We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (5143 )
5 star
 (2784)
4 star
 (1165)
3 star
 (598)
2 star
 (298)
1 star
 (298)
Overall
4.1 (4741 )
5 star
 (2529)
4 star
 (1099)
3 star
 (542)
2 star
 (276)
1 star
 (295)
Story
4.2 (4741 )
5 star
 (2938)
4 star
 (842)
3 star
 (435)
2 star
 (221)
1 star
 (305)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    Elizabeth 07-11-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    118
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    81
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A " laugh Out Loud "Read"

    I do not usually laugh out loud when listening to audio books. I ended up snorting with laughter after trying to be quiet while listening to this book. Luckily no one was around to hear me. Such a good listen. Jenny Lawson's interactions with her husband Victor were hilarious. Jenny is very funny and upbeat about even the difficult events in her life. A must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15
    Em86 Norman, OK 07-10-15 Member Since 2015

    Em86

    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    55
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A fantastic book"

    I laughed quite a bit through this book. It was well written and well read. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a fun heartwarming glimpse into one woman's life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amber 07-10-15
    Amber 07-10-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    66
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funniest Audiobook Ever!"

    I laughed out loud so many times I lost count. Jenny is an hilarious storyteller!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kimberlyCafe 07-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny funny funny"

    The best move ever was having Jenny Lawson read her own book. It was added so much to the story hearing it with the intentioned witty cadence.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jen 07-08-15
    Jen 07-08-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "hated it"

    Maybe this book is better in print but I e narration is condescending, not funny, and I wish I could return it

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GadgetGirl 07-03-15
    GadgetGirl 07-03-15

    GadgetGirl

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    Really bad. Had good reviews but not for me. Usually I stick with a book and finish it, but just don't see the point with this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth 07-02-15
    Elizabeth 07-02-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    87
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious!!"
    Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The funniest book I have read in months!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Jenny, because she is the only true character.


    What about Jenny Lawson’s performance did you like?

    All of it. Jenny is rediculously rediculous!


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    Don't drink anything at all while watching this film. No, really it will come out of your nose!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Miller Leesville, LA United States 07-02-15
    J. Miller Leesville, LA United States 07-02-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Laughed so hard a couldn't breathe!"

    I laughed out loud SO MANY times!!! It was a great book! I can't imagine having read it instead of hearing her read it! A must listen!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Dana Jackson OXFORD, GEORGIA, US 06-29-15
    Dana Jackson OXFORD, GEORGIA, US 06-29-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    657
    43
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I enjoyed it, mostly"

    I've read some hilarious things on her blog, but her delivery in person doesn't have quite the same punch. I guess hearing the F word so frequently gets old too. But I still enjoyed learning about her life and struggles and I did laugh out loud quite a few times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ayaire 06-25-15
    Ayaire 06-25-15 Member Since 2014

    venialbob

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    Overall
    "definitely pretending it never happened..."

    Sometimes things in life happen that you can never overcome. Even worse, is when you give such trials the most honest attempt at forgiveness and repair, but the stubbornness of the universe (and others) finally demolishes even the most faithful optimists.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.