Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial Membership
Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free - plus an audiobook, on us.
  • 1 credit a month after trial - good for any title.
  • Easy exchange. Don't love book? swap it for free.
  • Exchange books you don't like
  • After your free trial, Audible is $14.95 a month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.6 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.7 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.

Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • G
  • 06-12-17

What a disappointment

I am a Dan Hardy fan. I am a MMA fan. I was at UFC 120 live to see Dan Hardy. I was upset that I couldn't go to waterstones in London to get a signed copy of his book and meet him. I thought the next best thing is to hear Dan read his book himself. What a disappointment it was when I realised that he didn't even narrate his own book. Instead I got someone meant to sound similar and yet has no idea about the world of MMA. I know this because nearly every fighters name he read was mispronounced. I feel bad giving this only 1 star because I want Dan to do well but I feel cheated out of time, money and admiration. You also get nothing from this book that you wouldn't already know from being indifferently aware of his career. It's written as if for someone who has never been exposed to the MMA world and if so why would they be reading it? If your interested in Dan Hardy, save your money and type his name into YouTube. Sorry Dan, hope to see you in the octagon soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • R N KERSHAW
  • 10-09-17

Salt of the earth dude 🤙🏼

Apart from the narrators questionable pronunciation of certain fighters names, this is my first audio book that had me hook line and sinker!!!
Dans story is fantastic. Real humble guy, for every story he has of greatness he soon knocks himself back down and finds balance in life. Comes across as a real down to earth guy and has a great story to share, get on it 🤘🏼

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • ben nisbet
  • 09-28-17

Great audio book

Great for any ufc, mma or fight fan. Tells the story of Dan's life so far.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • James W.
  • 09-04-17

A fascinating insight into a very colourful life.

Dan Hardy does an incredible job of describing what it takes to be a first class MA fighter today.
His description of his more 'extracurricular' activities are also fascinating and insightful.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-08-17

awesome book!

awesome book! Gives a good insight into the world of MMA and especially Dan's life.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-08-17

Honest and Brilliant

Enjoyed every minute from start to finish, really looking forward to his future books, if your a MMA fan, this is a must read/listen.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Toby
  • 04-08-17

Excellent

Really enjoyable book from start to end. Very well narrated. A must for any mma fan.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-04-17

great insight into the early days off MMA!!

Great story and a great insight into the early days of MMA and Dan's view of it growing

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Roland Cook
  • 03-29-17

Very enjoyable

I personally really enjoyed this book. A very interesting and relatable life story, full of martial arts and UFC references.

I may be a tad biase in my recommendation of the book however. The heavy martial arts and MMA backdrop may be a bit much for some.
Because I'm a fan of Dan Hardy and mixed martials in general, all the fighters and fights mentioned were instantly familiar to me and the differing perspective quite fascinating.

My only small criticism is that the narrator mispronounces some fighting styles and fighters names on occasion. Like I said though, it's not a big deal and by no means detracted from my enjoyment.
In fairness, most people probably won't even notice.

If you are a fan of MMA, I wholeheartedly recommend giving this a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-01-17

Highly recommended - Great book

I enjoyed this book immensely, particularly hearing how Dan broke into the UFC from the UK in the early days. The book is however a lot more than the UFC from a UK perspective. It gives great insight into the UFC as a whole and also contains interesting parts about how he used psychedelics to grow as a person (another one of my favourite sections). Well written and at times pretty funny. Also very well narrated. Highly recommended.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.