Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

The daughter

Fifteen-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, but she can’t speak the words out loud.

The mother

Toni is a doting and over-protective mother, terrified for her daughter’s life. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. She needs to know what secrets Rosie has been keeping and how she ended up in a hospital bed - but Toni has a secret of her own....

The pact

Thirty years ago, Toni and her sister, Bridget, made each other a promise: never to speak of their childhood; to protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what....

But in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister...and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever.

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Apple Tree Yard, and The Sister.

©2018 S. E. Lynes (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I don’t speak teenager

I think Tamsin Kennard is a really good narrator, but I couldn’t get past the teenage inflections, millennial-isms and otherwise maybe too authentic voice of Rosie. The plot seemed to go nowhere fast. I needed more to happen sooner. I couldn’t connect with the characters. This book was only so-so for me. I wouldn’t choose it again.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

keep you on the edge of your seat.

it's a little slow to start but when it finally grabs u, you don't want to stop. awesome story about sisters and a daughter who take care of each other and what they all have gone thru and what they still face. the narration by Tamsin Kennard is very good. I definitely enjoyed this story.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story...wrong title

Four lines into this story, my thought was "oh, this is going to be gooooood!" and I was not disappointed! I'm still a little confused by thr title though. I don't think "the pact" played a big enough role in the story to be the title that defined the whole thing. But good story all the same!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Pact

Slow moving at first, but a good thriller with twisting end.

I enjoyed it, and would recommend it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A "WOW" story!

A story of family bonds, secrets and loyalty. Gripping, edge of the seat thriller. If you like psychological thrillers, look no further. Great writing, great audio, great story. The ending was awesome. Don't want to give anything away. Definitely worth the money. 😀😀😀

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

absolutely preposterous

I don't even know where to start. This is ridiculous. Meandering changing plot..... And not in an interesting way. this is an example of something that would probably never happen in real life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome book.

Great story. Great characters. Love the plot and how it all plays out. Wonderfully written.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not very interesting.

I had to start this over at least 3 times before I forced myself to finish it. Very hard to engage in the story or characters. Too much back and forth between characters.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs L N Timoney
  • 04-15-18

Powerful and compelling

As a mother of a teenage girl, this story struck a terrifying chord with me. S E Lynes creates such believable characters in Rosey, Toni and Bridget, I lived their story with them. The Pact has a truly compelling, complex plot with shocking twists, which meant I could barely force myself to stop listening. This is a fantastic book. Highly recommended!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ellie S
  • 09-30-18

Another absolute cracker by Susie Lynes.

Loved it, gripping and keeps you guessing right to the end. Brilliantly put together 5*****

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-31-18

Relevant and crucial

The Pact addresses many relevant areas of great concern to young people today especially the wish and need to be accepted. For insecure and even not so vulnerable adolescents the lure and attractions of social media and finding an admirer on it can be irresistible.
Ms. Lines beautifully describes the state of mind of the central character -who is representative of many young people and the perils that a fraudulent series of event can so dangerously conspire to create.
The book builds slowly and irrevocably towards a truly engrossing culmination of plot twists and resolutions.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-21-18

Brilliant!

This is a really good book. Just when you think you've worked everything out something new is revealed that you didn't expect. Totally recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rowena M
  • 04-27-18

Enjoyed

Good page Turner with interesting twist. very relevant themes and family dynamics. A good listen in the park very near where events in the story occurred!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lynette
  • 03-28-18

Extremely Irritating!

I got about a third of the way through and just couldn't listen to any more! It sounds as though it has been written by a teenager, for a teenager. Predominantly using teenage language such as "deffo" . little actual action, just listening to a spoiled brat complaining that her mother doesn't let her do anything with her friends. Boring.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kayleigh turton
  • 03-22-18

Yawn making and utterly predictable!

Predictable! Totally overdone! Theme flogged to death! Awful over all! A total waste of time!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-05-18

Awesome

Absolutely fantastic. Only wish I could write like this! Gripped from beginning to end. Sorry it ended.