Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R N KERSHAW
  • 10-09-17

Salt of the earth dude 🤙🏼

Apart from the narrators questionable pronunciation of certain fighters names, this is my first audio book that had me hook line and sinker!!!
Dans story is fantastic. Real humble guy, for every story he has of greatness he soon knocks himself back down and finds balance in life. Comes across as a real down to earth guy and has a great story to share, get on it 🤘🏼

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Roland Cook
  • 03-29-17

Very enjoyable

I personally really enjoyed this book. A very interesting and relatable life story, full of martial arts and UFC references.

I may be a tad biase in my recommendation of the book however. The heavy martial arts and MMA backdrop may be a bit much for some.
Because I'm a fan of Dan Hardy and mixed martials in general, all the fighters and fights mentioned were instantly familiar to me and the differing perspective quite fascinating.

My only small criticism is that the narrator mispronounces some fighting styles and fighters names on occasion. Like I said though, it's not a big deal and by no means detracted from my enjoyment.
In fairness, most people probably won't even notice.

If you are a fan of MMA, I wholeheartedly recommend giving this a try.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • G
  • 06-12-17

What a disappointment

I am a Dan Hardy fan. I am a MMA fan. I was at UFC 120 live to see Dan Hardy. I was upset that I couldn't go to waterstones in London to get a signed copy of his book and meet him. I thought the next best thing is to hear Dan read his book himself. What a disappointment it was when I realised that he didn't even narrate his own book. Instead I got someone meant to sound similar and yet has no idea about the world of MMA. I know this because nearly every fighters name he read was mispronounced. I feel bad giving this only 1 star because I want Dan to do well but I feel cheated out of time, money and admiration. You also get nothing from this book that you wouldn't already know from being indifferently aware of his career. It's written as if for someone who has never been exposed to the MMA world and if so why would they be reading it? If your interested in Dan Hardy, save your money and type his name into YouTube. Sorry Dan, hope to see you in the octagon soon.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-16-18

decent story, but lost me a bit going full hippie

I really liked the story, but there was a bit too much hippie nonsense at the end and pseudo psychological mumbo-jumbo

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-03-18

interesting background to mma

loved it interesting listen to the way mam was /is run and the physic to a man who was involved.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-11-18

great stories and analysis. Performance is eh.

Really enjoyed the book. Some great stories and messages in there about life. Some great MMA analysis also. The reader is a bit eh. Some chapters felt much more slow than others and the pronunciation of a lot of key names is off.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • PatrickJ
  • 01-10-18

Good Insight into an MMA legend's career

Let's be honest, Dan Hardy is not a writer and thus is not a well written book, but as a big fan of his fighting it was a great insight into career and life

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leet8845
  • 11-29-17

I listened to it all in one go, I was hooked!

Dan Hardy gives an account of his journey into Martial arts, through life and where it has taken him. I had it sitting into my library for a while but the other day I ran out of podcasts to listen to and fired it up. It was great from the get go and I listened to whole thing in one go. I think this would be entertaining to even non MMA fans, it's very well structured and grips you from the start.

My only grip was that I think it would have been even better had Dan narrated it himself. I don't think Simon Bubb is a fan of MMA as he mispronounces alot of the big stars names. Dan has a great voice which shows in his top class analyst work he does so would have been more than capable to narrate it himself. That said, it was still very excellent and Simon does a good job other than that.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ben nisbet
  • 09-28-17

Great audio book

Great for any ufc, mma or fight fan. Tells the story of Dan's life so far.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • James W.
  • 09-04-17

A fascinating insight into a very colourful life.

Dan Hardy does an incredible job of describing what it takes to be a first class MA fighter today.
His description of his more 'extracurricular' activities are also fascinating and insightful.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dan
  • 02-05-18

inspiring

Dan Hardy tells a wonderful story of his development as a fighter and a man.