We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) Audiobook

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (5511 )
5 star
 (3031)
4 star
 (1223)
3 star
 (630)
2 star
 (311)
1 star
 (316)
Overall
4.1 (5079 )
5 star
 (2751)
4 star
 (1156)
3 star
 (573)
2 star
 (291)
1 star
 (308)
Story
4.3 (5079 )
5 star
 (3187)
4 star
 (889)
3 star
 (452)
2 star
 (232)
1 star
 (319)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    ryan cole 10-02-15
    ryan cole 10-02-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious"

    Clear thinking twistedness for the knowing mind . Verbalized how we would all like to so do.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Harriet Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States 09-30-15
    Harriet Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States 09-30-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    215
    62
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a waste of time!"

    This was a stupid book. It wasn't funny or interesting, just stupid. I couldn't force myself to finish it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miki FWB 09-29-15
    Miki FWB 09-29-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny's storytelling makes me so happy"

    I laughed and cried and laugh-cry-peed-a-little through this entire book. I'm so glad I got the audio version. Hearing her say "ya'll" makes me smile every time (Alabama girl here, so "ya'll" is one of my favorite words). It's nice to know we are not alone in our journey through anxiety and other various cray cray disorders. Also, that laughing makes you feel better even when you don't want to. I look forward to her next book (which I just bought 30 seconds ago, YAY!)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bag Lady 09-21-15
    Bag Lady 09-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still laughing out loud"

    An uproariously funny book with a performance par excellence by the author. You will be chuckling every time you remember her stories and you can't help but share with others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Bryan 09-17-15
    Bryan 09-17-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Literally My Favorite Book Ever"
    What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

    Jenny Lawson has found a beautiful harmony of being genuinely honest and absolutely hilarious. I was laughing in public constantly to the point of being out of breath.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Her wit doesn't over power the moments of sincerity about struggling with a mental illness and trying to live life as your best self.


    What does Jenny Lawson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Jenny really shows who she is through how she talks. Her voice adds to the comedic timing and the nostalgia she feels in certain chapters. I was even laughing with how she says the titles of each chapters.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    It's completely relateable. She brings an honesty that most writers and even humans are afraid to share. I truly believe everyone can have a moment they relate too in this book.


    Any additional comments?

    If you read one book this year. Make it this one. By far the best read I've read. Jenny Lawson was meant to be an author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John 09-17-15
    John 09-17-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    103
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny as hell, but hate the frickin' singing!"

    I totally want to hang out with Jenny Lawson, but I will smack her if she sings while talking! She has a good voice, but dude, this is an audio book not a music CD!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca Menard 09-16-15 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny, but be careful!"

    The way the book is written and the stories are hilarious, but the singing that goes along with each chapter change made my ears ring and head throb. I wasn't even able to finish because of it.

    I wouldn't necessarily turn you away from the book because some of these stories are knee slappers. Just the pain of knowing when you need to turn down your voluminous .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Billerica, MA, United States 09-13-15
    Paul Billerica, MA, United States 09-13-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't waste your time or money"
    This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

    The wife lasted 15 minutes and I give it an hour and a half. I tried but it wasn't worth the time.


    Would you be willing to try another one of Jenny Lawson’s performances?

    No


    What character would you cut from Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    Much effort went into making it sound and be funny. It was wasted effort.


    Any additional comments?

    I think there is a talent there but I'll never know because I'll not listen to another one of her books. I feel she thinks using profanity would bring more amusement to the plot of her (Mostly True) autobiography and if so it fell flat.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deb 09-09-15
    Deb 09-09-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    214
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Jenny Lawson is Hilarious"

    I loved this book! Jenny Lawson is FUNNY, bright, and insightful. Her narration is also perfect. I laughed out loud so often that the people in the waiting room beside me said they were jealous. I'm looking forward to reading more Jenny!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle McLeod 09-08-15 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "LOL funny"
    What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

    this book was great to hear in the authors words. I found myself busting out laughing many times


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.