protagonist, with lots of conviction that made the rest of the narrative feel very real. She can be forgiven a dodgy accent from time to time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Katherine
  • 03-09-17

laughed, cried, loved

loved the story, although simple it was put together really well. I really enjoyed the narration, it was as if it really was Nina telling us her story in her words. made it really relatable and a joy to listen to. really sad I have finished this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Marina
  • 03-05-17

Life changing

I won't lie, this is a difficult read when it cuts close to the bone. But it is also a comfort. Made me reevaluate a lot about my own life. A raw look at alcoholism, friendship, family, and modern culture. I loved it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • fellhog
  • 02-09-17

fantastic book. a must read.

a brilliant breath of fresh air. Sadly ringing home, the story is beautiful and ruthless and told with superb authenticity by Shappi.
it's not an easy subject but I'd say it's essential reading.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • deborah-jane
  • 09-20-16

Comedy/tragedy

Excellent look at coming of age which rang true to my own youth. Amazing how the only difference over thirty years is social media....
Well written, well performed I couldn't put it down.
Some very difficult content which was beautifully tackled. Thank you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Vicky
  • 09-10-16

Good effort - overall enjoyable

Narration included lots of swallowing which was rather off-putting and unprofessional.

Book itself tried to deal with to many issues I felt, and only skimmed the surface, including some misinformation.

Character of Trisha hugely stereotypical of fat lazy boring person no one wants to be near. Same with fat barman who was used by Nina terribly. Ms Khorsandi obviously has some issues with overweight people that have spilled over into this book.

Good listen if you don't read too much into it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kathst
  • 10-14-17

it's ok a bit childish .wouldn't listen too again

teenage girl story like a diary. it's not what I expected. if you want a young perspective on life this is for you

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.