Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Nominee, Humor, 2013

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris - Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives - the ones we'd like to pretend never happened - are in fact the ones that define us. In Let's Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes listeners on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Chapters include: "Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel", "A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband", "My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking", and "And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane".

©2012 Jenny Lawson (P)2012 Penguin

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,091
  • 4 Stars
    1,241
  • 3 Stars
    634
  • 2 Stars
    314
  • 1 Stars
    320

Performance

  • 4.3 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    3,248
  • 4 Stars
    902
  • 3 Stars
    456
  • 2 Stars
    235
  • 1 Stars
    322

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    2,802
  • 4 Stars
    1,177
  • 3 Stars
    579
  • 2 Stars
    294
  • 1 Stars
    311
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story. I love that she reads her own books.

I love her books and her voice and inflection make the story great as an audiobook. my only complaint is that it wasn't longer! I didn't want it to end.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Very funny for the first half, then annoying

Would you try another book from Jenny Lawson and/or Jenny Lawson?

No, I think I've heard her funniest material, which is about her childhood

How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

Edit, edit, edit. It felt like she was pushed to make her story longer.

Would you listen to another book narrated by Jenny Lawson?

Probably not. I found her voice annoying.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

No

Any additional comments?

I really loved this book at first. It had me laughing out loud. But after awhile the story got whiny and I got tired of hearing how she and her husband were fighting, how she embarrassed him, and way too much about her vagina.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • Kelly
  • Olean, NY, United States
  • 11-09-15

amazing story

funny story glad I down loaded it so many great interesting things kept me laughing the entire time don't hasitate download it you will not regret it

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS

Would you listen to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) again? Why?

Yes

What did you like best about this story?

All of it. I usually reward myself with an audio book when I'm doing something odious like cleaning the house. I had to sit down and just listen because I was laughing so hard I was crying and I didn't want to vacuum up my shoe laces cause that's never good.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Amazing

Jenny is amazing. Read two of her books already. Need more cowbell? Need more books.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • M. Swope
  • katy, tx United States
  • 11-04-15

Jenny Lawson's book is wonderful!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes - especially if you've lived in Texas... So much of this book is relate-able (and quite a bit isn't, but whatever). Jenny's reading is great - almost like she's ad-libbing. The more serious parts are a little difficult to endure (esp. if you're empathetic), but she brings you back with other stories that lighten the mood...

What was one of the most memorable moments of Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)?

The story about her dog (that died) and her interaction with her husband, neighbors and her friend, seems to blow out of control, then come back together nicely...

Have you listened to any of Jenny Lawson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but I'm considering her next book, "Furiously Happy..."

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I did actually laugh out loud at several of the passages. Mostly, they made me smile.

Any additional comments?

Wow! This girl can talk! and talk... and... well, you get it. Plus she curses a lot, but if you're prepared for it, the stories are great!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story
  • KDirt
  • Jackson, WY United States
  • 11-03-15

Don't let the start stop you!

Where does Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Certainly the most unusual and somewhat outrageous book, however, I was entertained!

What other book might you compare Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) to and why?

Incomparable to any other book I've read!!

Which scene was your favorite?

Artificially inseminating the cow.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed most of the book!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Disappointing childish humor

This was not very good. I was sorry I bought in the the first 5 minutes.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Hilarious

What made the experience of listening to Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) the most enjoyable?

One of the wittiest funniest books I've experienced. Don't listen to it with kids in the room if you are offended by language... but it's colorful.. not vulgar. Everyone can relate to at least one small aspect of her personality and experiences... but to have them ALL in ONE LIFETIME?? Hence the awesome memoir! :)

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Good thing Im divorced because Im in love

How can I have missed her? This is a funny book that made me laught until I acctualy wet myself a little on the bus. And still, at the same time it deals with that serous stuff that many of us struggle with on a daily basis.
Please read it. I think you'll like it. And if you dont well I guess there's something wrong with you, in a bad way.
/from "yes she's special" mom whos kids has to sneak and whisper to be able to get to school and daycare without being stalked by turkeys, chickens and cats